We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Clean. Big rooms. Night clerk was helpful. Listed as having Truck parking but didn't. We had 3 trucks with trailers and had to park 2 across the street. The breakfest area is small in the main lobby one table. Beds where hard.

Room Tip: Room 201 had a huge barthroom but a long walk to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bergen county, nj
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place is strictly no frills, no breakfast to speak of, coffee in the morning, not bad, our room was the last one at the end, holes in the wall, bathroom door wouldn't close because of a poorly installed new wall to wall carpet, newly painted walls, but badly done, no artwork on the walls, just kinda plain and creepy.
Would def. look for something else on our next trip to Chicago.
This was a free night thru the Choice rewards, for 8000 pts. we were okay, but if I had paid $ for this I would have complained, ALOT.

Room Tip: look at your room first and be sure everything works, we could see thru the cracks in our door, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ampaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was surprisingly pleased at the quality of this hotel. When one hears Econo Lodge, one thinks of the old days when it was cheap and less then clean. This is my first stay at a new Econo Lodge pet friendly hotel and I must say I if they are all like this, why would anyone want to go else were and pay outlandish prices for less. The room was very clean and large. the bathroom was remodeled recently everything was clean, neat, very comfortable beds. and a nice little continental breakfast before check out.. plenty of room for the dog to run outside, and not a hint of animal odor in the place. This place is a keep and only about 200 yards off the interstate, easy on easy off. got my vote.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

So you are on a road trip without a planned stopping point. It's getting late so you pull up your travel app and start looking for a place to stay. You see that Econo Lodge in Elkhart is cheaper than the other chains in the area. You wonder if you should risk it. Go for it. It's fine. Good enough for a quick overnight. Our room was clean and quiet and I felt safe. Not exactly up-to-date or aesthetically pleasing, but who cares? Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

About a year ago I wrote a review on this EconoLodge that was titled "Good Value". I have stayed several times since and after the last visit feel obliged to write this one. In my last stay, I was given a room that had a bad odor - though with a No Smoking sign, it smelled like stale tobacco, but not exactly, and it might have been some issue with the carpet. I am not fussy and this was not a small problem - the staff should have recognized it and taken the room out of service until it was fixed. So my experience over the last two years has been mixed. The prices are low, the rooms very generous in size, the staff courteous, the location not pretty but surrounded by businesses and restaurants useful to travelers. Maybe the owners read these reviews and maybe this one will stimulate a little more attention to the visitor experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fringe_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Less clean than average, old carpeting and stained mattresses. Huge room but little furniture - fine, just odd. Bathroom was clean enough. Sort of a creepy place, but for a random motel on the side of the highway in Indiana, about average. Staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this Econo Lodge while in town for a wedding. The room (211) was nice and clean--had a king bed, mini-fridge, hairdryer, iron and board, and a small dining area off to the side.

For a $50 one-night stay, the room served its purposes very well. If I ever find myself in the area in the future, I would feel comfortable staying at this hotel again.

Only negative is the parking lot. It's kind of a pain because it doesn't accommodate for large (or mid-sized for that matter) vehicles very well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#9 of 22 in Elkhart
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairway Inn
Fairway Inn
#18 of 22 in Elkhart
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#14 of 22 in Elkhart
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garden Inn
The Garden Inn
#11 of 22 in Elkhart
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3440 Cassopolis St, Elkhart, IN 46514-6741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing