We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place”
Review of Nisbet Inn

Nisbet Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Haubstadt
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Haubstadt, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool place”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A fun, out of the way, place. Beer choices are very limited, but you can get decent pub grub. The staff is always friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best country bar around”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Always quality food, great service, and spotlessly clean. Last night we had a more than pleasant waitress who went out of her way to see that we enjoyed our evening. Don't miss Nisbet.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over Rated”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Over rated, even for a small town place. Ribs were obviously reheated, dry and grey. Service was average, server seemed to have more tables than she could handle. No one at table was impressed with their food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwelveBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elberfeld, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“World's Coldest Beer, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We met at the Nisbet Inn on a Friday night. We had a reservation, though it probably wasn't necessary. The place had few customers, but the reservation was handy to make sure we had a table large enough for our group. The beer was very cold, though I was disappointed that Miller Lite wasn't on tap. They had Bud, Bud Light, Sam Adams seasonal, Shiner Bock, and Coors Light on tap. The beer is served in frozen fish bowls, pitchers or glasses and is reasonably priced. They had a decent selection of bottled beers as well.

Appetizers were the usual bar fare, with the exception of the Beer Cheese. We had to try that to say we had. It's a stinky cheese served with horseradish, Smug 'n' Good mustard, pickles and onion, eaten on crackers. Not as bad as some let on, however I'll probably opt for the other appetizer that is unique from other restaurants. Holding to the German roots of the area, they have a bologna and cheese appetizer plate, served with the same other items as the stinky cheese plate, but with pepper cheese instead.

For dinner, the 10 oz pork chop that was on special looked like something that would be served in an institutional setting. It had a hard skin/rind on it. While it had decent smoked flavor, it wasn't what was expected. Spicy fries were typical shoestring fries. The ribs were tender and tasty. A small rib platter was $13.95 and came with two sides. Creamy cole slaw was fair at best, but the baked beans were good.

The waitress was very pleasant and took great care of us. Even when she had to politely ask us to move to the bar area so she could clean up her last table and go home, she handled it very well. While the menu says that tables of 8 or more will be on one check, she didn't have to be asked to split the checks. A 17% gratuity was added, but she certainly earned her tip.

This would be a great place for a get together over some very cold beer. The food was good enough to enjoy yourself, but nothing to write home about. It's not far off I-64, and I would suggest it as a very good alternative to the chain restaurants and troughs along the interstate. It'd make a great pit stop while traveling. The food will be better than anything you'll get at the fast food joints or buffets, in a better environment. It's at least as good as Cracker Barrel.

While we visited with other couples, this would be a fine place to take the family as well. The bar is in the middle of the dining areas, but everyone was very respectful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CampinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutsonville, IL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Rustic Country Inn”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We ate here for the first time today. It's all about the great atmosphere of a 100-year-old-inn. Definitely off the beaten track and very unique and rustic. We had the cheese appetizer (very strong flavored cheese, I loved it! served with horseradish and pickles - a must). We both had BBQ and it was decent, probably not the best BBQ we ever had but it was such a neat place and we enjoyed the ambience so much, we are not complaining! There were several other good looking items on the menu besides BBQ, next time we will try something else! Because there will definitely be a next time. Service was excellent too - our waitress was VERY friendly and attentive, kept our drinks filled and table bussed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nisbet Inn also viewed

 

Been to Nisbet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing