We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Howe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Needing an overnight stop on the way from Sandusky to Chicago we picked this because it was convenient to the tollroad.
It was exactly what we wanted: easy to find, big clean room, quiet with adecent breakfast at a good price.
We weren't there long enough to use the pool but it looked fine. The staff were polite and helpful and there is a Chinese restaurant next door which serves huge portions!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wherever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments and business. Our staff works hard to provide an unforgettable experience for every guest. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. If you plan to travel the Indiana Toll Road in the future, we hope that you will stop at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Howe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

I recently stayed 3 nights here. This motel is located directly off Indiana Tollroad 80/90
Exit 121 on State Road 9. You are very close to Sturgis, Michigan and the Indiana Shipshewana
Amish country and the small charming Indiana towns of Howe (Howe School) and LaGrange.
It is in the heart of the northern Indiana lake area. The motel looks like it is in the middle
of nowhere but don't be fooled. The motel is so spotless it looks brand new. It has been
managed by years by an extremely hard working efficient family/staff. Wonderful comfy
bedding and rooms. Hot full breakfast bar and clean sparkling heated inside pool. There is a chinese restaurant located within walking distance. It is an older restaurant - been there for years but serves delicious food. The Howe Restaurant will deliver good home cooked food. It is a great motel to meet family or friends and tour the Amish towns. There is a wonderful cheese factory in Shipshewana. LaGrange has a new hospital and there are always
Amish buggies parked downtown by the courthouse. Even Notre Dame is only 40 miles
away. There are a few other good motels nearby but once you stay at Howe Best Western
you won't want to stay anywhere else. It is a PLUS, PLUS!
P.S. Don't forget the ice cream shop in Howe during the summer months and next door
to the ice cream shop is the ARK bookstore, a great book store, used to raise money for
the local animal shelter.

Room Tip: 3 floors but with a convenient elevator so all rooms are easy to get to. I stayed on the north sid...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sah38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for such a thorough review. Our area does have a lot to offer for a passing traveler or even for a long weekend getaway. We are located in a nice rural area, but we are not far away from attractions and sight-seeing just like you mentioned. Again, thank you for your comments and I hope that you can stay at our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel was average. The indoor pool was clean and the room was basic but clean. The breakfast was plain and nothing exceptional. A big vat of yogurt in a squeeze pump, no individual yogurt cups, bland waffles and a few other options with nothing really standing out as tasting good. After a few bites we decided to leave and have a much better breakfast at a restaurant in Shipshewana. The staff was friendly. It's an okay clean place if you want to stay a night, but it is not exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoosierFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are disappointed that you were not satisfied with our hot breakfast bar. Your comment is valuable to us and we hope you can stay with us again so that we can provide you with a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We just had one of the nicest stays in a HUGE king suite overlooking a very lovely indoor pool. This is a very nice, well maintained motel and we will definitely be staying here again when we travel I80.

Room Tip: This property has "family suites" available at very reasonable prices.. Great when travel...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impalacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We work extremely hard to maintain our hotel's appearance and are excited to hear your positive remarks. We hope that you travel down the Indiana Toll Road in the near future so that we can provide you with another satisfying experience! Again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Helpful staff. Great room, beds and pool! Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind comments! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope that you can stay with us in the future. Again, thank you for your comments. They are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Easy access to the turnpike, with no road noise. In such great shape I thought it had just opened...it's eight years old!
Clean is an understatement and a great breakfast selection. They even have hot sauce for your scrambled eggs!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide the best accomodations for each and every guest. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope that you are able to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here four nights, and were very satisfied with the service, the staff, and the value. they had a nice indoor pool which we used, and a decent hot breakfast. Better/stronger coffee would have been nice, along more variety on the breakfast bar. Ashley was a very friendly and helpful night desk staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this review.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howe
10.2 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
9.9 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 5 in Sturgis
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Howe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Howe Inn

Address: 8080 N State Road 9, Howe, IN 46746-9822 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Howe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Howe
Price Range: £64 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Howe Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shipshewana Flea Market is just one reason so many guests flock to the Best Western Howe Inn hotel, but there's so much more to explore. Notre Dame draws a big crowd, especially for football games and special events. The Michiana Events Center regularly hosts world-class shows. The local military school, Howe School, is another reason this Howe hotel is committed to being a family-friendly, comfortable destination. We're just north of I80/90 and are located on a major route between Chicago and New York. The pool at this Howe hotel is sublime and the perfect place to relax after a day of bargain hunting. We also work closely with the Amish community to make your stay special. Staff members at this Howe hotel are happy to book an Amish buggy tour with dinner at the Amish House. If something outdoors sounds tempting, the region is known for fantastic canoeing, hunting, and fishing. The surrounding wildlife areas make it easy to get away from it all. Warmth and hospitality in clean, comfortable rooms is our priority. Many guests choose this Howe hotel because of stellar online reviews, but they keep returning for the personal service. Touches like our complimentary breakfast spread are standard here. Enjoy a variety of breakfast favorites like sizzling hot eggs and waffles, pastries, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt, chilled juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Whether you're in town to relax, take care of business or start an adventure, you deserve some pampering. Best Western Plus Howe Inn hotel has everything you need for an unforgettable getaway. Reserve a cozy room at Best Western Plus Howe Inn and invite some spoiling into your vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Howe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing