We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise, for the Art, Outside sculpture and great cafeteria”

Indianapolis Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 170 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great surprise, for the Art, Outside sculpture and great cafeteria”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The featured Neo-Impressionism exhibit was mounted extremely well, and the permanent exhibit was also very well done. It is not a huge museum-but a very enjoyable one. We ran out of time so missed the Asian wing and really rushed through the outside sculpture garden.
The cafeteria was reasonably priced and the food was great.

The permanent exhibit is free, but the featured exhibit had a fee.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank amgovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    250
    43
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Artwork and Gardens, all FREE!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is must see if visiting Indianapolis. It's free, so that makes it great for families. The gardens on the property are just beautiful, and the artwork collection is good too. Again, it costs nothing, so this is a good stop.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating Collection”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I visited on my own and enjoyed the variety of the collection. I found the signs on the artwork to be especially helpful at this museum with detailed information about the artist and the work and a bit about the means of production or meaning of the piece, but not so much that it was laborious to read. Also, you can't beat the price- $5 for parking but no admission fee. I did not see the travelling exhibit for which there is an extra charge, I found browsing the museum's regular collection to be enough for one trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shlomo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport TN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Museum”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It takes several hours to go through it and then there's the Lilly house next door. Unfortunately we didn't get to finish our visit. A tornado went over Indy while we were there. Everyone had to go in the theater and when the weather cleared they closed the museum but I'll definitely be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great grounds surrounding this museum”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Not that this place needs any more glowing reviews but on a cross country drive I saw all the great reviews and decided it would make a good stop. So glad we stopped here! We didn't even make it inside the museum but spent an hour wondering the grounds with great sculptures, fountains etc. Museum entry is free. There also seemed to be some free parking around as well as the paid lot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amjord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing