We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming and friendly staff, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Wayne
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Kokomo, IN
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and friendly staff, great stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out (nearly noon the next day) every employee we met or even passed in the hall greeted us with a hello and a smile. The front desk clerk went out of his way to make my children happy which I really appreciated. The pool was nice and big and the water was warm and pleasant. The were a lot of options on the breakfast buffet in the morning and it was kept well stocked. The only reason I didn't give five stars was that it was hard to sleep in the living area. The pull out couch was not comfortable and the refrigerator made a knocking sound all night. Other than that the room was nice and quiet. As mentioned in other reviews they do have flat panel TVs, but for some reason the sound didn't work on a few of the channels. Overall I would stay at this property again and I complement the staff on a job well done.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drobertson7811, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Wayne, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for the kind words concerning our staff and service, we greatly appreciate it. I see that you had some trouble with the sound on the television in your room; and wanted to let you know that I can understand how frustrating that can be. I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience this must have caused. We have recently had the television manufacturer to the hotel to fix any and all problems with our new HD flatscreens. Thanks again for choosing the Residence Inn Fort Wayne and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Derrick Robertson
General Manager
Residence Inn Fort Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    39
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
15
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We met three other familes who share a common interest with us. This has been a routine for 8 years, and Ft. Wayne was the shortest drive for all concerned. Previously we stayed at a couple of other hotels, but we are partial to Marriott Residence Inns, having had good experiences in other cities, so we stayed here again, for the third time.

When we checked in on Saturday afternoon there was a sizable kid's birthday party being held in the private party room next to the dining area. Both the room and the dining room were taken, with a count of 50 people including guests and professional entertainers. It was noisy, but the double doors were closed with prominent signs declaring "Quiet Zone" to all who entered. The parking lot was full, and the hotel was very busy. As our stay progressed it became clear that the hotel was nearly full. There was constant traffic in and out for the next 16 hours.

We brought our small dog with us (extra $100.00 cleaning charge), but all staff flirted with her, obviously a pet-friendly hotel.

The room was comfortable, the pool was clean, and the hotel was kept running despite the crowd and the activities. The people running this hotel are seasoned professionals. In spite of how busy they were, the only problem I noticed was some spilled food in the elevator and the dining room that remained uncleaned for several hours. But when we woke on Sunday all was clean, and the hot breakfast was ready. The breakfast offered was not a broad selection of food, but what was offered was tasty and hot, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, redskin potatoes, oatmeal, toast and English muffins, yogurt. The next day the sausage was not available, but Canadian bacon and sausage hash was available. A nice touch was that even at a late hour they refreshed the food to make sure that late arrivals could still get hot and fresh breakfast food.

Our room had two flat screen TV sets, and the TV in the bedroom seemed to be defective, losing the cable signal at irregular intervals. Also it was a 42 inch TV, far too big for the room. The hotel has two PC's in the lobby, and does provide WiFi. If your laptop is not wireless, there is an ethernet cord you can use to establish internet connection.

The hotel is not in the best location. Much of the action in Ft. Wayne is to the north about 7 or 8 miles. It didn't bother us because of the purpose for which we were there. However it may bother other travelers. If you prefer being closer to popular restaurants and entertainment, you may want to consider other hotels.

All in all, I really appreciated this hotel. I never expected them to be as busy as one of our convention hotels in Chicago, but they were, and they handled it well. Terrific!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The pictures on the web for this place are out of date. The room had new flat screen TVs although it was tricky to get the one in the living area to work. The desk clerk walked me through it and there was no problem the rest of the stay. The place is clean and it was nice to check in and participate in the social hour with wine and chili. The rooms are rather small but nice. Good, deep bathtub and lots of hot water. Staff was helpful. Breakfast..well, it beat going out in the snow.. the oatmeal was instant and runny (already made) and everything else was just ok. I have had better at other residence inn's so I am not sure what is up with that. However, the staff was nice and they keep the place clean during the breakfast hours. The selection in the small store was ok and staff provided ice because no one had told us the frig had an ice maker that required us to turn on. There were newspapers during the week but none on the weekend, which was a pain since it was well below freezing outside and there are no stores within walking distance. This place is near the airport and right across from the hospital. Convenient if that is the destination, not so much if you need quiet. Lots of ambulance noise at night. Saturday night was strange because the lobby area seemed to be taken over by a private party and was thus unavailable to other guests. The coffee here is OK. Huge coffee pot in the room but the coffee pods only make 4 cups. I put two in the basket and only eight cups of coffee and it was ok. Fortunately just under HWY 69 on Jefferson, there is a Starbucks. Beds are alright, nothing to write home about. For the most part, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I've rarely ever been disappointed in any Residence Inn and this is no different. This hotel is clean, in a nice area, nearby decent restaurants, shops and close to major highways. I never had any troubles and have stayed at this hotel three times for work over the last few years. The rooms are clean, affordable and modernized. The WI-FI always works great and is included. If you're in the Fort Wayne area and want a nice affordable stay with great amenities, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was my second stay at this Residence Inn, which is located right off of I-69 near many shops and restaurants. The hotel is located near a hospital in an area with many office buildings.

I stayed at this property during business travel. My room was a large studio suite with a comfortable king bed and a gas fireplace. The hotel itself is relatively new, so all of the furniture and the appliances in the kitchen were very nice. The kitchen was fully stocked and had granite countertops. The sink are in the bathroom also had the granite.

The living room area included a nice sized desk, a couch, a reclining chair, and flat screen TV.

A small complimentary evening meal is served in the dining area Monday through Thursday, and the complimentary hot breakfast was very good.

Compared to a standard hotel room, the value in staying at a property cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Great property for business travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MI_Traveler48042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magenta, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Thanks to staff for maintaining this Residence Inn at such a high standard. Everything about our longish stay was just great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Guia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Everything about this hotel is great, with the usual Residence Inn standards - fresh decorating, good housekeeping, friendly front desk staff and hospitality nights. The hotel is near restaurants, and a good grocery store (Fresh Market) and an upscale shopping center are only a couple of miles down the road. Our 3rd floor, courtyard-facing room seemed to be under some kind of motor on the roof which was a bit noisy so we switched to another room, still on the 3rd floor. The only room available was facing towards the highway area. I would avoid this next time! The roar of motorcycles and trucks disrupted my sleep, especially in the early morning when commuter traffic began. If you're a sound sleeper, then this might not be a problem as the buildings are set away from the road a little, not directly next to it. (The hotel is very close to a hospital complex; however, the ambulances must use another entrance as they were not a problem.) Otherwise, a great experience and we will return. We have usually stayed for a week or longer, twice a year, when visiting family, at what used to be a R.I. on the north side of the city. It had 2 bedroom lofts which we loved but it has been changed to a Stay Inn (non-Marriott brand.)

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard-side room, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoverOfOpera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Wayne-Southwest
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
Comfort Suites Fort Wayne
#5 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Wayne
#4 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Luxbury Inn Fort Wayne
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fort Wayne
Staybridge Suites Fort Wayne
#17 of 44 in Fort Wayne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Wayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Wayne

Property: Residence Inn Fort Wayne
Address: 7811 W Jefferson Blvd, Fort Wayne, IN 46804-4137 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Wayne Southwest)
Region: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Wayne
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fort Wayne 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Wayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Wayne Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing