We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the show, not the venue! Compact seats.. good stage views..”

The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Massachusetts Avenue Food Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A building of Moorish design.
Midwest
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go for the show, not the venue! Compact seats.. good stage views..”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Saw "Wicked" in Murat. We were 1/2 hr early ( it was a weekday) and there were several street parking spots available a block from Murat. However we were ill prepared with change for the parking meter, and paid cash to park in an 'event parking spot' nearby. We were in P row seats- so clear views, though the whole theater appeared compact that views should be be good from most seats. I had a friend in the balcony who said she could see the performance without it appearing too distant. The seats are compact. So think twice before getting in or out of seat if you do not have the aisle seat. Tall people will have difficulty with their knees knocking the front seat. If so, the aisle seat is the way to go. There is a long line for the restrooms during the intermission. However, there were ushers inside and outside the restrooms moving the crowd along, letting them know when the show will resume and which restrooms were free. So the line moves fast. Good work on that. Drinks were costly. Overall, liked the show, venue not so bad!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    61
    23
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GRAND OLD LIVE STAGE THEATER”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was back at the Murat Theater for the first time in over 30 years last night for a show. The historic theater is worn but still regal. I sat in the Royalty section and the seats in my row tipped backwards when we stood up which made everyone in row D a little concerned. Maintenance might check this area out before someone is injured.
Other than that, if you want to see a show in a theater built years ago for just that purpose, you might enjoy the Murat Theater in Indianapolis.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indyron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always be prepared!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I attended a concert at this venue recently on a Saturday evening . The sound was fantastic. The performance was amazing. I was disappointed in their ladies restroom facilities. Although it is an older building, cleanliness and supplies should not be neglected. The ladies restroom had no toilet paper or paper towels before the show began there is no excuse for being unprepared.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dms0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Horrible sound at concert”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I went to this venue for the Kate Nash concert this past weekend (November 2, 2013). While it was beautiful, the sound was wretched! I'm not sure if the sound guys didn't know what they were doing or just didn't care, but the music was much too loud and the voices were nearly completely drowned out. Even the performers realized this, pointing to their mouths and then the mic to show that their voices were not loud enough. It was never fixed. We were in a room in a basement area. When we arrived, we were not allowed to go in through the front door and were told to go around to the back, which was inconvenient, but not a big deal. The people that worked there were exceptionally rude. I was absolutely unimpressed with this venue and will never go back there again for a concert or performance of any kinda. I do not recommend this venue. The only reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 was because the physical appearance was beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtfulExistence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rather, Egyptian Room.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Saw the Pretty Reckless there. It was lovely and had great acoustics. It looked very nice and the staff was excellent and friendly!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing