We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better places to lose your money.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Lick Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
French Lick Springs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There are better places to lose your money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

I came here because of the casino. I love the slot machines. I've been to several casinos all over the country and these are the "tightest" slots in the country. I really love the Wheel of Fortune slots. I'll play them for hours. The quarter and dollar versions. At least I'd play them for hours at other casinos. The whole theory behind the game is to get the "SPIN" to show up in the third line. Then you can spin the wheel for money anywhere from 20 to 1000 credits. (Dollars or Quarters) I got the SPIN about 30 times and not once did I ever win over 75 (quarters that time). On the dollar slot it never hit over 40 (dollars). I decided to watch others play and the wheel never gave anyone over 75 (quarters) or 50 (dollars). All in all I tried over 30 different slot machines. It seemed like they were all programmed to give you a small win and then whittle your money away. I talked to several people who said the same thing. The only person I talked to that had anything good to say about the slots was an elderly lady who was "over the moon" that she had won $20 on the penny slots. I was happy for her too. As for myself, after four hours I was down over $600. I knew I was beaten and left.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradleyThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    300
    86
    41
    30
See reviews for
279
426
21
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

My husband and I just returned from French Lick with our 12 year old and 10 month old. We had a hard time deciding between French Lick Resort and West Baden, each are just beautiful. French Lick is more child friendly and West Baden is more formal. if you are getting away for a romantic weekend for two I would recommend West Baden and if you are bringing the family French Lick Resort is for you. The room at French Lick was luxurious but small. If you have two or more children or are dealing with a crib you may want to consider a suite or adjoining rooms.The service was fantastic and their staff definitely had the southern hospitality. We went horseback riding and went to both spas. We had a great time and will definietly be back. The history surrounding the two hotels is very interesting the grounds are beautiful. You can't help but feel like you have stepped back in time to the early 1900's.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferHighland_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

I have been to the French Lick hotel and casino, played golf, rode horses, and visited the West Baden Hotel...and loved it each time. Oh what a history of the area! Each time I enjoyed it as much as the first time! The golf courses by Ross and Dye (the new one) are works of art...and hard!, but I liked the challenge. The people/staff are friendly, and made my stays wonderful, even when I lost at the casino. Yes, the hotel is from an era long gone, but the restoration is unbelievable. The new indoor water park is a nice addition to the area, although I have not stayed there...yet. I highly recommend French Lick...an amazing place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raynor911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

This is our third visit to French Lick. We were surprised when we checked in to find our bathroom window open in 40 degrees. Once we closed it we found out why - the room reeked of mildew. This room also seemed smaller than previous visits. We love to take the shuttle to West Baden but this time we waited over 35 minutes with no explanation or second shuttle available. On check in we were treated well and told to ask on check out about a discounted stay since we missed our discount coupon date by 4 days - we couldn't get there eariler due to schedules. Billy W in the casino was very nice when a bank of slot machines "crashed" while we were playing them. Apparently during construction somebody flipped the wrong switch. On check out, even though we were the only ones checking out at the time, the woman acted like we couldn't leave fast because we were wasting her time even though she was doing nothing else. We all sent back comment cards a month ago but have heard nothing from them. The new golf course looks like it will be a great compliment to the other two courses. The new water park/hotel across the street may get our business next.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goshenites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville KY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

This lovingly restored hotel in rural Indiana is very welcoming. Valet parking and Bellhops are quickly available. We had a problem with reservation of a 2 bedroom request--they had no more but quickly shifted to offer us 2 king rooms for the same price in the Spring Wing on the 7th floor. Bathroom was very spacious and clean. Bath amenities upscale but no hair dryer. HDTV, coffee pot, extra pillows in closet and 2 large windows overlooking rolling hills behind resort added comfort. No frig or microwave so bring what you need as this is a very rural area (CVS, JayC Grocery,Gasoline are available). The Grand Buffet was $15.75 for Sunday Brunch and was overflowing with great choices including made to order waffles and omelets. We had dinner in the Power Plant restaurant and enjoyed the selection of apetizers, salads, burgers and sandwiches.If you join the Casino rewards program they offer via mail promotions expecially for lower weekday hotel rates. Fall/Winter is off season.
Check their website for a full list of recreation and shopping offerings. Don't miss the shuttle to West Baden Hotel adjoining the property. Lovingly restored tile floors, an incredible atrium,
and beautiful marble everywhere. This is really a special resort if you love art and history...West Baden once housed the Catholic Religious order of Jesuits! Remote and restful!

Helpful?
4 Thank karenfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

We met 3 other couples for a weekend away and were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the resort and grounds around it. The buffet was adequate and not overpriced. The 1825 Steakhouse was outrageously priced and could have been a nice dinner if the service was better. It seems that all the employees are missing a certain polish that goes with a nice resort with some high priced restaurants. The front desk was okay but had a hard time checking us out because we all had gas rebate packages. At the steakhouse, we had to request water and steak knives while our hot food was getting cold. The complimentary shuttle to West Baden Resort and the French LIck Winery was great. It was cold and raining and we were dropped off at the doors of both spots. We are non smokers and the casino was well ventilated with a non smoking room too. We had complaints and compliments about the weekend but all agreed we would go back!

  • Liked — It was only 2 hours from our home.
  • Disliked — The service from wait staff.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

They advertise a spay experience but staying there is not nice:
A) the rooms are small; B) the food at the buffet was TERRIBLE (Golden Corral has better food) and there is a long wait to be seated for breakfast; C) the water in the indoor pool was not heated in November: D) the staff does not wear their uniforms in a neat and clean manner; E) the housekeeping staff woke us early on Sunday since they go walking through the halls using their 2 way radios very loud. TERRIBLE Experience will never go back again. I am happy to be back home and be able to eat a nice meal the hotel food was TERRIBLE!!!!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the food was terrrible; the music played near the indoor pool was terrible
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LikesToTravel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Lick
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Lick
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
20.4 mi away
Days Inn Jasper
Days Inn Jasper
#2 of 5 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lick Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lick Springs Hotel

Property: French Lick Springs Hotel
Address: 8670 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432-9389 (Formerly French Lick Springs Resort)
Region: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Lick Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French Lick Resort Casino is a $500 million historic restoration and casino development that includes French Lick Springs Hotel, French Lick Casino and West Baden Springs Hotel. This premier resort destination features 689 guest rooms and suites; 42,000-square-foot casino; 45-holes of golf, including fully restored Donald Ross Course and the new, 18-hole Pete Dye Course (opening Spring 2009); two full-service spas with a combined 36 treatment rooms and an array of dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your French Lick Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Lick Hotel French Lick
French Lick Springs Resort
French Lick Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing