We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Egg Pancake House

Golden Egg Pancake House
Ranked #34 of 189 Restaurants in Elkhart
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
scranton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great breakfast every morning, have eaten here on most of my trips to Notre Dame. Service is quick and very friendly, meals are quick, portions are large.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gogreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“They serve Big”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This restaurant serves large portions!! You ask for 1 egg and you get 2. You ask for 2 and you get 4. Food was excellent. We ate there every morning. Waitresses were very good and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harleymama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best omelet I've ever eaten!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I love breakfast. I like it even better when someone else makes it, and the Golden Egg knows a thing or two about breakfast.

I've eaten there before, but it's been a few years. It's good to see the quality hasn't diminished. While the food is excellent, the menu can be a bit overwhelming. There are MANY meal choices, and while some people like tons of options, I tend to find them distracting. I settled on the "Specials" insert and ordered the Red Barn Omelet. It's your basic omelet stuffed with hash browns, bacon, sausage, your choice of cheese, and onions. Oh, and it's freaking HUGE! The presentation wasn't fancy, just the omelet, a large wedge of pineapple (not sure what that was all about), and the plate, but that was more than made up for in quality. The coffee was also good. Again, this place isn't what you call gormet, but for your basic cup of joe, I felt it was pretty decent.

If you're looking for a fancy meal, a romantic date, or an entertaining atmosphere, keep on driving. If you're looking for some good down-home cooking, attentive service, and a reason to loosen your belt a few notches, come on down to the Golden Egg!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeWhazou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast Mecca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our Elkhart relatives suggested we meet them for breakfast at this local, old-fashioned gem of a breakfast/lunch restaurant near the toll road exit. Our omelets were large and tasty with all-inclusive options for grits, hash browns or fresh fruit...plus choice of toast or pancakes. Service was prompt and friendly. The atmosphere is pleasant, but clearly dated with green carpeted walls (yes, walls) and lots of other kitschy details. The place was full of locals which is usually a very good sign in my opinion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lcbooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Egg Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Golden Egg Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing