We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belterra Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel was beautiful, the entire staff fantastic, I did not want for anything. One staff member saw me limping around and pulled up with a wheelchair. The casino is a boat, but you would never know it. You do not go outside to enter it. The bathroom had a garden jet tub and a stand alone walk in shower as well as a flat screen TV and even a phone. The entire place was heavenly. Now the negatives - if you mapquest this site and they put you on W56 - tear it up! I was lost in the hills, pitch black, dirt road, foggy, insanely scary! I had On-Star on the car phone and my son on my cell, which had poor reception. When I checked out a few days later and turned left, there was the expressway. If I had known I would have stayed days longer. Just check the route you want to take to get there.
One blackjack dealer actually ASKED people at the table for tips, she was serious. Because of that she got none and everyone very shortly got up and left. Shame, because the Belterra was A1 in every other respect. Right on the Indiana/Kentucky border.

Room Tip: Internet is available for $10 a day. There is also a golf course there, steak house, Stadium Bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 693 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We are from Florida and several times a year we visit our northern family and friends. We always try to include Belterra as one of our places to stay during our trips. This trip we brought our son and his fiancée and also invited friends from Ohio to join us at Belterra. It was their first visit to Belterra and all were impressed. It was a nice home base for attending Cincinnati Reds games, a 40 min drive. We enjoyed a meal at the new Stadium Restaurant and despite several power outages during our meal! Food was great! All 3 rooms were on the 12th floor with a beautiful view of the Ohio River and golf course. Staff was extremely friendly, and special thanks to the assistant manager, Bradley Mefford for taking the time to help me print my Reds tickets. My only suggestion that would improve the resort is to clean up the parking garage and its entrance. This is often the first impression people get and it was pretty nasty this visit. It would be nice if people would use the trash receptacles! All in all, great visit and we will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I would like to expand on the post regarding the great staff. Yes Dorothea Swan and Brad Medford are the greatest and always go out of their way to make sure I'm completely happy with my stay. A woman named Chyna that works late night is just as sweet.

The rooms are always clean and comfortable with new mattresses and flat screen tv's. If there is ever a problem, it's taken care of immediately thanks to the above mentioned people at the front desk.

Now when you're on the "boat" a long time slot attendant member named Joe, a young kid (kid to me) will always put a smile on your face.

Now if they would just put back the one cent Lucky Fortune machines, I'd be real happy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnyside103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I find it kind of shocking when there are any negative reviews about the staff, especially the front desk. I usually arrive early and they seem to go out of their way to get me in a room as soon as possible. There are two names that come to mind, Dorothea and Brad M. They always greet you with a smile and go out of their way to accommodate you.

Breakfast buffet is the best.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I make a annual trip every year for dual purpose our anniversary and my birthday ,so we try for a good bang for our buck. When we decided to venture a little further from our comfort zone we were trying for adventures sake to enjoy this. First off when we went to pay for our accommodations our original card was rejected,it happens. Then though the bathroom was superb the rest was lacking. The room was either too hot,too cold, and really moist. No amenities-no microwave or mini fridge! And if you have t-mobile forget making calls, also the wifi was 10$. The casino wasn't exactly drawing us in either. We really gave the place a try but it wasn't worth the 6+ hour drive. We finally decided to explore Idiana but got nothing but cornfields so we pretty much headed to Louisville. Also on our last day we wanted to explore the golf course etc. We ventured towards the back of the hotel and was promptly chased off by a pot-bellied security guard,which I really didn't appreciate after spending 500+dollars,won't be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lashanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Below is the letter I sent to Belterra upon arriving home. I think it speaks for itself.
Dear Sir or Madam,
We recently visited your resort with 16 friends and family members. Our group meets once a year at various casino resorts throughout the tri state area. We generally spend as a whole around $10,000 in the resort. Belterra offered a very poor value for our entertainment dollar. While staying with you, there arose multiple issues which were not addressed, not addressed in a timely manner or addressed only upon our insistence and with poor grace by members of your staff. As the coordinators of this trip, we were responsible for booking rooms and overseeing our parties activities during our visit. We both travel extensively, and understand that any number of things can and will go wrong from time to time. With a little patience, most can be resolved in a satisfactory manner rather quickly. However, the utter lack of concern shown by your staff was appalling.

Our party reserved three rooms for the weekend of February 22 – 23. Two of these were reserved on December 28,2013. You will note that that is a full two months in advance. The third room was reserved on February 8, 2014. This room was reserved three weeks in advance. Upon arrival at your hotel, all was in order and we were assigned rooms on the 10th floor. However, the rooms were found to be extremely hot. We investigated and discovered that the heat was on in the first room and would not shut off. The second, adjoining room air conditioner was on, but blowing hot air into the room. We alerted the front desk and a technician was sent up half an hour later. He was friendly and apologetic. He attempted to fix the problem and stated we should notice a difference within an hour.. However, after waiting the recommended hour, the only difference we noticed was that the rooms seemed hotter than before as the units were still blowing heat despite being set to high cool.

Again we contacted the front desk and were informed by your staff that we would “just have to wait for the room to cool down”. One member of your staff even went so far as to state that it would cool off naturally at night! We explained that the problem had not been fixed and requested to be moved. We were told that the hotel was booked and this was not possible. Upon our insistence, after another hour- long wait, comparable rooms were found on the 6th floor. No offer was made for help with moving twelve people's luggage down four floors. When we asked for a porter, we received a short reply, and another wait. This time we waited twenty minutes for assistance.

When our porter arrived, he was very friendly, helpful and apologetic. He introduced himself, and did his utmost to make us feel like valued guests. He was the one employee we encountered who truly seemed to enjoy his job, and went above and beyond to help us make the best of a stressful, inconvenient situation. We were all impressed by this young man's dedication and customer service. He is to be commended.

Once we were installed in our new rooms, three hours had passed and some of the people we had arranged to meet for lunch and shopping had already departed as they had a four hour drive home, and had elected not to stay. As a result of this incident, the time we had scheduled to visit with family who had traveled 200 miles to visit with us at your facility was lost.

Further, the rooms were not cleaned well. The carpet was dirty, there was a burn hole in the coverlet on one of the beds. There were no trash can liners in any of the trash cans. The coffee service tray in one room had been used, and was only half there. In short, we were moved to rooms that had been given at best a quick once over by housekeeping and nothing more. After three hours, rude responses and uncaring attitudes by your staff, we were moved into dirty rooms. However, at this point we decided we could live with it, as we were all frustrated at the lost time and eager to move on to the purpose of our trip which was to socialize and enjoy ourselves.

I spoke to your front desk about the situation and received terse replies to my concerns. The person I spoke to was able after some discussion and much reluctance on his part to provide us with four buffet passes. This was not very helpful as we had twelve guests who had waited over three hours to have lunch. At this point we opted to just let the situation drop and try to salvage our evening. Throughout the evening, we encountered the same poor service and unfriendly staff in the buffet, MyCash card center, and the casino. There was actually spoiled food on the buffet, and when we told the staff, they claimed it wasn't and did nothing to remove or replace the spoiled items. In short, we found the entire experience of visiting Belterra to be very disappointing, and at times extremely frustrating. Some members of our party traveled nearly three hundred miles to experience your resort and spend time with family and friends, only to be greeted with a very unpleasant stay. Personally, I live less than fifteen miles from two casinos. I visit them often and rarely find even the slightest inconvenience. To say that Belterra fell short of our expectations is a gross understatement.

It is our hope that this letter will encourage you to examine and adjust your policies where needed to ensure the satisfaction of future guests. We also wish to thank both the technician who attempted to repair the problem in the original rooms, and our porter. They attempted to correct the issues we encountered and make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pick a different resort... this one is horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we've stayed and we've been disappointed this time. Check in was rude, room will not cool down, Starbucks cashier was also rude. No one seems happy to work here & they aren't showing any personal attention. Not sure if we'll return or not. Just want to feel as though our business is appreciated a little.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank T-Cliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belterra77, Public Relations Manager at Belterra Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent stay with us. We are sorry to see your experience wasn't perfect and want you to know we certainly do appreciate your business. We would like to learn more about your last experience, please Email snewsome@belterracasino.com with some more information as well as your contact information for our team to follow up. Thank you again for your visit and we hope to see you back at Belterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
22.3 mi away
Sunrise Inn
Sunrise Inn
#1 of 3 in Williamstown
124 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
#1 of 4 in Dry Ridge
522 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dry Ridge
22.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richwood-Cincinnati South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belterra Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belterra Casino Resort

Address: 777 Belterra Dr, Florence, IN 47020-9432
Region: United States > Indiana > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £83 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belterra Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Indiana, Belterra Casino Resort is the every day escape for Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio. Belterra is just a short drive from Cincinnati, Lexington, Louisville and Indianapolis boasting over 600 guest rooms & suites, high-end shopping, concerts, meetings rooms, delicious restaurants and player-friendly gambling Belterra is easily the best experience in the region. Our multi-level casino features 1,300 slot machines, friendly odds and expert dealers. Take some time for yourself too in Beleza, Belterra's premier spa. Experience for yourself, escape to Belterra today! *Must be 21 years of age to enter the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Belterra Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belterra Casino Resort And Spa
Belterra Hotel Florence
Belterra Resort Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing