We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get in the lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #5 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Get in the lounge”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Get in the lounge. Plain and simple. The staff in the lounge are very professional and want to be there. They are very welcoming. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic and the food at night is almost dinner worthy. There are non-alcoholic drinks for free, but alcoholic drinks cost. Primarily granola bars, fruit, and cookies are available during the day. The food for 'dinner' is different every day. Look at the times that they are open in my picture that is attached. After the 'dinner,' there is dessert, which is pretty good as well. Some lounges strongly discourage people from taking food out of the lounge, such as a bottle of water. This lounge is laid back, which is nice if you just want a bottle of water for later.

I noticed that there were no pictures of the hot tub or pool on the hotel's website, so see my pics. The hot tub / pool were very nice. They were next to the gym, which is also very nice. If you forget your ear buds, they have a few spare.

The entire staff were very friendly and professional. I was surprisingly impressed. The rooms were larger than normal and clean. This hotel is very close to the Colts football stadium and is connected to a full enclosed passage way system to get you to the mall and convention center without going outside. I assume this was designed for when it is cold in Indy. Very convenient. They hotel was built for the Superbowl a few years ago. There are other hotels to stay at in Indy, but I would only return to this hotel. I think 1004 rooms in the hotel. When we checked in, 900 people just checked out. Wow!

Parking is $30 a night. Accept it and move on. People complain about the internet. This is not specific to this hotel. It is an industry issue. If you want to use it, understand that it costs, pay it and move on. Well done JW Marriott Indy!

Room Tip: Get a room looking at the city (an odd numbered room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    462
    160
    49
    33
See reviews for
291
397
44
1,143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Wonderful staff in a new upscale hotel Great location downtown. Across from convention center, close to Lucas Oil Stadium, across from Victory Field (AAA Baseball), NCAA Headquarters, walking distance to Zoo, State Capitol and offices. Connected by walkways to other hotels, convention center, and Circle Center Mall.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the Downtown or the White River park with the NCAA Headquarters, Zoo, and Indiana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We appreciate your feedback, and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I often stay in Downtown Indy on business (more than a dozen times/year). I've lodged at many of the hotels in and around the convention center, and the JW is the best! Why you ask? It begins with the excellent service at reception, continues on to the the well-appointed rooms, the spacious fitness center, and ends with the outstanding dining venues. All of the JW staff, from reception to housekeeping to the bartenders and waitstaff in the High Velocity or Osterio Pronto, are very hospitable and the latter are knowledgeable about their tasty food and drink. The beds in the rooms are clean and comfortable, the showers amazing, and the fitness center has lots of treadmills, elliptical riders, weight machines and free weights. Did I mention the pool and spacious locker room? Overall a great facility with amazing staff and close enough to walk to everything in Downtown Indy.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of either the city (east) or White River State Park (west)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We certainly enjoy having you as our guest, and we'll look forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eureka, il
Level Contributor
249 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our stay was on New Year's Eve and it was wonderful! There really wasn't anything special but we sure loved the place! It was clean, immaculate and everyone was enjoying their stay. The food at the Italian restaurant right there at the hotel was excellent. Our waitress was attentive, pleasant and did a great job serving us!
The room was clean and spacey.
The concierge was great-maybe not as eloquent as we expected but nevertheless really good. We were late so did not receive the appetizers but the desserts were wonderful!
Breakfast the next morning was great-alot of fruit, juices, and wonderful pastries. The eggs were great-alot of different cheeses and coffees.
We really enjoyed this place-and the shopping mall only a few blocks away-was accessible by walking through a walkway inside! Great!
We loved the fitness center-almost a taste of the caribbean-alot of variety! We were able to get late check out due to new year's eve special so that was really nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse4death
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us over New Year's Eve. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your visit, and we'll look forward to your return. Best wishes for a happy and healthy 2014! Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My daughter joined me for my conference at JW. We both had a great time. Great location, worked for a very large group, and still had nice spaces for my daughter to enjoy while I was working. Nice people and great food. I would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
It was a pleasure having you with us here at the JW, and I'm glad you and your daughter enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
603 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I love the JW Marriott! It is clean and has a very friendly staff who are attentive and helpful. The rooms are clean and modern. The restaurants are great as well. I can't wait to come back. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FamTimeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We certainly enjoyed having you with us, and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Even though it was a rainy weekend, the JW made my husband's birthday celebration bright and happy. It started with a visitindy.com special for reduced hotel rates during the holiday season. We were able to stay at the JW for a fraction of the typical cost. The rate also included self-parking, special coupons for local events and museums, and a treat upon arrival. Then I called the hotel to place a special note on my reservation about wanting a room upgrade (due to my Marriott Reward status) and that I'd be celebrating my husband's birthday. I received a large corner room with a park view of the White River, the Indianapolis Zoo, local museums, etc. We chose an arrival treat of hot chocolate and peppermint snacks. After returning from dinner, there was a special surprise of red and white wines courtesy of the staff member that checked us in (Thanks JB!). Due to the holidays, the concierge lounge wasn't open during its typical times so we received vouchers for appetizers and the breakfast buffet. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and clearly wanted us to have the best stay possible. Mission accomplished!

Room Tip: If you have access to the concierge lounge, stay on floors 23-33. Otherwise, you'll have to swit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFR1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I wanted to thank you for your great feedback, and I'm so happy to see that the staff stepped up to make your husband's birthday a memorable occasion. We will look forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,253 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,396 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,411 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 180 in Indianapolis
334 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing