We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a typical Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #55 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not a typical Courtyard”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The elevators are slow to respond. Fitness room is too small and on a high traffic hallway. It is shared with the connected Springhill. Always overcrowded in the morning. Room was nice, but carpet was dirty. Bed was clean and comfortable. Lack of personal amenities like lotion and mouthwash. Just bar soap, shampoo and conditioner.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank scodougle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYSHSIndy, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey. We are sorry to hear the elevators were slow and the fitness center was crowded. We appreciate all your feedback and hope you will reconsider our hotel for any future stay in the Indianapolis market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    123
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
58
45
14
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I tayed here to attend a convention. While it was a long walk to the convention center, signage was pretty good. There is no real restaurant at the Courtyard, just a quick service counter with limited hours. Staff were friendly and helpful, the lobby was nicely decorated. It was very nice to be able to checkin and print boarding passes (though we could not get the touch screen monitor to print). Easy access to the Indiana State Museum and the pathetic NCAA Hall of Champions (don't wast your time or money there). Plan on walking several blocks to get to a descent restaurant.

The room was clean and comfortable. Walls are pretty thin, able to hear the neighbors conversations and TV.

Overall, a descent hotel, one I would return to.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank disneyfans48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Courtyard is in a complex with the full array of Marriott properties from the JW Marriott on down to a Fairfield Inn. Rooms are compact but efficiently designed, attractive and contemporary. Location is on the west edge of downtown, not quite as conveniently located as other hotels right in downtown itself. Parking is beneath the complex, with convenient self-parking with in/out privileges, though parking is not cheap. Dining in the Courtyard is typical of other Courtyards, but there is access to other choices within the larger Marriott complex. Staff was pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank todste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYSHSIndy, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the entire Marriott complex. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Rooms are fresh and typical of the newer Courtyard hotels. Arrival at the hotel, especially if you are parking a car is a little confusing because there is a block of 4 Marriott-family hotels which share the same parking garage (and some other amenities). Location is ideal for the west side of downtown. Easy walk across a park to IUPUI, and only a couple of blocks from downtown shopping. I go to Indianapolis twice a year and always ask to stay here. Restaurant was not serving during lunch when I was there.

Room Tip: If there is a concert in White River Park, ask for a room on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYSHSIndy, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our location made it easy for you to enjoy down town and the IUPUI campus. We can’t wait to see you on your next visit to Indy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I got food poisoning at one of the Marriott hotels (all meals during the conference were within the very nice block of hotels) and had to extend my stay an extra day because I could not leave my room, at all. The front desk was very helpful in adding the day, offering to send up Sprite and arranging for a friend to get a key so they could bring medicine. The housekeeping and security staff, on the other hand, annoyed the heck out of me by knocking on my door at least six times, three of which, I managed to make it to the door to tell them I had already spoken to the front desk and that if they knocked again, my head could very well explode... Or my stomach would. The hotel was great but I don't see how the communication could have been so bad. And, what's the point of a Do Not Disturb sign if it is ignored? I just got this hotel on Priceline for my upcoming Christmas stay and pray that they don't disrupt my one chance to sleep in! TGI Fridays as room service was heaven sent once I was starting well enough to eat again. Parking ($23) was too high considering it is all shared by hotels from the same corporation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marr601, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I am sorry to hear that you became ill during your visit and the housekeeping staff disrupted your recovery. We will share your feedback with the housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen in the future. There are several parking options around the hotel for those that feel the attached parking garage will not fit their needs. While you are here for your next trip, please reach out to the manager on duty for any needs you may have. We are looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel was a great location downtown. Friendly staff from start to finish. This hotel is attached to the JW Marriott and Springhill Suites. Room was recently renovated. Very roomy! Valet service was easy and quick. Starbucks located in lobby area ... Always a plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitgentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marr601, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the friendly staff and new design of the Courtyard. We hope to see you on your next visit to Indy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I travelled last weekend to Indy from Columbus to see a Colts game with a friend of mine. The staff could not have been nicer. The rooms were not huge, but have recently been remodelled and certainly served their purpose. The weather was very cold and lots of snow. One of the best things about this hotel is that there are "Skywalks" that will get you right up to the stadium without going out into the elements. We also enjoyed the fact that there is a TGIFridays in the lobby. It was a great place for a late night bite to eat or to grab a drink before calling it a night. The price is much better than the hotels right next to the stadium and really there was no reason you need to be next to the stadium. I have paid the higher price in the past to stay next to the stadium. Won't do that again. I will stay here again. One downside is the high price to park/vallet. I believe it was 27.00/night, but I did not see any other hotels that were not simuliar with this charge. Just be prepared.

Room Tip: we had room 420. Nothing special, but a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaddM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marr601, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay during visit to Indy for the Colts game. Walking the skywalk to get to the stadium is a great option, especially when the weather is bad. There are several parking options around the hotel for those that feel the attached parking garage or the valet will not fit their needs. Thank you for your feedback and your review. We hope to see you for the playoffs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#30 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown

Property: Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 601 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2712
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#34 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#53 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown hotel is located in the heart of the Circle City and overlooks the beautiful White River State Park and historic Canal district. Connected to the Convention Center via skybridge with many major companies within a 2 min. taxi ride or 7 min. walk including Simon Malls, WellPoint, JP Morgan Chase, & Eli Lilly. Our downtown Indianapolis hotel is a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner for our great location and outstanding service. Guests enjoy such perks as our upgraded free WiFi, self and valet parking options, room service and media library with boarding pass printing station. Families appreciate our guest rooms with pull-out sofas as well as our indoor pool and the IMAX Theater right across the street. A downtown Indianapolis hotel just 15 minutes from the airport, we're a great, easy option when in town next!m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing