We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went out of their way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I recently took a "bucket list" trip to Notre Dame and had a fabulous weekend. We were not familiar with the area and it wasn't easy finding a good hotel on line, especially since ND was playing at home. Unfortunately, the hotel we booked on line turned out to be so bad, we simply refused to stay there. So we started going from hotel to hotel in search of accomodations. We had the great luck to meet "AD" (Eddie) at Country Inn & Suites. Although full, he went out of his way to accomodate us. By rearranging several other rooms booked by regulars who book a block of rooms for the ND games, he was able to get us in for the weekend. The room was first rate and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rate was standard and we didn't have to resort to any "special inducements". We were very grateful to Eddie. He certainly didn't have to make that extra effort. Others on staff were equally friendly and accomodating. You won't be disappointed if you select this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W4MPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_elkh, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed . We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We chose the Country Inn & Suites in Elkhart, IN in our way to Shipshewana, IN after a trip on the South Shore line from South Bend to Beverly Shores. This hotel is very conveniently located near
the Indiana Toll Road, but the rooms are very quiet. We found the rooms clean and appropriately furnished for a stay of one night.
There are several restaurants nearby one can drive to for dinner.
Continental breakfast was very good, and the lady in attendance showed us everything that was available, a very nice, personable touch.
All in all, an excellent hotel at a resonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_elkh, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed . We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The pros....outside of hotel was inviting, rooms were clean and front desk staff was friendly. The cons....elevator was slow and a little "scary", the bed was saggy, nothing in the room matched and was in dire need of a face lift. We inquired about the guest laundry and were told it was on the second floor but had to be done during the day because guests complained of the noise of the washer/dryer in the evenings. When we located the guest laundry room it was torn up and closed for repairs. The pool was ok but the hot tub was cold and only one of the jets worked. Although this part isn't the hotels fault per say, we were approached in the parking lot by a man in a truck with some story about being far away from home and no gas money and wondering if we could help him out. We had seen him approach other guests that had just pulled into the parking lot as well. We reported it to the front desk and learned that they were aware and that this guy seems to make his rounds in the hotel parking lots in the area. Seems if they were aware, that something should of been done by now. Just my opinion.... Will we stay here again? Probably not....

Room Tip: The higher floors have the rooms with the 2 queen beds so if you are looking for a king room on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

For the price we paid I was happy. The room is outdated and could use some sprucing up but it was very clean all around, as well as the hallways, lobby and breakfast area.

Here is what I liked:
A clean Jacuzzi in my room
Windows opened
Clean bathroom and plenty of towels
mattress was semi-firm and I slept well
The easy chair was comfortable
A bag of snacks and water was in the room for us
No hallway noise, (but we could hear people walking above us- but it was not that bad)
Had to turn air conditioner and fridge on but both cooled well
Breakfast area and all staff professional and friendly
Plenty of hot water
parking was easy and I felt very safe in the area
shower pressure was OK, not the best but got the shampoo outta my hair

What I didn't like
The décor
The tv (although a flat screen was fuzzy)
All the pillows were super soft- my sweetie loved that , me not so much
Pool was too chilly too swim
Hot Tub at pool was lukewarm at best.
Breakfast was lacking.
Pool area could use more lighting.
The curtains didn't make a great seal and light came in room in the am.

There is neat restaurant called the Flippin Cow about a mile away. It is on the water and we enjoyed our dinner.

Room Tip: I would ask for one on the top floor. We could hear the room above us walking. For us it was minimal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwanttoseeamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Great location, very homey, staff very attentive to needs. Will definitely stay again!! Breakfast is wonderful great selection, beds comfortable, check-in was very easy as well as check out. Property very clean and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_elkh, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed . We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great place right off the exit. Good staff and nice personal touch in each room with complimentary welcome bag. The front desk manager was more than helpful and also handed us with couple of restaurants coupons.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grabstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_elkh, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed . We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We normally stay at the Hampton Inn across the street, but they didn't have any rooms available. This was our second stay at this Country Inn & Suites, and it reaffirmed why we stay at the Hampton. It's not grungy, but it's really showing it's age. Everything is just very dated, and not well maintained.

Repairs to tiles, trim, molding, etc. have obviously not been done by professionals. The outside sitting areas are filthy and littered with cigarette butts because the pails are overflowing. Paint and molding are coming off in many places. The water feature is falling apart. It just seems like the owners are not willing to spend money on anything.

The beds very soft and sagging, which I guess is better than being rock hard, but they needed to be replaced a long time ago. The A/C unit would not hold a constant temperature. The soap in the bathrooms makes you feel like it will never rinse off.

I found it aggravating that the breakfast, what little they have, was supposed to be until 9:30, but things ran out before 9:20, and were not restocked. The manager stood watching like a hawk so he could close the door at exactly 9:30 on the dot. His whole demeanor made it clear that it's morning and everyone should just leave now. I did not find this place to be welcoming at all, it's more about providing the bare minimum for people to be willing to stay.

I understand it is an inexpensive hotel, but at least two other hotels within 1000 feet offer much better accomodations, service, and hospitality for almost exactly the same price. There is a reason this seems to be the last hotel to fill up when things are busy. I do hope not to have to stay here again. If you can find a room at any of the other hotels in the area, take it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FATMAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_elkh, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inn & Suites Elkhart, Indiana we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at our hotel. We thrive on providing all of guests with a consistently quiet, clean, a comfortable stay, unfortunately, despite our best efforts the task sometimes gets away from us. Again I do apologize for any inconveniences or discomfort you experienced.

We appreciate your feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Mr. K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites North
Comfort Suites North
#7 of 22 in Elkhart
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Elkhart North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkhart
Hampton Inn Elkhart
#2 of 22 in Elkhart
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North

Address: 3250 Northview Dr, Elkhart, IN 46514-6749
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Elkhart
#5 Business Hotel in Elkhart
Price Range: £66 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elkhart North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Elkhart North
Elkhart Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing