We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and a friendly stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Elkhart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Elkhart
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value and a friendly stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

I regularly go out to South Bend for Notre Dame for football games and have stayed other places a few times. But for the price, being only 15 minutes away from the stadium, and all that is around in Elkhart, I don't think I can get any better. It may not be the biggest but the rooms ahave always been clean, hot water and plenty of pressure for a well deserved shower, and it is easy checking in and out.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnbiker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    62
    67
    35
    32
See reviews for
84
45
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I've stayed at a lot of Super 8's, and my expectations were appropriate. This was the worst room I've ever rented. It was dirty, there were beetles in the room, it had not been vacumned (I found bobby pins, a lighter and crumpled receipts under the bedskirt.) I could spit harder than the shower head, and you had your choice of hot or cold water in the shower. There was broken lamp, the desk was cracked, the carpet was stained... Bad place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marchband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elkhart hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

After browsing the site for affordable hotels in Elkhart, I settled on the Super 8. For approximately $50 on a Sunday night, we got a clean room with a microwave, a refrigerator, and complimentary coffee. A wide variety of cable channels were available on the TV. WiFi was also available. The continental breakfast consisted of undersized pastries, doughnuts, and muffins, but who says you can't take more than one? All in all I thought this was a terrific deal for the money. It's just a few blocks south of the more expensive hotels at I80/90 exit 92.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnm22492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

This was a terrible experience and this hotel should be condemned. Stay at your own risk. I have never written a review but this needs to be stated. I would expect better from a 1 star $50 a night room.. Anyway, we walked in the room and the light switch did not turn on the light. Finally got in and found a hole in the bathroom door; the carpet was sticky ; found hair on the sheets; the towels were extremely worn and faded, and the hotel smelled like stale cigarettes. The final straw was the knats in the room. When I complained to the front desk they listened but could care less. If you want to stay in a hotel that is filthy with fingerprints everywhere and every piece a furniture appears to be from the Salvation Army, this is your place, otherwise, please don't do it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything. It was horrible, filthy, and smelled bad
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 7262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Our stay went about as expected. Everything was average and pretty much met standards for an economy stay.

Pros:

Great AC for the very hot weather that we experienced during our stay. Good, hot water for the shower. Room seemed pretty clean, even the bathroom. There were plenty of room amenities for an economy stay. There was a microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, large office style work desk, arm chair, 2 queen beds, very ample TV, and so on.

Cons:

Continental breakfast was pretty meager but there was little wrong with what they did offer. They mainly just offered a couple types of cereal, a small variety of pastries, and toast. They offered 2 or 3 types of fruit juice though the machine didn't seem to work well if at all so we didn't even get to try any of that side of the offerings.

Overall we felt that we experienced about what we would have expected for an economy hotel if not even perhaps a little above average for that type of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Indiana-Storm-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

Stayed at Super 8 motel during the Jr Irish Soccer Tournament over Memorial Day weekend. Rest of team stayed at StudioPlus ($95+). Considering their experience, we got the better deal (at $60).

This Super 8 motel is right off turnpike, 20 minutes east of Norte Dame. on the plus side, wide variety of cable TV stations -- better than most medium priced hotels ($100/night), water for shower was plentiful and hot. Room had a small refrigerator and microwave (tiny). on the negative side: continental breakfast was so-so (two choices of cereal, no hot food), bathroom was small, a bit dirty, and towels were on the low quality end. Overall appearance of room was on the dingy side - dark colors, low lighting. Hard to tell if the dark carpeting was clean or not. Only needed to stay one night and so that all we did.

  • Liked — inexpensive, good location
  • Disliked — dingy
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sapientia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

Reading the other reviews of this place was confusing. It's almost like it was a different place. I found the rooms to be decorated quite well--fairly clean, yet not immaculate. But all the furniture in my room was new--and real wood, believe it or not--not presswood or chipboard. Very nice.
Unfortunately, the other clientele staying there was not so nice. After checking in, I had to pass by eight sordid-looking characters to get to my room. Three of them were half-dressed.
These same guys kept me up all night by going in and out, slamming doors, and shouting to their amigos, all night. I called the front desk, and she said she'd send the manager up to quiet them down. Didn't happen.
Night two: Now there are six different guys, literally laying in the hallway. TMany have their doors propped open, blaring their TVs full blast out into the hall. Two of the six guys appear to be taking a siesta--onthe floor in the hallway. How they slept through all the noise is a mystery. Four others are talking loudly, and singing along to the Spanish videos on Telemundo.
Same story, door slamming loudness all night. There must have been 60-70 guys in and out of maybe only four rooms all night.
I called the front desk again and told her that she and her manager were not doing their job, and that I was calling the Police. That didn't work either.
So, I had zero sleep for two nights.
On Sunday, I check out, and when I leave, I have to step over someone's vomit outside the doorway of the main entrance.
Think it couldn't get worse.
Then I got home, they had charged me twice. I stayed two nights, but there were two separate charges to my account. One for one night, one for two nights--I did not stay 3 nights, only 2.
When I called the Manager, he looked it up, and said "No, we only charged you once." and that was that. So now I have to protest the extra charge. Have you ever tried to disprove a charge when you really did stay there.? (Just one room, two nights, however.) It's a huge hassle.

  • Liked — Furniture in room
  • Disliked — NOISE, unsafe enviroment in the hallways
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank supplies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elkhart hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
Red Roof Inn - Elkhart
#10 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Garden Inn
The Garden Inn
#11 of 22 in Elkhart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairway Inn
Fairway Inn
#18 of 22 in Elkhart
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Elkhart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Elkhart

Property: Super 8 Elkhart
Address: 345 Windsor Avenue, I-80/90 Exit 92, Elkhart, IN 46514-5520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Elkhart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Elkhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Elkhart 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Elkhart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkhart Super Eight
Super Eight Elkhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing