We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful but noisy property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Howe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Howe
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Howe
Certificate of Excellence
Peabody, MA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A beautiful but noisy property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Outwardly the Holiday Inn Express in Howe IN is a beautiful property. The grounds and the rooms are meticulously maintained. The staff is very pleasant. The rates are a tad high for the market yet typical for Holiday Inn Express with typical discounts available.

But...

It has got to be one of the noisiest properties that I have ever stayed at. Not from the guests, mind you, but from the physical plant. Every time a door would close, either on my floor or below me, the building would shake. Management needs to find a way to prevent the door closers from slamming the doors into the frame.

I arrived late and tried to sleep late. This was impossible due to the constant slamming of doors from the various rooms. I was planning on asking for a late check out and trying to sleep in. By 9AM my nerves were shot.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Queen suites" particularly those with room numbers 100-200-300. They are locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank projectorfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    33
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
27
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were in the area for a family reunion and chose to stay here this year. Overall, very nice. Our room was very clean, and had a fridge and microwave, the facilities were well kept. It included a very good hot breakfast. Had minor trouble accessing the free wi-fi. Only problem, not the hotels fault, were the kids from a youth group that were noisy at night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, NE.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We are thankful for finding this great place when we were so tired. They had a very fair fee. Especially for being off the interstate. They were professional and polite. We stayed on the 24th of July and the girl's working in the evening and the next day treated us like we were royalty. Thank-you girls. We will be back!

Room Tip: Check for coupon at a rest area nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pancho49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I won a gift certificate from my work for this hotel. Which was suprisingly pet friendly. It was so nice to be able to take our dog on a vacation. As an executive housekeeper myself I did a intense room check to check for the cleanliness of our room. I was glad that all I found one minor problem our room was so clean! All items in the room worked great- the ac froze me out of my room. The 3rd shift lady was so nice to give me extra blankets that she had to walk to the other side of the hotel to get. The family suite took care of all our needs. This is a great place for a family stay- it was so quiet despite being next to the toll road!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turbo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

I've stayed at this Holiday Inn Express twice within the past month while traveling with my daughter between NY state and Chicago. Never had a reservation. It is very conveniently located off of I-90. Both times our room backed out onto the highway, but the soundproofing was pretty good--the traffic noise did not affect our sleep. The place is pretty basic but clean. Breakfast was decent and hot and fresh. One tip--make sure you pick up one of those coupon saver books at a service stop in Indiana or Ohio. Use the coupon! We did (both times) and were charged only $64.95 plus tax. While checking in this last time, the couple in front of us (who did not have a coupon) were told the AAA rate was $117! That is too much in my mind and I would not pay that price for a room here. But at $65, it's a deal!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsabjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We were on our way to Chicago and needed a place to stay. My daughter found this on the map and we decided to stop for the night. We didn't have reservations, which I always have to have, and we were placed in a nice room. Staff was very friendly. I would stay here again if I would be traveling out that way.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maynyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed only one night - but are thrilled that this chain is pet friendly. Our small dog is no bother to anyone. Quick check in. Very comfortable room/bed. We did not eat breakfast at the property because we were looking forward to having breakfast at our favorite Amish restaurant. Only 15 minutes to Shipshewana!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieq50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howe
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
10.0 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
9.7 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Howe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Howe
Address: 45 W 750 N, Howe, IN 46746-9394
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Howe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Howe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Howe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You never know what treasures you ll find while wandering through the quaint back roads of Shipshewana s Amish community. Located just 15 miles from the Shipshewana Flea Market and the 2nd largest Amish community in the country, the Holiday Inn Express Howe/Sturgis is your best choice in northern Indiana. You ll find the things that are most important to you whether you re here for business or pleasure. The Holiday Inn Express Howe/Sturgis is the ideal destination for business travelers. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business, high speed internet, and a specialized work area in you room. The business center is there for copies, faxing and support. We are a short distance from many major corporations including Morgan Olson, Abbott Laboratories, Penguin Corporation, Sturgis Hospital, Lund International, Magna International, Dometic and Hubbard Feed, plus the numerous RV Manufacturing companies surrounding us. If you re here for pleasure you are just minutes away from outstanding shopping, dining, entertainment and all the adventures that LaGrange County has in store. No matter what brings you to the Holiday Inn Express Howe/Sturgis your room is your personal retreat. The key word is cleanliness and comfort with luxurious bedding, fully renovated modern décor and all the cable, sports, and movie channels you need. We hope to become your favorite Howe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Howe
Howe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing