We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale rooms, great beds and super shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Merigot at Tropicana
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Evansville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and the beds are super comfy. The rain shower is world class. The bar is modern and gorgeous.
Tge hotel is perfectly located. High marks!!! Love Evansville!!!
Went to the lst and was blown away.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank alipet6388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Deceptively nice hotel. Outside is basic and a bit dated, but rooms, bathrooms are very well finished. The lobby bar is really cool looking-great design. fantastic selection of beers and spirits. Bed really comfortable. The adjacent casino is a bit on the seedy side. Breakfast was pretty bad-some nice fruit, hot food more or less absent. Coffee was poor, and empty intermittently during the three breakfasts that I was there. All-in, however, I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barl0w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've stopped here three times within the last year and wouldn't hesitate to go back; rooms are very comfortable and well appointed.

Location is good for downtown and the casino plus there is a few bars close by. I would avoid the casino and the adjoining area.

Waterfront is close by and plenty to do in the immediate area.

Breakfast is okay, mainly fruit, toast etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayfever52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to add a review. We appreciate your time and comments. Our location across the street from the river walk is convenient for a nice stroll or run. Tropicana does offer several variety restaurants. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We parked as most bikers do, under the awning by the front and weren't told it wasn't ok by the front desk. Later, security placed a huge orange STICKER on our bike. Mgt told us they didn't want the stigma of "bikers" staying there!! Prejudice!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. As I mentioned to you in my email, we are not trying to make bikers feel "unwelcomed". Our hotel entrance is not large enough for vehicles to park there long term and the area must be clear at all times for emergency vehicles. We do have a designated area for motorcycles within our valet lot adjacent to the hotel. We decided on this area as it was away from our designated smoking area for hotel guests thinking that there would be less foot traffic reducing any risk of tampering. We definitely did not convey this well to you, our valued guests. I have shared our experience with our team so they can be more forthcoming to future guests. As I mentioned, because of your poor experience, we have refunded your charges. We hope to win you back the next time you visit Evansville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent a nite here to enjoy the casino & take in the D-Day Re-enactment. Next visit I'd like to be on the 3rd floor so our view wouldn't be marred by the walkway. I agree with the previous review - the bed was wonderful! If I could've packed it in my bag it would have come home with me! The mattress 7 bedding was superb! Housekeeping does a great job of making them picture perfect but still manageable to get in to and enjoy. The continental breakfast offering was good. Altho, since it is served in what is a bar at nite, the seating is a bit awkward for eating. Luckily, the weather was good so we went outside to the patio area.
The hotel is convenient to the casino with a walkway so you don't have to bother crossing the road. Bit odd with going up an elevator, across & down an elevator if one wants to go to other places. Staff was professional & very helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the building but 3rd flr or above. Our room on 2nd flr, the view was skewed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3catstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We really appreciate your time and input. The D-Day Re-enactment was truly a great event for Evansville. I'm glad that we were part of your experience. I enjoy sharing comments like yours with our team. Thank you again for staying review. We hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Le Merigot is an awesome hotel! The bed was fantastic. I can no longer sleep in my bed at home it was so comfortable! My husband and I went to a wedding on Saturday night (reception at the conference center---great reception, lovely decor and friendly staff) and decided we would take a nap before going out, set our alarm and then decided we weren't getting up when it went off because we were so comfortable....it was only 11 on a Saturday night. We never go to bed that early on a Saturday night. The room was gorgeous and just what we needed for a weekend away. David and Whitney really took care of us during our stay!

Room Tip: The hotel faces to the sides so that every room can have a view of the river. It may not be head on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 239Heather_Sparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you Heather for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed yourselves. I enjoy sharing comments like yours with our team. Thank you again for staying with us. Can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Only had time to stay one night. The staff was efficient and friendly. The rooms featured wonderful bedding and the shower/bathroom was a delight! There is a neat Irish pub and a sports bar adjacent to the hotel. Very good location if you don't want to move the car once you arrive. As for the casino, it is the old "boat" style and was a let down. The bar in the hotel was modern and had a nice design! The complimentary continental breakfast was tasty and well presented. Overall I would stay again and recommend it!

Room Tip: River view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at Le Merigot at Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are fortunate to have RiRa's Irish Pub and Sportsbook near us... and don't forget about Boogie Nights! I have shared your comments with our team. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evansville hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Evansville
Tropicana Evansville
#16 of 36 in Evansville
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Evansville
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
#2 of 36 in Evansville
482 reviews
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Evansville East
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Merigot at Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Merigot at Tropicana

Address: 615 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Evansville
Price Range: £101 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Merigot at Tropicana 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Merigot at Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Merigot Evansville
Le Merigot Hotel Evansville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing