We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful museum but need to fix line-standing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indianapolis Museum of Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 163 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful museum but need to fix line-standing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very fine museum in every way, very enjoyable experience for visitors, except they need to fix the line-standing problem, both to purchase entrance tickets and at the restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ths907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    247
    43
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
308 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top spot for kids in Indy and best children's museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Taken my grandson here many times. Very well run, always updating and refreshing exhibits and activities. special events like their haunted house are done very well. A must see attractive for the kids

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun place for people of all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Indianapolis museum of art is a great place for a leisure visit with family. There are some amazing installations, portraits and other art exhibits which are worth watching. The Love art installation as well as the installation of various numbers are perfect places for clicking pictures. All in all a nice place to go to on a laid back weekend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AbazerBiviji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Matisse was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We went to see the Matisse collection. It was very nice. It was a little high at $18 a person for the special event but normally its free. I have driven out of my way to see what I think will be an exciting event only to find a handful of piece but the collection was huge. I learned a lot about Matisse and found a new love in his landscape which I like a lot morw than his jazz illustrations. The museum itself qa was nice. They have 4 floors which includes a variety of mediums. I would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Tabatha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madawaska, Maine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impressive collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went here with my aunt and uncle to see a very good Matisse exhibit. However my favorite part of the visit was the standard collection which is actually free. The museum with a lot to see. Would take a few days to see everything.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Dumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing