We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Don Hall's Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Fort Wayne)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
163
69
27
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
69
27
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribdon hallsbreakfast and dinnerguest houseindoor poolplayer pianobaked potatoan older hotelbirthday partyfantastic stayfast foodbusiness meetingfamily reunionin townvisit fort waynebeds were comfortableup to date
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

For the price it is really not a bad place to stay. Although an older establishment it IS clean.
The rooms are a bit dated and need some renovating but overall it is in a great location with many other eating establishments nearby. Close to major roads so you can easily get moving no matter what direction you are headed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travln4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel. I just stayed here June 4th and 5th. The staff ( Debbie, Brooke & Holly ) at the front desk are the nicest people at any hotel I have ever stayed. Karen in the restaurant , ( at the hostess station ) couldn't make me feel anymore welcome. The food in the restaurant is amazing. I have never had a bad meal. The portions they give you are huge. The courtyard ( which I always request and get ) is beautiful. Many , many trees throughout the courtyard and around the pool. They also have an indoor pool. They are always updating the rooms and they are extremely clean. I always look forward to staying here and talking to the great ladies at the front desk. Thanks for another fantastic visit.

Bob McGohan

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the worst hotel I have stayed in. Yes, it was clean, but hasn't been updated in decades! The room smelled bad, a combination of dirty feet, mold, and cigarette smoke. The only good thing was since it was business, I didn't pay. The food was crappy too. The personnel were friendly and helpful, it wasn't their fault. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, Manager at Don Hall's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Wow, I am sorry you feel that way! First of all, let me start off by saying we are fully aware that we are an older property. We don't pretend to be otherwise. We have been here since 1981 providing customers a great value. Our rates are fair and we are so hospitable that not only do we offer you free breakfast but you get free dinner as well. We are full service and offer more amenities than any other hotel in Fort Wayne. We have the largest indoor and outdoor pools, large fitness center, laundry, over night security, shuttle service, room service and so much more. We are independent, locally owned and operated. We are clean! We operate a full service restaurant and lounge that has great local entertainment in the evening. Maybe if you were paying for your room you would appreciate these things more. Our rate is usually around $89 a night. We are not charging $130-$150 a night. Thank you for giving us a try though! I'm sorry you were not happy with your stay. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed in a 2 bedroom room. the beds need to be replaced, the thermostat was circa 1970s, shower was more like a drizzle, and they still use actual keys to open your room.... :) but on the plus side -- friendly staff,excellent entrees and the desserts? Delicious!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kaleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, General Manager at Don Hall's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your stay and your review. Just so you know we are constantly replacing and updating our rooms. You may have stayed in one of the rooms slated to update. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice place overall. We stayed in a room with two double beds that hasn't been updated in a very long time. Altough they were clean, they have old tvs, the air conditioner barely worked and the beds were small and uncomfortable. Now for the good. Amazing food,everything we had durning our two night stay was delicious. Very nice staff. Great location.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, General Manager at Don Hall's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to review. We know we are an older property and we are in the process of updating T.Vs and beds. Please keep in mind, for the rates we offer, your stay at the Guesthouse Hotel is very fair... And we feed you dinner and breakfast in our very popular Guesthouse Grill too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews