We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #42 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel location is very central so most things To-Do are w/in walking distance. Maid service was so-so as she failed to make up our room the first day. Front desk was very helpful. Parking was convenient although the key card failed to work three times. Again, front desk helped out.
Value is on par with service. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for completing the online survey of our hotel regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your compliments toward our Front Desk team and their level of service. We will be sure to recogize them for this. I do apologize for not having your guest room cleaned one day during your stay. My housekeeping team and I have reviewed our reporting process to ensure this does not happen in the future. Please let me know if there is anything else I can assist with regarding this stay or any future reservations. Thank you for your business!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
317-808-2160
ben.minnich@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    135
    37
    7
    6
See reviews for
53
52
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel is part of a complex that has the JW Marriott, Courtyard, Springhill Suites, and the Fairfield Inn all on one block, all sharing the same underground parking garage ($23/day for Fairfield Inn -- not sure if rate is different for other properties). There is a T.G.I. Friday's off the lobby of the Fairfield Inn, and an Italian restaurant in the lobby of the JW. I think there was another one within the complex.

The location is close to Victory Field, and parking can be hectic (but available) on nights of the Indians' games. The location is also at the west end of the Washington St. retail area.

I can attest to the hot-water and breakfast issues noted by one reviewer. They were intermittent during my three-night stay, however. One morning, it took 3-4 minutes. On the other mornings, the delay was shorter. Eggs were overcooked, and there was regular coffee one morning. Many Fairfield Inns vary the meat and fruit selections, but this one had sausage patties every day, and fruit was limited to melons on two days, with pineapple added to the mix on the other day. All this said, they did have a pot of hot oatmeal, which other Fairfield Inns have not had, with accompanying brown sugar, raisins, craisins, and nuts. They also had a good selection of yogurt. And, after all, the breakfast is free, so these are more watch-outs for others more than complaints by me. The breakfast area is spacious.

The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The female front-desk clerk who checked me in was among the most pleasant hotel employees I've interacted with. One night when I was using the exercise room, we had run out of disinfecting wipes. One guest told the male front-desk clerk of this and we had new wipes in about two minutes. This might have taken two hours (or not at all) at many other facilities.

The exercise room was acceptable for a short stay. There were two ellipticals and two treadmills, along with free-weights and two benches. The guest rooms were clean, as were the hallways leading to them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for completing an online survey and providing honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our staff service and cleanliness & upkeep. I apologize for the Hot Water challenges you experienced during your stay. We are looking into this during our readings and inspections process to ensure this is corrected. Also, I apologize for the lack of regular coffee during breakfast throughout your stay. We will review our equipment and staffing levels to ensure this corrected immediately. Please feel free to reach out if there is anything else I may help you with regarding this stay or any future reservations. Thank you for staying with us!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for 6 days over the last two weeks, I can attest to a consistency in two problems, The first if you want to take a shower between 6:30 AM and 7:00 AM, be prepared to not have hot water, during this time the best you can get is a luke warm temperature. Additionally, at breakfast you can expect the same overcooked scrambled eggs and the lack of coffee, I have only been able to get a half a cup of regular as they don't change it with enough frequency in the morning. Although there seems to be enough decaf. The saving grace of this hotel is the moderate rate for business travel..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regosnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for completing an online survey and providing honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for the Hot Water challenges you experienced during your stay. We are looking into this during our readings and inspections process to ensure this is corrected. Also, I apologize for the lack of regular coffee during breakfast throughout your stay. We will review our equipment and staffing levels to ensure this corrected immediately. Please feel free to reach out if there is anything else I may help you with regarding this stay or any future reservations. Thank you for staying with us!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-808-2160
ben.minnich@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Seneca NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights and enjoyed our stay. King size bed, room was clean, staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location was just a short walk from church, Lucas Field, minor league baseball, many restaurants and othe attractions. We did not use public transportation at all. There are wineries, casinos and shopping outlets within a reasonable driving distance. Complimentary breakfast daily and there is always coffee and tea in the lobby. We stopped at the outside bar for a drink.......very disappointed when I paid $12 for a glass of wine.....that is outrageous! Overall, we enjoyed staying here and would stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends and relatives.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessdrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our location while while visiting Indy. Also, thank you for your compliments on our staff service and cleanliness. Thank you for providing feedback on the Wine Menu pricing for the restaurants here on-site. We will make sure our Front Desk and Leadership team are prepared with alternate options for a glass of wine. Thank you for staying with us!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-808-2160
ben.minnich@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentland, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our second time staying at this facility. The first time was in 2011 to watch our son perform in the Honor Band of America concert at Clowes Hall. We had a king-sized bed; the room was a bit small but it served its purpose. This past weekend we stayed for two nights so we could see our son march in the finals at the DCI World Championships. We got a great rate through DCI for Fairfield so we didn't hesitate to stay again. This time we had two beds and the room was significantly bigger. The beds were so comfortable and the entire room was very clean. The shower was wonderful!!! I am just impressed with the overall ambiance of this hotel. The staff was very polite...from the desk clerks to the valet parking attendants. Having a TGIF attached to the complex is very convenient. A short walk makes many eating establishments accessible. Lucas Oil Stadium was a very pleasant walk, as well. We opted not to use the skywalk as it was such a lovely night and perfect to experience the atmosphere of Indy. My only disappointment was that our room did not have a fridge. For a two day stay it would have been handy as this seems to be standard in less expensive hotels in which we've stayed. It would be nice to see a waffle maker or a pancake maker added to the breakfast choices. The only warm selection was scrambled eggs and sausage patties. In the room, the lids provided for the coffee cups did not fit the cup! Overall, we will not hesitate to stay here again...probably for next year's DCI World Championships to see our Blue Stars take the field again!!!!

Room Tip: Our view this trip was a wall. So sad as our first trip faced the museums and was a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our location while while visiting Indy. Also, thank you for your compliments on our staff service and cleanliness. We hope to welcome you back with us during next year's DCI. Thank you!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-808-2160
ben.minnich@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were in town for the DCI Championship. This new and very clean hotel is just a few blocks from Lucas Oil Stadium. It is directly across the street from the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art and the Indiana State Museum. There is a TGI Fridays attached to the hotel and a Tavern with outside seating just next door. Breakfast included scrambled eggs and sausage patties, hot oatmeal and a selection of fruits and cereals each morning. The only downside was that the breakfast area was very busy and the staff had a very hard time keeping up with the food, table cleaning and especially the coffee. So don't visit that breakfast area between 9-10am on a Saturday and Sunday! All of the staff in the hotel was VERY friendly! Another downside is that you pay $23 a night to park in the garage under the hotel, but it is very bright and well marked. Loved the comfortable beds with white bedspreads. (you know they are clean). It would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our location while while visiting Indy. Also, thank you for your compliments on our staff service and cleanliness. Thank you for providing feedback on your breakfast experience. We will look at how to better control the volume during our high traffic periods. This allows us to live our vision of continuously finding ways to improve the Guest Experience. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Indy. Thank you!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-808-2160
ben.minnich@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a great, great location. Walk about 2 blocks east and you have unlimited choice for restaurants, bars, etc. The rooms are new, clean, comfortable, and would go for much, much more - if under another hotel's label.

If there was a minor "irritant" it was the access to The Starbucks on property. This building is "sorta" shared/connected with a Spring Hill Suites and a JW Marriott. I understand the concept of keeping the $100 Fairfield people away from the $400 JW customers. But here is what I had to do.

1. Go to the Parking Lot elevators and head underground.
2. Walk across the underground Parking Lot towards the sign for the JW Marriott.
3. Get on a 2nd elevator, and take it to the 2nd floor to the Starbucks.
4. Order and receive coffee - reverse process to return to the Fairfield.

That said - highly recommended. This complex is where I stay EVERY time I am passing through Indianapolis.

Room Tip: I asked for a room at the end of the hallway - it was super quiet and made for a great night's s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukefan2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Ben, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our location while while visiting Indy. Also, thank you for your feedback on the experience going to and from Starbucks inside the JW Marriott. Although we cannot change or shorten the route, we will continue to look at how we are directing our guests to Starbucks. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Indy. Thank you!

Ben Minnich
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites
Indianapolis Downtown
317-808-2160
ben.minnich@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#50 of 182 in Indianapolis
312 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#28 of 182 in Indianapolis
872 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 501 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2706
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#30 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#37 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#55 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis is adjacent to the Convention Center. Centrally located in the heart of this very walkable city, this hotel is close to Circle Center Mall, next to White River State Park, the Indianapolis Zoo, and several world-class museums. Also nearby are the Eiteljorg Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. This property features an on-site TGI Friday's, pillowtop mattresses, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing