We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Night”
Review of Putnam Inn

Putnam Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Greencastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: American
Description: The Putnam Inn- famous for its Broasted Chicken served up fresh since 1972! For three decades, people have enjoyed home-style meals at this family-owned and operated Greencastle eatery with friends and family.
Restaurant details
Description: The Putnam Inn- famous for its Broasted Chicken served up fresh since 1972! For three decades, people have enjoyed home-style meals at this family-owned and operated Greencastle eatery with friends and family.
Greencastle, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friday Night”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

MY Husband and I enjoy Friday nights, and the occasional lunch at the Putnam Inn! Friday night crab legs are very reasonably priced. The roast beef is pretty good as well. Greta local busy Friday night stop.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaraNB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Move on”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were getting hungry after some time in the Rockville area and heading toward Indy. We figured a college town ought to have a good place to eat. This was the first place we found. First, the waiter was pretty clueless. When asked what beers they had, he lost track after "Bud, Bud Light...." By then I found the list on the menu. This down-home family Hoosier restaurant apparently is unaware that there are lots of great brews made in Indiana. I drank water. My wife got the beet and goat cheese salad, which she liked. I got the southern fried catfish and it was thoroughly uninspired. The sweet potato fries are compressed potatoes shaped into fries. The only tasty thing on the plate were the hush puppies. You can probably do better in Greencastle. If not, stay hungry until you can eat in Indianapolis.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidinCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Buffet”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We went there for the buffet, it was just ok, not great but not bar either. Just didn't stand out at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abbeyroad2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greencastle, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Their fried chicken and homemade cinnamon rolls are the best but the rest is mediocre. And sometimes you have to wait for the chicken.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greencastle, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just an average buffet style”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Yes, you can order off a menu also. The food is the average "institutional" type of food not really prepared in the kitchen. A lot of heated canned goods.

The price is okay, if a touch high for the style of food you get. The main eat course is cut by someone on the end of one food line, but if you want a lot you must keep asking "another slice please."

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Putnam Inn also viewed

 
Greencastle, IN
Greencastle, IN
 

Been to Putnam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing