We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western University Inn At Valparaiso(Valparaiso)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
54
31
10
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
31
10
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflescrown pointpet chargevery nice stayfree breakfastnice hotelroom was cleangreat place to staystaff was friendlymotelwisconsininterstate
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times since it opened, most recently at the end of December 2012. The thing that impresses me most is that this hotel is still as new and well kept as it was when it opened. The lobby was clean, smelled nice, and was inviting when we walked in (complete with a cute Christmas tree and stockings by the fireplace). Our room was clean and well kept. The wi-fi doesn't work so well in the rooms, but they do have a cable you can plug in to a laptop that works well. Hopefully the wi-fi is something they'll work on upgrading in the future (it does work well in the common areas). Breakfast was great. It was a pretty standard Comfort Inn breakfast, but the area was clean and well stocked and there was an attendant who checked in regularly to make sure things were going well. It was slow when we were there and I don't think there were many people staying there, but I was impressed by how much this hotel has still maintained attention to detail. I would happily stay there again and would encourage others to check it out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kermit753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times on the way to/back from Chicago from Ohio. Super clean with very friendly and accommodating staff who go so far as to call the room a few minutes after you arrive to ensure everything is in order. Have not used the pool, etc, but the facility is clean and well managed, and the level of service, quality of mattresses, pillows, bathroom, etc. is worth the approx. $90 or so you'll spend to stay here. Stayed 3 nights at a Quality Inn just outside Chicago for around $60/night, and would have gladly payed the extra $$ to have the experience we've consistently had over the past few years of staying at this location.
Decent continental breakfast, nothing spectacular, all of the expected items, but it's the service and cleanliness that brings us back.

Room Tip: Another location happy to work with you on ensuring you stay in an area that suits you. In this case, we asked to stay away from other guests if possible to get a good night's sleep for our 2 year old. Super friendly and accommodating.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmmiller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

No one will ever confuse a Comfort Inn with a Four Seasons, right? But this hotel succeeds completely at being what it sets out to be. The place still feels new and fresh; the staff were very friendly and seem to genuinely care about their work; the breakfast buffet was in line with what you'd expect -- pleasant if not gourmet; and at the price the whole experience was a bargain. If only the pool were inside I'd give it five stars. Much better than the Days Inn across the street (I've stayed at both properties more than once).

Hotels in rural areas can present dicey choices -- you will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimverbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed overnight and we chose to stay in their suite (rather than a regular room) as 1. it wasn't overly expensive and 2. the hotel does not have a hot tub and we were looking forward to relaxing after a long day of driving. The suite was very nice and roomy a even had a little fireplace that threw heat. The bathroom had a huge walk in shower, and the jacuzzi tub was heavenly!! There isn't much to choose from in the area around the hotel in general, but if you're feeling extra lazy Pizza Hut does deliver in. The hotel's continental breakfast opened early (6am) and had quite a varied selection- from batter for fresh waffles to hot eggs and sausage to cereal. I was very happy we chose to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keldozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were looking for a place to stay south of Chicago to break up the drive. This Comfort Inn is just off 65 about 14 miles south of the hustle and bustle of Merrillville. The premises are quite new. Everything was very clean. Breakfast food was good. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews