We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down Home Cookin'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cock-A-Doodle Cafe

Cock-A-Doodle Cafe
Ranked #11 of 189 Restaurants in Elkhart
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Down Home Cookin'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

You could drive right by this restaurant without ever noticing it, but that would be a HUGE mistake! Find it and go! Why? Because you will find the NICEST staff you have ever met - from the minute you walk in the door to the time you leave, they help, they serve, they smile. You will also smile when you sample the food -- large portions, tasty comfort food, and you can have breakfast, lunch, or dinner all day. I had breakfast - bacon and swiss omelette, Americian fried potatoes, Texas toast, coffee. There was TON of bacon in the omelette, potatoes nice and crispy without being over cooked. And, the BEST coffee I've had in a l-o-n-g time! It's not fancy, but it is GREAT!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lora719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Absecon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Par at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Small portions, service was neither friendly or rude, clean rest room, lots of locals but the food was average. Little one had a kids meatless spaghetti the sauce was from a jar. Chicken parm was ok, hot turkey was terrible not actual turkey sliced but deli meat turkey, with gravy that ruined the meal. Husband had chicken breast which was very good cooked perfectly mash potatoes were pretty good and its hard to mess up canned peas so... will not be back based on food quality but it was better than fast food...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arzado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
170 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Awesome Biscuits and Gravy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were staying at a nearby hotel that offered free breakfast but elected to come here most mornings and pay instead. Loved the biscuits and gravy - and REALLY loved that they offered full, 1/2, and 1/4 sized orders of them! Friendly, prompt, attentive service from everyone. Coffee always coming by so never had a cold or empty cup. They know how to cook eggs here, too - over medium was truly medium and over hard was hard...not everyone can get that right. Will definitely come here again the next time we're in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianHercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The BEST Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Cock a doodle cafe has THE best breakfast around Elkhart . My husband and I have been going here for many many years on Sat mornings. If you are an Omlete eater then you have to try the philly omlete!! you will NOT be disapointed !! The waitresses are amazing and friendly ALWAYS !! Thanks Cock a doodle staff for making everyone feel at home !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudahy WI
Level Contributor
317 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Clearly a Local Favorite -- for good reason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Today was our first visit and WoW! They do a brisk business, with good product, fast service, reasonable prices, and friendly service. It's definitely middle americana when it comes to menu options but I find it hard to believe that anyone would walk away unhappy or hungry.

If we were locals I'm sure this would be a regular stop. Food arrived quickly, and hot. I can't comment much on seasoning -- our breakfast items didn't require much more than kitchen salt and pepper. But all the smiles on all the happy customers made up for any shortage of salt!!!!!

I'll be back next time in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cock-A-Doodle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cock-A-Doodle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing