We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small zoo, but quite nice”
Review of Indianapolis Zoo

Indianapolis Zoo
Ranked #10 of 170 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to over 2,000 animals and Indiana's largest aquarium, this 64-acre zoo has lions, elephants and other wild animals roaming through natural settings. A special petting area allows children to touch, but not feed, the tamer animals. There's also the world's largest enclosed dolphin show and a roller-coaster for all ages to enjoy.
Dubai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Small zoo, but quite nice”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Allows to get up close and personal to many animals, e.g., flamingos, exotic birds. The Dolphin show was fantastic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BecharaYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    935
    612
    280
    45
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great zoo! Soo much fun!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This zoo is a great Indiana attraction. They have a dolphin show that is fun for all ages. I would definitely recommend going to this zoo no matter your age or the occasion.

Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great zoo, fun dolphin show”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wonderful day at the zoo. Good layout so that you can see everything. Construction still taking place, but can't wait to return to see new areas. Of course, the dolphin show was the highlight. Be sure to visit the dome beneath the arena to see the dolphins swim!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank explorerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
438 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great zoo in the city - some inefficiencies and a lot of construction but, a fun time!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our second visit here - it is a really nice zoo. Get there early - we arrived a little after 10 and there was a huge line of mostly buses going in! I think May is a big month for field trips. Some of the scanners were not working which caused some delays. The new ride is not open yet and there was a lot of construction going on - but, the ride looked fun - hopefully the keep the wristband TAP program at $10 - that seemed to be a decent added value. We rode coaster 4 times and carousel twice. The train wasn't running regularly - they were waiting for it to get full and w/ mostly field trips that wasn't happening very often. Finally we decided to ride it - there were only a handful of people on it - we got all the way to the top of the ramp and the guy looked right at us and blew the horn and pulled away - 5 adults and 3 kids coming up the ramp!? really!? that was beyond rude. Feeding the giraffes and birds are included in the Tap and my son loved the Budgies! too cute - they land on you and you have a stick w/ food on it. The 4D Rio movie was included too and it runs in 15 min intervals - really a good time! We ate in the park as you are not permitted to bring in food. The food is expensive and lacking - the burger was dry and cold and so were the fries. The hummus was good (and garlicky) not kid friendly really but, the veggies were all dried out. Eat a big breakfast before you go - take a few snacks in and buy a hot pretzel or ice cream cone - I wouldn't waste my money on their food again. The dolphin show is kind of a joke -it's only 15 mins long and mostly the trainer talks. But, we had front row seats and my son loved it. Parking is a steep $6. Saved $2 with my AAA on admission. Cute gift store on the way out - we found some bargains on their sale shelves! We never made it over the butterfly garden areas - they close at 4 - which is barely enough time to cover this place comfortably. (the open at 10)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank beardogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had a good time at the Indianapolis Zoo in April 2014. The big cats are in wonderful areas that are easily viewable. It's fun for all ages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank music4nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indianapolis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing