We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #58 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
235 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay ”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my father during Indy 500 weekend. I waited a little too long to get hotel reservations and this was one of the few places I could find a room. Our room had a king bed and a sleeper sofa. The room was clean and very spacious. I will probably get a room here again next year.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wamzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
33
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our second time we stayed at The Inn. Very nice rooms. Very clean rooms and hallways. When we checked in, I noticed we were right beside the elevator. I wondered if the elevator would be a noise nuisance. It was NOT.
The room was really spacious. Nice comfy bed.
We recommend this Inn for staying in the North East side of Indy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spidrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Over a period of two months I would say that I stayed at this inn about four weeks. Why did I keep coming back? Well, number one it was quiet. In finishing up work on a book, I needed a quiet place, and I found that at Fort Harrison State Park Inn. Also, since it is located right next to a small state park, I could go for strolls if I needed some fresh air. Additionally, the rooms are very spacious, and when the king suite was not available, they upgraded me at no extra charge. Finally, the prices were significantly lower than similar hotels in Indianapolis.

Room Tip: If you make a reservation online, make use of the option to indicate and specific needs that you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
410 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was our first visit to Fort Harrison State Park Inn and we took advantage of the two nights for the price of one winter offer. We stayed in the Governor’s Suite which was the most attractive room on the Web site. We were looking forward to reading by the fireplace shown online and listed as one of the features. So of course we were disappointed when we saw the “Fireplace is not operational” sign on it. The front desk said it had been permanently disabled. The suite is spacious with a king size four-poster bed, large bathroom (the most impressive feature) including shower and Jacuzzi. For all its features, it doesn’t quite measure up to a “Governor’s Suite”. It’s located on the third floor next to the elevator, with the noise you might expect. Fortunately, there were few other guests using it. The room is dark with small windows (with no view) on one wall and very few ceiling lights, mostly lamps. There is a hand-painted mural on three walls, but little other decor — or attempt at decor. You might think the Governor’s Suite would include a few books on Indiana governors or history — maybe on the mantel over the non-functioning fireplace. The furniture shows wear and there are spots on the carpet. Housekeeping is lax as evidenced by dusty blinds, corner cobwebs, loose drawer knobs and lamp finial; one lamp was unplugged. Waste baskets were not emptied during our stay and a roll away bed we never requested or needed remained awkwardly in the room. Strangely, the bed was made (not very well) so that the thin sheets and blanket came chest-high. We’ve stayed at many bed and breakfasts that show more attention to the details of providing a quality guest experience.

Room Tip: As indicated, this "special" suite is located by an elevator with no view. Unfortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mack3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Indiana
Level Contributor
508 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have stayed at the Inn the once a year fore (pun intended) for the past three years. Wife and I went with three other couples as a "Stay and Play" option. The Inn is remodeled officers' housing from when this area was a major military base. The accommodations are thus dated but fun to see a piece of history, plus rooms are huge. Stayed in a Officer's house one year, which included several rooms, a kitchen, etcetera. Only stayed one night, could have easily made it a week. The golf course is outstanding. A nice old course, which has been redesigned to make it more playable (i.e. less narrow). Course is beautiful with many elevation changes. No golfer will be disappointed giving this course a shot, varying tee boxes for varying skill levels.

Room Tip: If you are going with a group of eight, may want to stay in an Officer's house. You will have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just visited the Ft. Harrison St. Park Inn for a one night stay. It was very clean and comfortable. Very nice room with a huge bathroom. Also very quiet. We visited the State park which is just a short walk or drive from the Inn, it is a great place for runners, walkers or bikers. Plenty of trails and fishing.

I would stay here again. Only problem I could see was no WI-FI, if you need that you might reconsider.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiana812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Good: Pretty location and building at Fort Harrison State Park. Big, clean, comfortable room. Nice gentleman at the front desk.

The Bad: When booking the room on the state park reservation site, I was told we could use both the online coupon and the military discount. However, once we arrived, we were told we could only use one (a decision of the manager, not the front desk worker). That is bad customer service since it greatly affected the price and would have influenced our decision to stay there. We could have stayed in a motel with more amenities (pool, breakfast) for much less, so I wouldn't say the value is very good, especially for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CowardlyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny B, Front Office Manager at Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Customer Service is our #1 priority. We do apologize for any misinformation given. The coupon clearly stated that it could not be combined with any other discount. We value your review and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianapolis
Castleton
Quality Inn of Indy Castleton
Quality Inn of Indy Castleton
#74 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#83 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapoli...
#131 of 179 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center

Property: Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center
Address: 5830 N Post Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46216-1048 (Formerly Kendall Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal accommodation to experience the natural beauty and harmonious blend of landscape and history. This resort and lodging complex features the Garrison Conference Center, as well as the championship Fort Golf Course. Available lodging experiences include guest rooms and suites, and fully furnished former Officer's homes. Located within 20 minutes of downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Resort And Conference Center
Fort Harrison State Park Inn, Golf Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing