We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise just off the highway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites South
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice surprise just off the highway.”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were traveling across the state on the expressway. We found the hotel just off the exit for Elkhart and set back in an area of other lodging establishments, in a corporate park type setting. The welcome at the front desk was warm and the facility looked relatively new and well maintained. The room was large, quiet and clean with the amenities that we have seen at other better comfort suites hotels. The breakfast was standard fare for the chain. We used the pool and exercise area as well. We would certainly stay here again if we are traveling through the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatskillMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    37
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
19
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

This hotel appears to be almost new. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. About 30 minutes after we checked in, the desk clerk called to make sure our room was satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Spent three days there. Clean room. Wireless worked fine. Room was quiet. Plenty of channels on TV. Safe area. Strip Plaza close by if you want to go walking. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandwife91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Spent the night here 9/4/09. We were in the area to attend the opening Notre Dame football game. Normally we stay at one of the hotels right off the toll road but this year decided to do something a little different. It was closer to campus than some of the other places we've stayed (Howe/Sturgis, etc) but it was no more expensive because it was a little farther off the beaten track. In hindsight I'm not sure I would've done it without a GPS as it was definitely off the beaten track. But, with a GPS, I can definitely recommend it. We got a 2-queen bed with sleeper sofa for $165.99 and it was only 20-25 mins. from campus. Everything went seamlessly. Friendly desk people, acceptable breakfast buffet, nice pool area, comfortable beds, free wireless, etc., etc. As kickoff was at 3:30 PM and my boys have been to a game for the last 8-9 years, we didn't feel the need to get to campus too soon. They were very agreeable to giving us a late check out - we got to pick the time. Then, after we had checked out, my 14 yr old remembered he'd forgotten his cell phone. They were very helpful taking him up to the room and helping him find the phone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I'm keeping it short because this is a chain hotel. In other words, if you have stayed in one of the nicer, newer, Comfort Suites, you know what to expect. Our room was large and quite nice. We have stayed in other hotels/motels in Elkhart (located at the Toll Road exit) and this one, on the other side of town at the by-pass exit, was much nicer. It is a terrific value. I would definitely choose it again if I need to go to Elkhart. And a note to those of you not familiar with the area who might be having trouble finding a room on, say, a Notre Dame football weekend: you should be able to make it to this hotel in less than thirty minutes, so it presents a good option.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobo_at_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We spent two nights here in June 2009. The check-in was quick and the front desk staff was friendly. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was larger than most Choice Hotels that we've stayed at. The air conditioner was controlled by a wall thermostat which kept the room comfortable throughout our stay.

The breakfast was standard Choice Hotels and was a good way to start off the day. The dining area was sufficient in size.

The front desk clerk Jana was very efficient and friendly. She went out of her way to print directions to an antique mall we wanted to visit.

All in all, a great day and we would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberty112
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed for a week in this hotel while visiting close friends in the area. We felt safe in the general area and the rooms were very nice. The day time front desk lady was very helpful in giving directions to us. The business center had a computer to use but the connection was shoddy and even the employees said they were not sure how to get it connected. Other than that our stay was pleasant and we would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liberty112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
6.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites North
Comfort Suites North
#12 of 22 in Elkhart
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elkhart-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
6.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
5.9 mi away
The Garden Inn
The Garden Inn
#11 of 22 in Elkhart
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South

Property: Comfort Suites South
Address: 27838 County Road 24, (County Rd 24 & SR 19), Elkhart, IN 46517-9445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elkhart
#7 Business Hotel in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Elkhart
Elkhart Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing