We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to be kidding”
Review of Super 8 Elkhart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Elkhart
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This stay was part of a 10 day trip across the country. Super 8 Elkhart was the most expensive stay we had, nearly twice what we paid for a Courtyard by Marriott. I've had some good luck in the past with Super 8 so I was pretty suprised that this was the worst I've ever experienced. Looking at it from the road it looked like a condemned property, but it was, indeed open. Enter the lobby and no one is there. A sign says to dial "0" on the desk phone and someone would be with us. This was the scenario our entire stay. No one monitors the lobby where anyone can walk in off the street and have their run of the building. So much for security. As for the room, it was clean but very cramped. A very uncomfortable chair was wedged between the exterior wall and one of the beds and sat underneath the exposed clothes rod that served as a closet. And another security concern: the extra lock on the door was a feeble chain, not the heavy duty security latch that is standard everywhere else. Breakfast was OK, but for the price they charge this motel is a rip-off.

Room Tip: I can't recommend any of the rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night after football game. Very basic, small room. Refrigerator & microwave are provided. One floor lamp didn't work. We were at top of stairs but had very little noise. Close to a good variety of restaurants. I would not stay here again because I like a nicer, bigger room, but it was tolerable for one night. Staff friendly & helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank pupsmom_nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Old decor in the entrance area, needs update desperately, no elevator, bathrooms need to be cleaner, breakfast could be better and serving time longer, If you stay there for an ND football weekend be prepared to pay a lot of money for a room in which no consideration is taken to the fact that you are paying more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#6 of 22 in Elkhart
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
0.5 mi away
Fairway Inn
Fairway Inn
#18 of 22 in Elkhart
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#13 of 22 in Elkhart
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elkhart
Candlewood Suites Elkhart
#17 of 22 in Elkhart
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Elkhart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Elkhart

Address: 345 E Windsor Ave, I-80/90 Exit 92, Elkhart, IN 46514-5520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Elkhart 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is conveniently located off the I-80/I-90 Tollway Exit 92. We are situated in the heart of Amish Country. South Bend Regional Airport is less than half hour away. The University of Notre Dame is less than half-hour away in South Bend. Start your day with a free 8-item SuperStart breakfast and plan your trip with our free WiFi Internet at our pet-friendly hotel. Store a snack in your in-room refrigerator, or heat up a meal in the microwave. We offer free large-vehicle parking and accessible rooms. Enjoy the Amish Country attractions near our hotel. Take a 90-minute driving tour of the Heritage Trail, and make sure to see the Quilt Gardens along the way. If you love the thrill of unique finds, check out the 40-plus stores at the Elkhart Antique Mall or the Shipshewana Amish Flea Market, the largest flea market in the Midwest. The University of Notre Dame is a half-hour away in South Bend. Learn about the history of RVs at the RV/MH Hall of Fame and Museum in Elkhart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Elkhart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkhart Super Eight
Super Eight Elkhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing