We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but be careful...”
Review of Sensu - CLOSED

Sensu
Price range: US$29 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Jackson
Description: Indy's most exciting new place to inspire, indulge and ignite your senses. Fresh rose petals and the trickle of flowing water in the stone bath-lined entrance transport you to the elegantly refined and delightfully unpretentious atmosphere that is purely Sensu. Hip, warm and social, Sensu invites you to indulge in its Asian-fusion menu designed to be shared and relished amongst friends. Selections range from Crab Shitake Crusted Kobe filet, to lobster tacos, to the red hot chili pepper roll. Utilizing only the very best of ingredients, these vibrant new dishes will ignite your taste buds. The fun continues with sleek cocktails, fine wines and exquisite sakes that you've been yearning for. Mingle in the dining area overlooking the dance floor, or saunter down to the nightclub to officially arrive at the party. When you're craving something more, you'll find it at Sensu, Indy's new place to see and be seen.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good but be careful...”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We went to Sensu for Valentine's Day. It is a gorgeous restaurant with great atmosphere. We were told we could order from the menu or let your server order for you based on your taste. So we chose to let the server do his thing. He brought us 5 courses in all. Each course would consist of two varieties. After each course he would ask us questions on what we liked and disliked and that would determine the next course. It was fun and the food was great. The downside to this is that you have NO idea how much you are spending. He never discussed price at all - he just kept bringing food. Again, the food was great. When we got our bill we were very surprised - it was $180 for two people with no cocktails. I would go again because the food is good but I would probably order off the menu so I know what we are spending.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect pleasure-Asian Fusian Suishu Delight”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Loved this atmosphere, menu, service and everything about this place!
Our server Joe was outstanding! made the evening so enjoyable with relaxed presentation of food in just the perfect tempo!
Don't miss the spicy squid salad, Baked Snow Crab Hand Roll or the Gold Coast Crunch Roll with Red Snapper, cucumber, avocado and splendid sauce.
Upstairs is restaurant, downstairs is nightclub.
Sensu is located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, two blocks south of the circle on Meridian Street. It is near Lucas Oil Stadium, Conseco Fieldhouse, hotels, the mall and the Convention Center.
Sensu gives you the best of both worlds, combining an upscale dining experience with a sophisticated nightclub. And the food is to LIVE for!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seastarwinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We celebrated my birthday at Sensu, just my husband and our two grown children. We used the groupon for a prix fixe dinner for two and ordered additional sushi rolls and shared everything, just as the menu advises you to do. We enjoyed all the sushi, particularly the krusty krab (with a K). Rock shrimp tempura was also wonderful. The main course, which is called crab-shiitake topped filet mignon is tiny, but delicious. They need a diffrent name for it because people expect a chunk of meat, but the dish is only a few tiny slivers of meat over some mashed potatoes. I am not a big eater, so there was pleanty of food for my liking. Also they upgraded our Champaigne from a California inexpensive one to a good French one, probably because it was my B-day. Interestingly, they did not offer us any desert, which is unusual, but we were fine with it. I would recommend it for people who like exquisite food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tatyana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“It's a sensory overload on every level -- food, sights, and sounds.”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The best way to describe Sensu is Asian tapas but with a significant twist. I've been there four times and had stellar meals each time. The fish -- much more than just sushi -- is exceptionally creative: scallops with jalapeño, sea bass in parchment, tuna on flat bread. I especially liked the calamari salad and the vegetable dumplings. The servers were knowledgeable and helpful, but not intrusive. The three gigantic screens were mesmerizing. This new place is not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The restaurant has a club feel,
; it is dark, music is at times a little loud. The nightclub opens at 10pm, so get earlier if you want to have a decent conversation. The menu appears very good but I was surprised it is a "tapas" restaurant. It is expensive! A tapas entree for 24-28 dollars seems to me to be a little too much. We had the ahi tuna flatbread which was delicious and the krusty crab roll was also very good. We ordered the Kobe beef tacos which was tender but lacked much taste. To finish we had a red snapper maki that was just not that good. Mind you, we travel a lot and have no problem paying for good food, but Sensu is a little overpriced for the area and for what it offers. Our server was excellent and very helpful in recommending options and keeping up with our drinks. I just don't think the menu delivers in terms of taste. We came here with a Groupon, and I am not sure we will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDPRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sensu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing