We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable distance from Shipshewana, Indiana...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Howe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

When visiting Shipshewana, Indiana, accommodations were unavailable, therefore, we traveled to Sturgis, Michigan, for the night. The room was clean, however, you could see "dust" where the wall meets the floor! The shower was exceptional, but the water was "hard." The morning breakfast was of good hot and cold varieties with even the offering of French Toast.

Room Tip: Entrance to the hotel, off of the highway, was confusing and difficult to find... especially at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 325Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for being a guest of BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn. It’s simply wonderful that you enjoy your experiences enough that you feel compelled to tell others about it. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. We will try to improve in the areas that you have brought to our attention.Thank you again, and we hope to see you back here real soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is a great place to spend the night if you are traveling across the northern US. It is comfortable, extremely clean and has a caring staff. The rooms seemed to be more spacious than at comparable hotels. The indoor pool area was very nice and provides a respite from a long day of travel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Darya1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

It was our pleasure to be able to serve you and we are glad you took the time out to leave your feedback. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and enjoy providing our traditional style of excellence to every guest. Thank you for staying with us and we truly hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Nice staff. Currently upgrading amenities so some of the rooms were not available. They upgraded me to a King Jacuzzi suite. Breakfast is decent. Some hot food. Quiet place to stay. Convenient location for Shipshewana and Sturgis hospital right off of the Indiana Turnpike.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and leave your valuable feedback. We are very pleased we could provide you with a quiet room and a variety of items on our breakfast buffet. We have added some gluten -free items to our menu We value the opinions of our guests as it helps us to better ourselves in our never ending pursuit to provide the best service for each and every guest. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Excellent accommodations. Wonderfully comfortable bed...as good as at home. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. We have stayed here many times and do so every time we return to the area. Although this is a rural area, there are large cities within an hour in several directions and decent small, independent restaurants within a five minute drive. Minutes from the IN Toll Road/I-80. We would highly recommend it to anyone else traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for leaving your valuable feedback and kind words. It is very important that each and every guest feels comfortable and enjoys being at BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn and we are glad we were able to provide you with that experience. We are happy that we are your home away from home. Thank you again for your great review and we hope you will be able to come back and visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is my first experience with this hotel and was very pleased with the stay. Staff at Check-in/Check-out was friendly. The included breakfast had warm and cold offerings. I didn't use the pool and it seemed small, but for the price it looked like those using it enjoyed it. Good wi-fi signal in the room. Beds had the comfort soft top that is popular these days. Room had good TV channel selection. I'm just not sure what makes this a Best Western "Plus" and how much extra I paid for the "Plus". We have another reservation already scheduled. With five hotels located at this Indiana Turnpike Exit, try this one first.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 446DavidL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn. We really appreciate you telling others how much you enjoyed staying here. We are looking forward to see you when your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Couldn't have been anymore pleased with the Best Western-Howe MI. It met all of our needs. We had a great night of sleep and enjoyed the breakfast the next morning. Every employee we ran into were very friendly and helpful! We have stayed there every time we go to Shipshewana even thought there are lots of hotels to stay at that are closer to our destination. Have also enjoyed the swimming pool on other stays which is always very refreshing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

I thank you for the outstanding endorsement of our property. We pride ourselves on keeping things in good shape. We appreciate you for choosing to stay with us on your visit. Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and we look forward to hosting you again some time soon. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Nice location,right off the highway. Standard rooms, but very comfy beds. Good continental breakfast- eggs, waffles, ham, sausage gravy and biscuits, muffins, toast and dry cereals. And a decent amount of seating. We didnt have time to try it out, but it looked like a nice indoor pool. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwhowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Howe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words, and for taking the time to share your opinion of our hotel with other potential travelers. It is very nice to hear when a guest enjoys so many aspects of their stay with us. Thank you, especially, for mentioning your satisfaction with our complimentary breakfast. With many hotels only offering a few things, it is nice to hear that our efforts to offer more variety have not been overlooked. We have added some gluten –fee items since your last visit. We certainly hope to see you again the next time you visit the Howe Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howe
9.2 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
9.9 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
926 reviews
10.2 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Goshen
Comfort Inn Goshen
#6 of 6 in Goshen
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 5 in Sturgis
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Howe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Howe Inn

Address: 8080 N State Road 9, Howe, IN 46746-9822 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Howe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Howe
Price Range: £68 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Howe Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shipshewana Flea Market is just one reason so many guests flock to the Best Western Howe Inn hotel, but there's so much more to explore. Notre Dame draws a big crowd, especially for football games and special events. The Michiana Events Center regularly hosts world-class shows. The local military school, Howe School, is another reason this Howe hotel is committed to being a family-friendly, comfortable destination. We're just north of I80/90 and are located on a major route between Chicago and New York. The pool at this Howe hotel is sublime and the perfect place to relax after a day of bargain hunting. We also work closely with the Amish community to make your stay special. Staff members at this Howe hotel are happy to book an Amish buggy tour with dinner at the Amish House. If something outdoors sounds tempting, the region is known for fantastic canoeing, hunting, and fishing. The surrounding wildlife areas make it easy to get away from it all. Warmth and hospitality in clean, comfortable rooms is our priority. Many guests choose this Howe hotel because of stellar online reviews, but they keep returning for the personal service. Touches like our complimentary breakfast spread are standard here. Enjoy a variety of breakfast favorites like sizzling hot eggs and waffles, pastries, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt, chilled juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Whether you're in town to relax, take care of business or start an adventure, you deserve some pampering. Best Western Plus Howe Inn hotel has everything you need for an unforgettable getaway. Reserve a cozy room at Best Western Plus Howe Inn and invite some spoiling into your vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Howe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing