We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back in time”

Historic Artcraft Theatre
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Franklin
Attraction details
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you happen to be traveling thru Franklin, Indiana and want an opportunity to relive your childhood, make it a point to see a film at the historic Artcraft theater. Built in 1923, the theater is run by volunteers and shows classic films that have to be at least ten years old or older. The admission is very reasonable, the popcorn is "locally grown and internationally known" and the atmosphere is just like you might remember if you grew up in the 50's and 60's. You will not be disappointed !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a wonderful experience. We were there for the Beer and Bluegrass Festival in Franklin. the fact that they have restored this theater is amazing. Just a real step back in time. Wish it were here in our town in Lawrenceburg KY.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Derbycity2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Old Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Loved the old theatre and the the people working there were GREAT. We were to late to see the show but we were allowed to walk in and see it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JHJBJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The place to watch a movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We love the authentic style of the theater and the family atmosphere. The movies shown are not new releases but classic fun and family movies. You have to go if given the chance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Theatre on southside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've been a huge fan of this theater since I was a young girl back when they played first run movies. I remember seeing childhood favorites like "The Lion King" and "Muppet Treasure Island" which are great memories. Now they show old classics like "The Wizard of Oz" and "Singin' in the Rain" which I have grown to love attending to on the weekends. Everything is done by business sponsorships and volunteer work which is amazing. They have good prices on refreshments and will be cheaper than big business theater chains. The restoration group will not only restore this historic theatre, but housing inside downtown Franklin. They keep making everything well maintained so "The Artcraft" will never deteriorate. Everyone should give this theater a chance and experience it for themselves. I think seeing any Christmas movie in December is an experience when they fill the theater!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pamcat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Artcraft Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Historic Artcraft Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing