We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sybaris Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We booked the paradise pool suite to celebrate our anniversary. There are no windows so no distractions. The pool temperature was perfect and the place looked spotless. The lighting under and over the bed made it perfect for romance. Even the small kitchen was nice. We took our own food and refreshments and the refrigerator was larger than I expected. His and her vanities were convenient also. Loved the surround sound which had speakers in the pool area as well as the sleeping and jacuzzi area. It felt like we were in our own little paradise. I'm recommending it to my son and his wife for their anniversary coming up soon. Our first trip was pricey but worth every penny. We left with some good discounts for our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle6887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    33
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
175
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

After reading all the reviews for Sybaris on tripadvisor.com, I was so excited to try it out for myself. My husband and I kept our eyes out for special offers and great deals. Finally, I stumbled across a gift certificate for the Paradise suite on Ebay.com. We picked the certificate up for a significant savings. We stayed at Sybaris on a Thursday night in early Feburary. Overall our experience was very romantic and very worthwhile. We had two problems with our stay: one, we had problems controlling the overall temperate of our room - it got too hot, then it was too cold. Secondly, our bathroom shower would not get hot, no matter how long we let it run. Because of the timeframe involved, we did not report the cold shower to Sybaris until we were checking out. They immediately gave us a gift certificate for a early/late check for our next visit. The suite itself was wonderful. OK, I'll give you that there is a little bit of 'cheesy' factor involved. Heck, isn't that why we went?!? The suite was super, super clean, the pool was very cool, everything was wonderful. Overall, our experience was absolutely wonderful. We will come back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKHS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

I have been reading about this property for several years and so, when the opportunity arose, I booked a Majestic Pool Suite for my wife and me. As we drove there I spoke in general terms about it and as we were close, my wife pulled out of her purse a promotional mailing that we had received and said she was going to book us a room here as well!

Let me say simply that everything good you read in the reviews here about the property are true: extremely clean, exceedingly clean. Cheesy? Oh, a little bit, but come on, it is fun. Super private. And the pool is fabulous.

If you are looking for a truly secluded romantic time away, this is the place. Fabulous.

We can not wait to go again.

Criticisms? Towels were not what I would expect in a place this costly, not soft and plush and not enough of them in the suite. And the fitted sheet did not stay on the bed. I was suprised the TV was not high def.

But...come on. Are you there to watch TV? I don't think so.

The pool and the pool area is fantastic, water nice and warm, the steam room is superb.

We can NOT wait to go again.

The staff at the desk was superb. We checked in and out very quickly and yes, you do get wonderful discounts for next time when you check out. Because I made a comment about the sheet and the towels, they gave me a free voucher for rose petals and a long stem rose for next time.

We are going to go for the largest suite next time. Can't wait!

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Finally I give back to this wonderful review site!
Sybaris is the one place my husband and I know best. We first came here 10 years ago to celebrate a wedding anniversary and we keep coming back. We have stayed in all 3 different "pool suites" in Indianapolis, and usually for 2 nights each stay. Note: I give an overall excellent rating but that does not mean we find everything excellent nor that we have not encountered a few small problems with Sybaris over these years. One of the reveiws here mention that their first trip was fine but on the second they found the place dirty and didn't feel they were taken good care of ... Out of our 12 visits there was only one time a pool suite was not exceptionally clean and it was nothing so serious that we didn't feel ok with just taking care of it ourselves. This IS NOT a "sex" hotel. Granted it is in an industrial area so if you want views (outside) this is not where you go. The individual buildings set along a private circular drive which is gated. It's for indoor romance and privacy. In any hotel there is the possibility of something going wrong now and then. We had miner pluming problems once and it not only was taken care of timely but they gave us a 50% off and an early check in for our next visit.
We have stayed in many different types of rooms in many different places (B&B's, cabins, lakeside, oceanfront, Germany, Poland, etc ...) so we have many comparisons. If you are looking for a place to just be wonderfully, comfortable together and nothing else, this place is hard to beat (in the USA, at this price).
I know, some consider it pricy but once you go you will start getting discounts and actually you can sometimes find first time discounts (we only paid full price once in 12 visits.) Also going through the week is best price with discount.
The highest priced pool suite (at Indianapolis) has it's own private connected carage and 2 levels with a water slide that comes down from your bedroom into the pool! I thought that would be such fun but I love water slides and this particular slide was such a disappointment ... (steep and FAST) it's over before you blink. Climbing the stairs was a real trun off for my husband. After trying all 3 pool suites we perfer what used to be called the original pool suite (sorry they've changed names a few times) It's the pool suite that has the smallest pool BUT the only pool with a swim jet! All pools have what they call a "waterfall" I call it a rain shower ... I do like it ... and they have recently made it more powerfull, (bring a snorkell so you can float face down under this "waterfall"! They all have the huge spa bath and hugh steam shower with plenty of room to have fun.
Once we discovered Sybaris we have a hard time going to other places (more true for my husband than me because I love the ocean ...)
Some reviews mention the "cheesy decor" I agree, it is clean and has a very modern style with quality fixtures but cheesy decorating and those sheets do come off (we bring elastic straps designed to keep corners together.) They used to have a gas firplace but have gotten rid of those (I miss that). I love the newer massage chair but the other two chairs are uncomfortable.
Overall my husband and I LOVE this place and we keep coming back. Oh. best to bring your own food (no interuptions etc..) We tend to go to a nice place to eat before checking in (it's true check-in is 6:00 and while they will occassionaly let you in a little early they usually do not.) Sometimes you can talk them into a free early check -in at 3:00 and you have the option of paying extra to check in early or check out late. There are some nice places to eat about 10 minutes away and many places in Indy that are not too far away.

  • Liked — The pool and privacy
  • Disliked — Cheesy decor
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheWonderingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

What a fun place to hang out in for a couple days! Very, very clean. I was somewhat worried about that before arriving. The outside grounds, and the neighborhood can be misleading. It sits in an industrial part of the city. But we obviously didnt go to Sybaris for the grounds. Once inside, we were really in our own world. Lots of fun stuff - swimming, steam room was very cool, jacuzzi was relaxing. Nice to bring our own food - there was microwave and fridge. And i cant say enough about the bed. It is cheesy, but fun. Not exactly romantic in the bed and breakfast type of way. But more in a wild way. Mirrors on ceiling, pretty lighting on bed, fake stars, fireplace, led to ambiance. Very nice massage chairs with rolling and kneading. Great sound system - fun for dancing in the pool area! Would go back a lot, but is somewhat pricey. Absolutely worth it though, and is about a 2 hour drive from home. Had some reservation problems surrounding pricing, and have to applaud the manager - I think Jeanette, and also Tara for really taking care of the issue. I was more than satisfied with solution, and cant wait for return visit!

  • Liked — Privacy, didnt see anyone from outside world for over 24 hours!
  • Disliked — everything great!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gobux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medina ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Me and My boyfriend just got back from our stay at the Sybaris Indianapolis. It is rather pricey but very worth it, it was our 5 year anniversary and I couldn't have asked for anything more. We arrived a little early at 5:20 and the staff were more than happy to get us in a little bit early. We stayed in the Majestic Suite , we walked in and couldn't believe how beautiful it was. The bed was amazing with all of the cool lighting features and mirrors above and around the bed was very fun :) the bathroom was huge pool was perfect for the two of us, Steam room was Ok it was very hard to breathe in that thing but was still nice. The water was soo warm we must have swam for 4 hours that night. Jacuzzi was very nice jets were wonderful. I could go on and on about our stay I strongly recommend this place, wish there was one in Ohio, because that 5 hour drive was rough but once we arrived we had no problem relaxing.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank busta3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

I can only say that I wish I would not have spent $444.00 on a hotel room that was in a gross industrial area, and where I only got to stay for 12 hours. PLEASE! Most hotels at least let you check in at 3pm, not here, it's 6pm, and check out is at 11am. That is completely ridiculous. For this price the hotel should have offered complementary wine or champagne, and some sort of food item as well. Not to mention, the cable stations on the TV were pretty bad too, and there is no plug in for an iPod to play your own music, which really sucked too. If you feel like having a good cheesy night at a "sex" hotel, I would say stay here. However, it is definitley not worth that much money, maybe $300.00...if they thow in some champagne.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
13 Thank Robby1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,396 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,484 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,257 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sybaris Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Indianapolis

Property: Sybaris Indianapolis
Address: 5466 W 86th St, Indianapolis, IN 46268-1502
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Indianapolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Indianapolis, Indiana is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Sybaris Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Sybaris Hotel
Club Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing