We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Wayne
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My corporation hosted a training session at this site. The hotel was recommended to me by our HR department. Marriott is usually very consistent on the quality and service they provide so I had no concerns about my stay. When entering the lobby I was greeted by a wave of hot, humid air......that permeated the lobby and breakfast area for the entirety of my visit. No worries - didn't plan on spending much time in that space, but I did feel sorry for the clerk at the front desk in her heavy uniform. In my room I encountered the following: mold on the bathroom tile and wallpaper, a bathtub that wouldn't drain, an antiquated wall unit A/C, and walls thin enough to allow me to hear the phone conversation of the person in the next room (speaking in a normal voice).

After addressing these items with the front desk, the mold was cleaned off the walls and the shower drain cleared/cleaned. I will give them credit for being attentive to the issues they could solve.

Our conference room was to be provided with a full breakfast and lunch each day. On day 1 they didn't provide us with breakfast beverages and it took quite some time for them to provide beverages with lunch. Our training leader also requested that our tables be set up in a certain fashion for training purposes - this was not accomplished either. After speaking with management - Day 2 was better. Again, when advised - necessary changes were made.

The bare minimum I expect at this price point is cleanliness. I assumed I would get more than the minimum - this time I was wrong. This certainly wasn't my worst hotel experience, but I definitely wouldn't recommend it to anyone and will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: NO ELEVATOR at this hotel - however less noise on 2nd floor if you don't mind carrying up luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Goetz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Not sure the hotel adquately advertises that fact -- which can be a BIG issue. Otherwise, it's next to the highway but surprisingly quiet. CLEAN. Pleasant staff. Offers breakfast -- which isn't fancy, but perfectly adequate. Worked for my situation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outoford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a great room with a great view of the ballpark. Good places to eat.Close to downtown.Parking was right next to ballpark. Lots of things to do.There was a restaurant right in the hotel.There is an old fort just minutes away from the hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomasfamily12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We are long time Marriott Club Members. We always select a Marriott property for our stays when traveling. When we received an invitation to a family member's wedding in Ft Wayne, we made reservations far in advance. When we arrived, we were unable to have the type of room that we had reserved because they were on upper floors and there is no elevator. We have disabilities, and are seniors and we could not manage those stairs. We were given a first floor room and we had to enter through the back of the hotel and schlep our suitcases in what was almost a maze, inside, outside, inside to get to our room. Once there, the air would not adjust correctly, the commode would not readily flush, the beds were uncomfortable, the bed covers and linens were thin and with the air not working correctly I was freezing, My husband slept only because he was exhausted from the flight from Texas to Indiana. I did not sleep well at all. It was late when we settled in so we did not call the desk as we would not have had the energy to move rooms or wait for maintenance people. We understand that sometimes things break and need maintenance but they had to have known about those issues before they put us in that room.
The following morning, we checked out and moved to a Hampton Inn about 1 city block away and the place was great. To add insult to injury, the manager spoke to us when we checked out and asked if we had called to get those things fixed and spoke to us like we were ignorant first time travelers and then adjusted the price down. We appreciated the price adjustment but even that amount was not worth the experience. I stress again that we were disappointed because Marriott properties are always great for us. As we left, I noticed that Marriott leases that property so they do not operate it. I can not imagine why a good company like Marriott would put their reputation at risk with this kind of arrangement. We had two other couples driving down from New York to stay at the same place and when we called them, they just cancelled Courtyard and went to Hampton and were very pleased with the outcome. My last point would be that our Senior rate at Hampton was about 1/3 the Senior Rate at Courtyard. Unbelievable!!

Room Tip: If you have any kind of difficulty getting around, be careful of what room you accept. There are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Impac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stopped at the Courtyard after finding a coupon in a travel book. Friendly staff accommodated us with a king size bed room. Thank you note and candy bars greeted us in the room. Room seemed newly redecorated. Even though close to interstate we heard no traffic noise inside. The courtyard area was lighted at night and had seating areas near the path. Both indoor and outdoor pools were available, along with a hot tub. Complimentary bottled beverage was provided when asked. Plenty of fresh towels and hot water for morning showers. Construction activity was going on at the hotel but did not interfere with our visit. One of the staff went out of his way to help open doors as we were leaving. Also, received a handwritten thank you note for staying there. Very great place to stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Fort Wayne with my extended family. Unfortunately the pool was closed due to unexpected repair. I expressed our concern for needing accommodations with a pool since we were traveling with several children. The front desk staff gave my entire family free passes to the local YMCA and saved the day! The rest of the staff we met were all friendly and extremely helpful. We will be back to stay again! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

In Fort Wayne for work.....nice hotel with many places to eat around it.....about 15 minutes from the airport.....has an indoor/outdoor pool.....adequate exercise room.....room was clean and the air conditioning worked on a hot and humid day.....very nice staff at the front desk.....breakfast is a buffet, but you have to pay for it.....it is worth it if you feel like eating in the hotel....I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Wayne hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Wayne Inn & Suites North
8.2 mi away
Best Western Luxbury Inn Fort Wayne
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Fort Wayne
Super 8 Fort Wayne
#35 of 44 in Fort Wayne
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne
Candlewood Suites Fort Wayne
#26 of 44 in Fort Wayne
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fort Wayne - North
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Wayne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Wayne

Address: 5750 Challenger Pkwy, Fort Wayne, IN 46818-1712 (Formerly Courtyard Fort Wayne)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Fort Wayne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Fort Wayne
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Wayne 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is closed due to a fire and will not be reopening until late 2017. Opening date will be posted as we come close to reopening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Wayne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Wayne Hotel Fort Wayne
Fort Wayne Marriott
Fort Wayne Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing