We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful.”

Indy Lakes Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indianapolis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indy Lakes Campground
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay.it was my second time staying in the lodge.and my husband has been fishing their is whole life. We will return.great place. Great people.and u have peace of mind out their it's so quiet.and the food places around are also great . especially manns grill.a must eat.u will be very satisfied for the quantity and price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shawna1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very small run down campground located across from a large sewage plant. There main business is a 24 hour fishing pond with 24 hour bait shop. Lots of non-camping traffic with lots of people fishing around the ponds all night. The campground is located on a busy road with lots of traffic noise. The campsites are gravel with picnic tables and a fire pit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you’re in Indy, this is the best place to stay. You don’t have to worry about security. First of all, it’s in a good neighborhood, not like some campgrounds in Indy. Secondly, they always keep an eye on what’s going on. There’s someone at the office 7/24. They have security cameras to make sure everything’s alright. Best of all, the new owner is in law enforcement. You can feel secure at this campground. We stayed at site three, it was nice and quiet. There is some road noise, but that’s more than made up for by the convenience to all Indy has to offer. The owner and staff are just delightful. All they ask is that you follow a few common sense rules. A reviewer complained about their mail. We had mail sent three or four times during our stay. As soon as it arrived we got an e-mail telling us it was there so we could pick it up. Nothing every went astray. We weren’t there for the fishing, but if you are, they’re pulling some whoppers out of the lakes. And they stock it nearly everyday. It’s fun to watch. We wouldn’t stay anywhere but here when we visit Indy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Art-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

i have resided at indy lake for about 3 months. asked for extension was granted but when i asked about the mail i was not receiving(as i had talked with the senders who had correct address and lot number) and still was not getting mail like irs check, birthday checks and christmas packages as well as cash.they would not talk to the mail man and went on the defensive enough to where i thought maybe they were in on mail disappearance with the mail man and so i went to the post office and filed a formal complaint on mail man and that afternoon received my you are moving out notice. they kicked me out because i was wanting my mail.. do not trust this place there is a deposit for everything and even though you live there you must pay to fish. this is a shoddy run place and it stinks really bad and i mean really bad.. IF YOU ARE SMART YOU WILL GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campingkingman, Owner at Indy Lakes Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

This customer accused us of losing mail for nearly 2 months. We took it seriously, I personally delivered her mail after several weeks of her saying she was not getting some mail (she was also getting some). We offered her a free private mailbox, tried to assist in other ways such as online, email, proof-of-delivery, etc. She would not do any of it, she wanted her mail hand-delivered daily. It was hand delivered to her boyfriend who was always home and she was not. Finally, she said it must be the U.S.P.S. mailman stealing the mail and she filed a formal complaint against him. This was ludicrous, and coupled with her hostile German Shepherd that she could not keep quiet, we asked her to leave at the end of her month (about 2 weeks notice). It's worth noting we get piles of mail daily and NO complaints of any missed mail for as long as I can recall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The "lakes" are just holes in the ground that look like thew place may have been some sort of gravel pit at one time. ( who knows) Yes there is fishing , If you don't mind dark green dirty water. and the Fish are put in... not natural. there is no inlet for fish to come in or go out of the waterholes they call lakes. The camping is less than "stylish" gravel sites with RV's close together, There are no amenities,,no play park for children , no pool, the laundry is inside the store and is quite expensive at $1.75 per wash and $1.75 per dryer. you have to walk the whole length of the park to put Garbage in their garbage can's.
you must sign a paper and give them a $20. deposit on an emergency gate remote, for when the power goes out. The silly thing is, that it's not needed anyway because there is no barrier across the entrance, it's broken. The public is allowed to come in and pay to fish too. there is no security at all. The RV park is open to the road and traffic goes by constantly. and the worst is. The poo poo plant right across the street from the RV park, and when the wind is right the smell is overwhelming.

Room Tip: Don't take your nice RV there find another nicer place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kanukgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campingkingman, Owner at Indy Lakes Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

I am sorry this customer was unhappy and for this late response as we had no word from her. Our security gates were open during her stay as we have a Manager on duty 24 hours during the summer. The remote control is in case of emergency, fully refundable. The sewer plant operation is a rural and distant operation NE of us, but they are good and quiet "neighbors" that covers probably 1 or 2 square miles total. The smell can occur during a high NE wind, but less than 10 days per year, and with recent water plant improvements, is nearly zero days per year. Our lakes are 1950's gravel pits and we are the best pay-fishing lakes in the business operating nonstop since at least 1957 - we stock 2 to 3 times a week from March until October with daily fishing contests. Our big rig lots are 30'x60' or bigger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The place always is improving its services. Wi-fi that works well, and more importantly fast, a well-stocked bait shop, and new lodges that are really nice, this place definitely focuses on making their clients' experience nice. Sure, the place might not be a place to get crazy at, like it seemed the one reviewer was looking for, but for finding a place to park, it gives so much more. I was just overall impressed by it. Plain and simple.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

enjoyed our stay and would stay there again when in the area. very helpful in many ways

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Travelodge Indianapolis South
#136 of 185 in Indianapolis
46 reviews
Indy Hostel
#2 of 10 in Indianapolis
174 reviews
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#75 of 185 in Indianapolis
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,791 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,445 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indy Lakes Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Lakes Campground

Address: 4001 W Southport Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46217-9321
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Indianapolis
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing