We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonel Glen Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #57 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Colonel Glen Guest House”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We checked in late at night and went to the Col. Glen Guest House which we had reserved. There were no working outside lights so we had to fumble to unlock the door and for a light switch inside. While carrying our luggage upstairs and deciding who was sleeping where, we could hear voices and laughter. There were several armories with televisions in them throughout the house which I suspect is where the voices were coming from. We rented this house because it was handicap accessible; however, there was not a bedroom on the first floor just a hideaway bed. While standing in the upstairs hallway deciding on what we should do, a cloud or vapor rose up in the stairwell and then disappeared. Not sure what that was about but we checked out and went to a chain hotel for our stay in Indy. The park was great and we had a great family reunion there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    32
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
34
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

It is old and has had great make over. The entrance could stand a large upgrade but that is just one of the things that makes it unique. The rates are reasonable, the TVs are ok but not HD, clean and we could not find any major fault. The parking close to the entrance is limited. We went to a wedding dinner that was served in the dining room and the food was outstanding. Several good restaurants near by - Panera Bread & IHOP. Located just off a main road.

Room Tip: They are all quiet but some have sitting rooms with extra TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaGator086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2011

To be fair, this was "off-season" for them.

The upside. The room was very clean. The staff were all very nice and tried to be helpful. It was very quite.

The downside. It would have been nice to have had someone take my bags to and from the room. The restaurant was also closed. It did not have anything to do except golf. (no extras).

If you are just looking for a clean bed and a hot shower, this is a great place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmitchel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The Ft. Harrison State Park Inn is located at a former army post established in 1906. The Inn used to be the base hospital (and is rumored to be haunted, but I didn't experience anything). I stayed overnight and attended a conference within the Inn. There is no restaurant in the Inn, but the meals were catered by the nearby Golf Resort. There are plenty of restaurants near the park.

The rooms are just fabulous. The Inn is decorated in keeping with the architecture of the time. The building has obviously undergone a complete renovation to turn it into an inn. Everything was clean and well-maintained. Because it is a state park, don't expect hotel quality service. The best I can describe the service is friendly and quaint. You don't have any of the amenities you might expect in a hotel, like a pool or a business center. I had a king bed room that included an ample sitting and desk area, and a bathroom larger than in any hotel I have ever stayed. All the furnishing were top-notch. Because it is an older building and a former hospital, it is a solid building with walls that must be a foot thick. If you're looking for quiet, this is the place.

If you're looking for something different on the northwest edge of Indianapolis, you must stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

After being on the road for 10 days, and a constant stream of Courtyards, Holiday Inns, , Hampton Inns, etc., this place was just what the doctor ordered. An old military building on a former Army base, this hotel has been completely remodeled and they did a wonderful job. Our room was quite large, with a closed-in porch attached, and it was furnished in an understated, elegant style. Ask for room 332; it juts out from the building, so has windows on three sides. And, best of all (since it was August), they have no pool, so no screaming, running kids all over the place! I'll certainly stay here again when I'm in Indy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, IN
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We both are enrolled as students at Ivy Tech Community College Lawrence campus in Indianapolis. Because we live in Muncie (about an hour away) we found that staying there during the week was much more convenient than commuting. We spent the first two months of the school year trying to find a comfortable place to stay at a fair price on the east side of Indianapolis. Our search finally came to an end when we found the Fort Benjamin Harrison State Park Inn. There is a feeling of dignified elegance that you feel just as soon as you walk into the lobby of this historic inn. The rooms are large and are kept meticulously clean. I would recommend this beautiful inn to anyone who wants a quiet, restful nights sleep. The friendly staff and comfortable accommodations will soon make you feel that you, too, have found a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDFERRELL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We reserved the Inn for our daughter's wedding. It was perfect. the accomodations were spotless. They really made us feel at home. Since most of the wedding party was from out of town, it was the perfect set up for rooms, ceremony and reception. Our guest are still commenting on the "perfect spot" for the wedding. We also had the reception catered through the Inn. Pearls and Ivy catering did an excellent job. The food was awesome. Hopefully we will be able to stay there again.

  • Liked — the classic and historic atmosphere
  • Disliked — room was not ready when we arrived
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#80 of 180 in Indianapolis
117 reviews
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapoli...
#132 of 180 in Indianapolis
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castleton
Quality Inn of Indy Castleton
Quality Inn of Indy Castleton
#78 of 180 in Indianapolis
121 reviews
Value Place Indianapolis Lawrenc...
#117 of 180 in Indianapolis
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center

Property: Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center
Address: 5830 N Post Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46216-1048 (Formerly Kendall Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal accommodation to experience the natural beauty and harmonious blend of landscape and history. This resort and lodging complex features the Garrison Conference Center, as well as the championship Fort Golf Course. Available lodging experiences include guest rooms and suites, and fully furnished former Officer's homes. Located within 20 minutes of downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort And Conference Center
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing