We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really gone downhill”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really gone downhill”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here when the hotel was fairly new. At that time, it was nice. Unfortunately, it isn't anymore.

I'll echo much of what the last reviewers said in terms of need of update (if the lobby was being painted a week ago, they haven't made much progress in that time - it's still in rough shape) and cleanliness. Our room also smelled some of smoke, the carpets were wrinkled and very dirty, wallpaper was torn and peeling off the wall. It just needs work. Beds were OK, but the hotel must be aware of the need for an update there also. They put thick padded mattress covers on them to increase the comfort. Not enough blankets were provided. Only one thin blanket.

I can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't eat it. Many restaurants in the area.

The pool area also appeared in need of renovation. Pool markings were faded or non-existent in areas.

With so many other hotel choices in the area, I'll stay elsewhere in the future.

NOTE: If you're planning a weekend stay in football season, check the Notre Dame schedule first. Hotels in this area tend to hike the prices up significantly (one night here was $140) and require a 2 night stay on game weekends. Last minute availability is non existent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    50
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
33
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel has signage indicating they are renovating however it appears that they are only painting the lobby. The hotel entrance is less than inviting and the rooms are in desperate need of updates. There was visible dirt and debris on all the floors and in the elevator and stairways. Although our room indicated it was non smoking, the entire room smelled of smoke and there were burn marks on the bathroom fixtures. We found a cockroach in the room and reported it to the front desk. The attendant (Annie) was not very helpful as she indicated she was shocked and indicated they had not had 'that particular bug' there but did offer to move our room to a higher floor that had recently been sprayed by the exterminator. There was no apology for this or accomodating gesture that most hotels would offer. The Manager Mel (who only works at night) however did apologize later in our trip. There are many newer hotels in the Elkhart area as well as those that appear better maintainted. The management should consider investing in upgrades and providing additional customer service training for the employees.

Room Tip: It is worth considering paying the extra and staying in South Bend if you are travelling for a footb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunker, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Sleep Inn Elkhart is in a great location but is in need up updates. The entry is fine the room is well outdated other than the flat screen television, and the breakfast isn't worth your time. With the other hotels so close you would think they would take more pride in their inn and update it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This Sleep Inn is a great place. We have stayed there twice in two years and both times it was excellent. Rooms are comfortable, beds and bedding were great. We look forward to staying there whenever we go cross country. We got there around midnight and the night manager was kind enough to allow us to sleep in past check out. We drive longer days just to reach this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Clean Room, Friendly Workers and good Breakfast.This is a hotel that is clean and priced right.
It certainly could use some updates, but it is clean and everyone was very friendly. This is a good option, if you are staying in Elkhart. The travel information office is right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JhShMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is what you would expect for a medium priced hotel. Great service, quit, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was good. A decent variety of items from cold cereal to the waffles. Fresh fruit and yogurts. Not much hot food. Sausage or bacon and the waffles. Great pastry.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich7357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our rooms were OK. Hall carpets were in need of cleaning or replaced. Cobwebs in room. Beds seemed clean. Great rate. Breakfast was acceptable. Dripping water from Air Conditioner on floor above was an annoying noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krobinson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#9 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites North
Comfort Suites North
#12 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Elkhart North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 220 Caravan Dr, Elkhart, IN 46514-6768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Elkhart
Elkhart Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing