We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
French Lick Springs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Certificate of Excellence
Indy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

I took my husband there for his birthday to the Kenny G concert , wow it was just great
we loved everything about the hotel . The food was great, We even ran into Kenny G the next day after the concert in the lobby of West Badin, we talked with him and took pictures we look forward in going back again.

The Moores

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Baby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    302
    86
    41
    30
See reviews for
289
433
22
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My company recently took our management team to this location for a team buliding offsite and we were blown away. This was a great trip that really pulled our team together; it create great synergy within our team. We actually saw quality and productivity improvements go up as a result of this event. We generated a plethora of cost savings for the site. French Lick made the difference!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackWelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

I stayed for two nights in August. I was glad to see that they are no longer charging the "resort fee". I used coupons for the room rates, which is good because they were $180 on week nights without discount. I love the history of the town and hotel and I think they could really make this great, they just have awhile to go. The rooms are very nice with the most comfortable beds EVER!!! The rooms are small but they do offer many suites that are much bigger. This was my third time staying and my complaints are still the same the prices and lack of food options. The buffet is expensive for what it is; Golden Coral has double the selection for half the price. We had dinner at Diamond Jims which is in the casino and it always deliver, good food reasonable price. We did go to the pool one day, which is small and crowded, I got a drink which came out of a machine for $7.00, and needless to say I only got one. If you are staying for more than two nights I would recommend bringing snacks and maybe a few sandwiches in a cooler. The town is within walking distance, but it just doesn't have anything. We went to the winery which is fabulous and now has a restaurant, we did not eat there but the food looked AMAZING, the prices were right too. The pizza near the arcade was very good also. All in all it is fun and a nice get away. The rooms do have shampoo, lotion, and conditoner. Many have stated that there was a lack of a hairdryer, ours next to our TV with the Iron and extra pillows.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aconner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indpls
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

I've stayed at French Lick Springs Hotel on and off for 40 years but this was the first time to stay at West Baden. Truly gorgeous and if you are a history buff it's like living it when you sit on the veranda.

Pros/cons vs staying at the sister hotel...West Baden caters to an older quieter crowd and we did not see as many families, however you can use their pool but they can't use the one at West Baden. The hotel room and bathrooms were 2-3x the size of the French LIck resort, well appointed and much more attention to detail to period detail. We are usually fairly cramped in at French Lick, but not here and it rivaled a 5 star NYC hotel I've stayed at.

We were last there 2 years ago and they have since added a kids program which was nice but steep. Yikes!! http://www.frenchlick.com/recreation/justForKids/index.jsp Currently they are running a special bogo with the kids prgram which range from $20-50/3 hour of activities run by enthusiastic college kids My 7 yo enjoyed it tremendously!

All in all with the addition o the kids program it is a more well rounded resort now however food in the area remains a huge problem as there are no restaurants except Subway and DQ and the onsite ones leave a little to be desired. A Dennys is supposed to be opening in the next year.

We plan to go back in the fall for the train robbery event which my kids love.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wam3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

The hotel is very nice. They have done a great job with the Renovation. You can tell the hotel has tons of history, but it does not show its age. The staff was very friendly and there if you needed them. The room has a comfortable bed, nice bathroom, and it was a good size. The pool there is nice but is small for the size of hotel. It was not overused however. The Casino was actually quite surprising. It was good sized with tons of slots and an adequate number of table games. It’s great to find live dealers on dry land in the middle of Indiana! Breakfast buffet was good, nothing amazing but it was good. The 1908 Steakhouse was a little disappointing. For a “nice” restaurant I thought the food was just “ok” and the service was the same. For that price and type of restaurant I expected a little more. Bowling in the hotel is very neat. Pizza down there is excellent. One warning about bowling, you keep score by hand. They should spring for an automated scoring system! If you want to get away from it all and relax for a couple of days and do some good gambling it’s great. If you are wanting a “Resort” go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We've stayed here several times and each time enjoy it more. The history is fascinating and the rooms are sooo comfy. Big beautiful lake nearby if you enjoy boating. You can walk to the casino through the hotel. The furnishings of the hotel are spectacular, but make sure you take the shuttle to West Baden to enjoy the history there. Each time we go we discover something new to do. Loved sitting in the comfy rockers on the huge front porch. Love this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwin7831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

My wife and I spent four days at the hotel with friends from Texas. Hotel, food, service and casino were all first class. Our only complaints were with the golf experiences. First, the old Donald Ross course was under renovation; fairways were almost completely lacking of grass and there were a lot of workers who repeatedly got in the way. They gave us all a break on the greens fees, so that helped.
We tried to play the new Pete Dye course that opened in April of this year. We were absolutely shocked when we were told the individual, 18 hole greens fees were $350 per person! Since there was no one playing on the course at all that day it seems ridiculous to charge that kind of rate at a new course in southern Indiana. How can this possibly make economic sense? We have paid that type of fee for places like Pebble Beach, but French Lick has neither the Pacific Ocean, tradition or history of other courses with this high a fee. What gives?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfstercolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Lick
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Lick
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jasper
1.0 mi away
West Baden Springs Hotel
West Baden Springs Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Baden Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lick Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lick Springs Hotel

Property: French Lick Springs Hotel
Address: 8670 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432-9389 (Formerly French Lick Springs Resort)
Region: United States > Indiana > French Lick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in French Lick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Lick Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French Lick Resort Casino is a $500 million historic restoration and casino development that includes French Lick Springs Hotel, French Lick Casino and West Baden Springs Hotel. This premier resort destination features 689 guest rooms and suites; 42,000-square-foot casino; 45-holes of golf, including fully restored Donald Ross Course and the new, 18-hole Pete Dye Course (opening Spring 2009); two full-service spas with a combined 36 treatment rooms and an array of dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Lick Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Lick Hotel French Lick
French Lick Springs Resort
French Lick Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing