We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A good choice for budget travelers. Very friendly staff, good-sized room, AC worked well. It's not the Hilton, so picky travelers shouldn't stay here (or at any budget lodging). Towels are thin, sheets a bit worn, but you always have some tradeoffs to save money. Breakfast was good (again, as long as you're not a picky eater), included scrambled eggs and sausage along with the ubiquitous make-your-own waffles. Motel seemed full, but we found it pretty quiet, although maybe because many guests that weeknight appeared to be workers or older folks. Pool is under construction, but I don't think it's on their current web listings, so you shouldn't expect to be able to swim. The most accurate rating is probably a 3.5, but Trip Advisor doesn't allow those. I'd have no hesitation about staying here again.

Room Tip: Close to Menards, if you forgot some tools, as I did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel Confirmation #346256175

I usually check the review of a hotel on line before I go, but because I was traveling cross-country on a motorcycle, I didn't get the opportunity to do so. I wish I had.

It is important that people understand the comments and complaints about this hotel date back to 2003 and more importantly, the comments and complaints are repetitive. Every year, people are complaining about the same type of dissatisfaction. That is indicative of management and/or property owners who are not investing and properly budgeting for maintenance and care of the building. Are there hotels in worse shape? Probably. Would you want to stay in one? Absolutely not.

Word of advice - Do Not Stay Here.

After I ran into some problems with my room, I decided to check on the reviews. On January 25, 2014, Jennifer White, General Manager, responded to a guest who gave the hotel one star. She said to come back and see us in 6 months. Well, here is a review from someone else, 6 months later.

I’m sorry, Jennifer, but I am not impressed nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone even now, 6 months later. In fact, I strongly encourage potential customers to stay anywhere but here. We are giving our hard earned money to a chain that should be providing the necessary funds and tools for maintenance. This particular Quality Inn should be suspended from the chain until it can be brought up to standard.

First and foremost, my hat goes off to the gentleman at the front desk; Austin. He was polite, professional, and friendly and tried to fix things within his realm of responsibility.

I stayed here on June 22, 2014 in Room #105. When I went to close the curtains, I saw that one of the pull rods was lying on the window shelf - apparently broken. I pulled the curtains closed and saw large holes and tears on the right side. The curtains do not look like they’ve been cleaned in quite some time. I took photos, went down to the lobby and told Austin I didn't want to get charged for the damage.

I also told Austin when I sat down at the desk in my room and rested my arms on the edge I found it was sticky. Perhaps it was too much build up of wax or not wiping the edges thoroughly enough. I checked the nightstands and the TV entertainment stand and they were also very sticky along the edges.

Austin came down with a cleaner and tried cleaning the edge of the table, but it only made it worse.

The rack that held the hangers had rusted, worn parallel bars where the iron was stored. The oxidation and rust on the bars is an indication of a build up over a period of time, which means neglect in cleaning.

The Guest Directory folder was too small to hold the 8X11.5 standard paper that was in it. I opened the folder and saw that the "Welcome" letter was wrinkled, had circular indentations from cups and even a piece of dried, attached food over the "please feel" words in the 3rd paragraph. The corners were folded and it appeared this was one well-worn out document. Even the "We Welcome Your Comments" card was wrinkled, torn and had seen better days.

A ceiling water sprinkler in the bathroom had a small, plastic bag covering it and the one near the bed looked rusted and I wondered if it would work in an emergency.

In July 2012, someone wrote the pool was not working and had not been working since 2010. In September 2013, someone wrote that the pool had not been in service for over two years. An October 2013 comment on Trip Advisor noted the pool and spa were closed and under construction. June 2014, the pool is still closed and under construction.

The hallway ceiling tile near Room 120 was missing so guests had a nice view of the wiring. Wallpaper in the Vending Machine room was peeling as well as the wallpaper throughout the first floor hallway.

There is a pungent odor that I can only imagine is some type of bug/insect defogger.

The fire escape plan on the door was made of metal material and it too, was extremely sticky to the touch and had hair embedded into whatever the coating was that made it sticky.

I awoke early to make sure I was at the breakfast serving at 6:00am. The hotel had what looked like a classic car group staying here, so I wanted to beat the crowd. The dining area has 3 tables, each with 4 chairs. The food was comparable to other hotels I have stayed.

On the plus side for animal lovers, this hotel allows pets. There were quite a few owners and dogs roaming the hallways.

It was quite apparent to me that no one from management or supervision has taken the time to inspect my room or the 1st floor hallway in a very, very long time. Look, I don’t expect a 5 Star World Class Hotel, but when I give my money to a hotel, I do expect basic cleanliness and maintenance. I certainly expected more from a Quality Inn.

In short, this particular room did not live up to the name, "Quality Inn." I would strongly suggest the management not only pay close attention to the comments and complaints that are in the reviews, but to actually do something. Although it is commendable that someone is actually responding to the on line complaints in writing, problems are still rampant. “Thanks for letting us know,” responses from management have been ineffective in correcting repetitive problems or complaints. There certainly is no pride in ownership. This is absolutely unacceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulm5545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I do not understand the negative reviews of this hotel. We wee there for 2 nights for a family funeral. The rooms were clean and spacious, the beds very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly. They even lets us gather in the evening where the breakfast bar is. I would stay there again ..

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the 2nd floor. They have special rooms on the first floor for people who hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurley060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nothing fancy, does need some remodeling but clean enough. Friendly staff. We just needed somewhere to stay while our motorhome was being worked on for 3 or 4 nights and this fit the bill. Price was the best we found in area and became even better with coupon from Visitors Center behind it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EmileeReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

What was I thinking! Not sure what bothers me more the stink bug chillin' on the curtain, the spider webs on the ceiling, the bubble caulking that's not hiding where the ceiling leaked, the toilet that rocks when you sit on it, the half clean tub or the not so bright towels. I wanted to shower but the fan sounds like it's going to fall out of the ceiling. VERY, VERY disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Jacolynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel ok. Needs updating in rooms and lobby. Wouldn't walk on rug without socks in room. Wouldn't stay here if I ever go to a Notre Dame again. Didn't even attempt to eat breakfast there went next door to Cracker Barrel which was excellent.
Location was good only 20min. Away from Notre Dame.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank VFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Pool and spa were under construction. Popcorn found under bed --no, WE didn't eat any popcorn. We asked the housekeeper if they would clean our room, and left the hotel late morning. The room never got made up. The fitness room is very small with very bad equipment. WIsh I had something good to say, but don't. And pillows were like half pillows. NO cots available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTaveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
0.1 mi away
Fairway Inn
Fairway Inn
#18 of 22 in Elkhart
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#19 of 22 in Elkhart
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elkhart
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites North
Comfort Suites North
#10 of 22 in Elkhart
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 3321 Plaza Ct, Elkhart, IN 46514-6715
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range: £51 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Elkhart
Elkhart Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing