We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business travel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Ranked #29 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good business travel experience”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This was the first time I had ever been to Indianapolis, so I was unsure where to stay. I was traveling for business and I opted to stay in a pretty central location, which is how I wound up at Marriott Indianspolis Downtown. Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay.

Coming from Chicago, I was able to drive rather than fly. I arrived on a Sunday evening and left my car with the valet - $35 a night, which is kind of steep in my opinion. After checking in, I had dinner with a colleague at the sportsbar in the lobby (Champions, I think it was called). It was very busy and loud (NFL games were on) but reasonably priced, and I enjoyed the delicious (albeit unhealthy) bar food. There is also another restaurant in the lobby, which looks like a more upscale American cuisine grill. I saw the menu and it looked good, but I didn't have the opportunity to try it.

The room was nice, with all of the ammenities you would expect on a business trip. The room was booked under my boss' name, and he's a Marriott rewards member, so I got to enjoy the perks of being on the floor with the Concierge Lounge (great appetizers in the evening, delicious breakfast in the morning). The king-size bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and large. My only two complaints: the room was quite warm at night. I set the thermostat as low as it would go, but it still remained pretty warm. There was also no circulation, so I woke up feeling a little bit suffocated. Also no fan in the bathroom, which is one of my standard pet peeves with hotels. However, everything else was very satisfactory.

The lobby is beautiful and the service was very pleasant. Also, the hotel is within walking distance to some of the great restaurants in downtown Indianapolis. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Indy Marriott Downtown. I am happy you enjoyed your stay in Indianapolis. We hope to see you again soon!

Phil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    393
    107
    41
    38
See reviews for
130
124
29
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This was my first time staying at the Downtown Marriott and I was very impressed. There were several valets to greet us, a doorman, employees in the lobby directing and helping guests. The front desk was very friendly and helpful along with everyone else working this weekend. I would recommend the property for family stays, business meetings or the romantic getaway as downtown access is all within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor overlooking the baseball stadium, quiet and a pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Indy Marriott Downtown. I am happy you enjoyed your stay for the Big 10 Football weekend. We hope to see you again soon!

Phil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

There is no easy way to sum up this hotel. It was clean, spacious, affordable for the quality, and located right off of circle centre, connected to the skywalk. My wife, her mom, and I took a weekend trip to downtown Indy, and this is where we stayed. The staff was friendly, pool was clean, and on-site restaurants were wonderful.

The only complaint was the price of parking.. but you have that with any hotel in any downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsrattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again soon.

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This hotel was absolutely wonderful - so much so that I contacted Marriott directly to let them know what a great property they have in Indy. As stated elsewhere, the service is impeccable. The entire staff plays a gracious host, and goes out of their way to ensure your stay is wonderful. It seems like the entire lobby greets you upon arrival, and wishes you a good day as you leave each time, and not in a disingenuous way. The concierge lounge staff was also wonderful - so friendly, and ready to engage you in conversation (or not, if that's not your cup of tea).

The rooms are spotless, and average size, but the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious, with plenty of counter space for your travel items. The concierge lounge has a great breakfast (both hot and cold items), as well as a yummy desserts and hearty cocktail hour snacks (you can easily make a proper dinner out of them). I didn't eat in the restaurants on-site, but they seem to be popular outside of hotel guests, so I imagine they are at least decent.

Finally, the location is great. Nearly everything is within a 5 minute walk, either indoor or outdoor.

I can't recommend this property enough. Marriott has absolutely got it right with the Marriott Indianapolis Downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers face the capitol building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eknels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you fro staying with us and we are hppy your experience was excellent! I am happy you enjoyed our staff service.

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I must admit the hotel is in great shape and the location is very good. The thing that angered me was that I had to pay $56 to park my car for 24 hours (not including Valet tips). We were in Indy to watch the Colts game and decided to spend the extra money to use the Valet parking and were told the cost was $35. My wife called the front desk and asked if we could leave our car until the game concluded and they said, "Yes, that is no problem at all". We then had our car brought around so we could put our belongings in before check out. Again, I asked the Valet if it was ok to leave our vehicle until the game was over, and again he simply replied "yes, no problem". When we returned, they asked how I wanted to pay the extra $21 for extended parking. They had TWO OPPORTUNITIES to inform us that there would be an additional parking charge! I thought this was VERY DECEPTIVE! If you include the tips I gave to the Valet I paid $63 TO PARK FOR 24 HOURS! I am not a negative person and write many more positive reviews than negative.

Room Tip: Do not use the hotel parking. Ask a lot of questions if you think there may be a charge involved bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Indy Marriott Hotel. I apologize for the poor communication by our valet staff regarding our parking rates and the cost to extend your stay. I know we were able to contact you directly to correct the misunderstanding.

We appreciate your business and thank you for bringing your problem to our attention.

We hope to see you again the next time you come back to Indianapolis.

Phil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riskmanager4u
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed 3 nights. The rooms are updated and clean. They aren't huge...but they are very nice. The hotel is attached to downtown shopping via skywalk (and a short inside walk). Breakfast buffet in the hotel was great! The staff was very friendly as well. Parking is $35 a day for valet. I booked my room on Priceline and got a great rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riskmanager4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you fro staying with us and we are happy your experience was excellent! I am happy that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our staff service.

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
917 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel is in the heart of the city. Lots of places to walk to for food and drink. This was my first stay at this Marriott. I was not disappointed. My room was big, the bed was awesome. The staff were spot on. Could not walk anywhere without them saying hello, good day, or how are you. This place must have good mgt. If you have the opportunity to be on the concierge floor, its worth it. You get lots of snacks and drinks. Breakfast will filling. I would recommend this place for a business trip or for family. Some of the restaurants i visited were: PF Changs, Webber Grill, and Ruth Chris. All within walking dist. I did a tripadvisor on each of the restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you fro staying with us and we are happy your experience was excellent! I am happy you enjoyed our staff and the location of our hotel.

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,431 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#8 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,234 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 182 in Indianapolis
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Marriott Downtown

Property: Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Address: 350 W Maryland St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1051
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indianapolis Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an ideal location, award-winning meeting venues and newly renovated accommodations, Indianapolis Marriott Downtown is the perfect retreating for your next business or leisure excursion. Equipped with expansive event venues to bring meetings and celebrations to life. For gatherings off site, our hotel is connected via skywalk to Indiana Convention Center. For guests looking to explore the city outside of work hours, Circle City Mall, White River State Park and Lucas Oil Stadium are also just walking distance from your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Indianapolis Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing