We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the past two years. We have always enjoyed our stay. The staff does a fantastic job of taking care of us. The JW has become our go to hotel when we want to get away.

Room Tip: We always request a corner room. Views are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

We appreciate your continued patronage, and look forward to being your "home away from home" in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

First the positives:
Our room was clean and very comfortable. The food and beer in all the restaurants were excellent
Now for the negatives:
First no one came to help us get our bags from the car. (I was on crutches with a broken leg). A bellman came to offer to take it to our room once we had the trolley inside. My husband remarked, "no, I got in here from outside, i can take it the rest the way up". No one apologized
Second there was melted snow in the doorway on arrival and my crutches slipped when I came into the front door. I did not hurt anything seriously but it was physically painful that night and scary at the time since I was to be non weight bearing and I landed on my bad leg.
Third, the valet service was horrible and this is not the first time. A year ago I took customers there and I waited over 30 minutes that time for my car thus getting my colleague back to his meeting late. This time we asked for the car at 7:40 AM. We were told it would take 10-15 minutes to get our car. I stayed in the lobby and waited for the car while my husband went up to get the remaining two suitcases. AT 7:55 my husband asked one of the valets where our car was and he said it should be here in 10 minutes. When it was not there by 8:05 my husband asked the same guy again where our car was as we had been waiting almost 30 minutes. The valet beligerantly said "you have not been waiting 30 minutes". Walking on snow with crutches, I went in to the key room at that time and asked the lady and she verified the time that we had requested the car, found the keys and we had our car at 8:10 exactly 30 minutes after the initial request. As my car pulled up, the same rude valet almost gave my car to another customer. I had to point out that the car had my disability hang- tag as well as our key chain (and the number matched our ticket rather than the other guys). This valet does not represent the Marriott well. I think things need to improve at this JW. I have stayed at other luxury hotels around the world such as the Intercontinental and Ritz and this JW in no way compares. If it is representative of other JW then I will NEVER stay at one again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for completing a guest survey and for your recent post. I am terribly sorry for the problems you experienced with our valet team, and I can assure you that we will take steps to see that this situation does not recur. I appreciate your feedback and hopefully one day you will give us a chance to regain your confidence in our service. Scott Blalock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I lived in Indy for several years and go back 4-5 times a year for meetings and conferences. Typically, 2-3 of these are held at the JW. There really is nothing that can compare to the service they offer guests. Just fantastic. That said...my thinking is that in the rush to get this thing done they didn't put in the highest quality shower heads or mattresses. It's not worth stomping out to the Fairfield but it is noticeable and it's been something I've experienced in every room I've ever used. Keep up the great work staff!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pendrysig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We did follow Marriott standards when it came to the mattresses and shower heads. I'm sorry you've experience a problem. Be assured that I will follow up with my Director of Engineering in this regard. Again, it was our pleasure having you with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My first stay at Indy's JW, as winter weather convinced me to spend the night downtown near work. Conveniently located near the ball park, zoo, White River Park, Eiteljorg, statehouse, Monument Circle, downtown mall, theaters, top restaurants ... what else could a gal want?

A reliable shuttle, that's what. A free Marriott shuttle takes travelers between the JW and my job. Although I called the JW twice and was assured both times that the shuttle would pick me up. In fact, the second time I called was a few minutes before the appointed pick-up time. After being put on hold for five minutes, the JW staff informed me that it was now one minute past the pick-up time, so I must have missed the shuttle. Yet I was in full view of the pick-up location the entire time. Hmm. Twenty minutes later, I shared a cab.

On the positive side, check-in was simple, and a friendly hostess walked me to the correct elevator to ensure I understood which bank to use. The hot tub and exercise room were quite good, and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your post and please accept my apologies for the problems you had with the shuttle service. I have spoken to the shuttle owner in this regard and we'll do our best to see that this issue does not recur. We hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence. Scott Blalock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The JW Marriott, in downtown Indianapolis, is simply amazing. We staying in a 10th story room - on the southeast corner - overlooking Victory Field. The room was immaculate, cozy and the view was breathtaking!
Everyone in the JW Marriott was accommodating and very friendly. Superb dining and a great pool and exercise facility make this hotel top notch! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Corner suites - no matter south or north side - have views that are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

We certainly enjoyed having you with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

The JW Marriott is a great hotel when staying in Indianapolis. There are multiple reasons including the wonderful helpful staff, great facilities (lobby, rooms, fitness areas); restaurants and lobby bar. Conveniently located. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bobcat211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

We enjoyed having you with us and we'll be looking forward to your return. Scott Blalock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at this beautiful hotel, and the conference in the hotel I attended. Service was outstanding, everywhere I turned there was someone to respond to any need. Food all over the hotel was excellent. The skywalk to the center of town added convenience during the icy days, and I could get to theatres, other restaurants, malls and museums without needing a heavy coat or boots. My room was gorgeous, with all the amenities I enjoy, and I used the pool, fitness center and hot tub like a private club. I highly suggest asking for a corner room for some spectacular floor to ceiling views that stretch around two sides of the building. Roberto the concierge was very helpful getting some tricky reservations on a busy weekend, and made it seem effortless. I will look forward to the same conference at this location next year.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on high floors have breathtaking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We certainly enjoyed having you with us and thank you for your kind comments about Roberto. He is an asset to our team, and I will share your kudos with him. We'll be looking forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,846 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,499 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#27 of 185 in Indianapolis
955 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,807 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 185 in Indianapolis
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £130 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at what Condé Nast Readers voted as the Best Hotel in Indiana. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 105,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the Marriott IndyPlace hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity and Osteria Pronto. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Banker's Life Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing