We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis North - College Park
Ranked #88 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed 21 May 2008

if you're looking for a cheap and clean hotel in Indy, this one is a good one. There was not much at the hotel but if you're planning to be out and doing things in Indy, it shouldn't matter too much. It is in a good part of town and is very close to the interstate, which means you can get to things pretty quickly. It's about 15 minutes from downtown.

I was surprised by this hotel. It looks like it has just been remodled. The room was a pretty small hotel room, but it was extemely clean. I usually stay in condos and resorts and hate staying at hotels, however this is probably the cleanest hotel I've been in. The carpets, bedding and furniture all looked very new. We did not spend much time there, so we did not check on how the electronics worked. I would not have wanted to spend much time in the room anyway because of the size. The staff was friendly when we checked in and out. I did not see any complementary breakfast, but I'm not sure if there was even supposed to be any. The hotel was close to the interstate but I didn't have any trouble with the extra noise.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flutterby81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Indianapolis North - College Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2007

Stayed there for Grand Prix, June 14-18.

Good:
-Check-in desk staff are really accomodating (except for the one girl that couldn't be bothered to tell us where there was another ice machine, as the one near us was constantly running out as everybody was filling up for Grand Prix).

-coffee machine at the front desk.


Bad -Room:
- Ours was a dump. Very small, double bed that the one side table an inch away from the bed does touch the wall. Small bureau for clothes, clothes rack to hang items, small table and 1 chair. We finally figured out why our feet were always filthy -- the rugs are absolutely full of dirt.
-On the size. When we checked out we were shown the layout and saw that our room was about 2/3 size of other rooms, and yet same price. That is not nice. Told that we should book directly with them vs over internet as can then ask for specific rooms - business room only as that is the larger size, and goes for the same rate as the smaller one.

-One morning while getting coffee I overheard someone checking out compaining about the value they didn't feel they got from the room; frankly at $40 I thought it was an ok price. Without much trouble they gave her a 15% discount. So..... when we checked out and were asked how our stay was, I told them it wasn't great. They asked why -- all about the room being a dump and dirty.
They did say they were due for renos in November, but that they had been promised renos for quite awhile now. After a good 5 minute discussion wherein we said we wouldn't stay there again as were quite disappointed with the room we were asked if anything could be done. I figured we would ask for 1 free night - our last night as we had to pay ~$100 for fri-sun as was race-high weekend. that was given without any hesitation -- they may be too used to having to give this out as more than just our room may be a dump. Were also asked if that was "good enough" - now lets not get crazy, as that starts bordering on greed to us.
If there is a next time, we will contact the hotel directly and find out if the promised Nov renos have been done. If not, we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowtownCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2007

This hotel is wonderful for still being a classic red roof inn. The value is not pricey at all and I have never had any trouble with cleanliness issues. I'm not sure about the last review as there is not an elevator at this inn at 96th and Michigan rd. The manager, Vickie Lam, is exceptional and always "on her toes" to please each and every customer. The front desk is quick & helpful with checking in & out and satisfying customer's needs in the late hours. Once I had checked in really late and I had an important meeting early the next morning. I asked the girl at the desk where the nearest drycleaners was, b/c one of the buttons had snapped off my suitcoat. She amazed me and said she was not busy and offered to sew the button back on! I took her up on it! Nice job as well with the steady cleaning. Maidservice staff seems long lasting, which means my rooms will be consistently clean. Maintenance is also very helpful and very quick and efficient for repairing things in a timely manner. Upkeep at this location is up to par for a classic inn. I have always enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ParagonFireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Myself and 2 other guests recently stayed in this hotel while in Indianapolis for the Brickyard race. The staff at the front counter was very friendly and executed tasks in a timely manner. Sadly, that is the only positive thing there is to say about this hotel. The elevator had wires hanging from the ceiling, we opted for the stairs. The room had huge cobwebs in the corners that appeared to be there for so long they had actually collected dirt. There was molded food (cheese is what we decided on) in the air vents of the air conditioner unit, potato chips and french fries visibly on the floor and the bathroom tub was in need of a good scrubbing. The "cable" television allowed clear viewing of maybe three stations. The bed sheets in the "non smoking" room had burn holes in them and I chose to sleep on top of the sheets after the other two guests were constantly being bitten by bugs beneath the sheets.
Needless to say, we didn't try the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank anbt1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2005

it is also a gamble when bottom shopping for hotel price. i had stayed at the red roof in florence, kentucky the day before arriving in indianapolis. after that experience, i was excited about the red roof. however, i was not so impressed after staying here in indianapolis. the room was small. the bed nearly touched the dresser on the other side of the room. the tv was tiny with limited channels. the bathroom was limited but at least there was hot water. the location is fine except it backs up to the exit from the beltway and could be a little loud. plenty of shopping and eating within a short drive. fast food within walking distance. overall, for $40/night after taxes, I cannot really complain but the hotel is very basic. i would probably look for a similar rate at nearby hotel on michigan road if i returned to try something different.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TabbTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mount Vernon, IN
12
Reviewed 5 March 2003

We arrived Monday, March 3rd because my brother was having Hi-risk Heart Surgery March 4th. When we arrived to check in, the manager handed us a business card with my nieces name on it and told us we were to call her. We proceeded to check in and I called her right away. Well it turns out that they bumped his surgery to Friday. And so there we were checked into the hotel for nothing. We had paid for two rooms. So my husband went and checked us out and we started our 4 hour journey back home. When talking to my brother and niece a little bit later, it seems she had told them to tell us to call before we checked in. The people at the check-in didn't tell us that message though. They just handed us the card and said to call her. So we weren't told to call before checking in as she had told them to tell us. I really feel Red Roof owes us our money back because they didn't tell us the right message. I feel it was on purpose. Because when we checked in we also asked if we could have two rooms side by side and they got mouthy and said if we'd have told them that before our arrival we could've. Well I did. In fact I called Friday afternoon, on Feb 28th and the young boy told me we had to wait until we got there. The whole experience at that Red Roof was unpleasant in the short time we were there. But I feel they should give us our money back since they didn't tell us to call my niece before checking in. And I will not forget this. I will never stay at another Red Roof Inn as long as I live. The manager or whoever he was, was hateful the whole time. Prob'ly because I told him he needed to put some salt on the ice on the sidewalk 'cause it was very slippery.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nao tive nenhum problema de Barlow, mesmo ficando nós quartos de baixo.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fatima690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Indianapolis
Motel 6 Indianapolis
#114 of 185 in Indianapolis
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Indianapolis - Northwest - I-465
Extended Stay America - Indianap...
#120 of 185 in Indianapolis
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Country Suites
Best Western Country Suites
#47 of 185 in Indianapolis
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis Northwest
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#104 of 185 in Indianapolis
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites N at Pyramids
Comfort Inn & Suites N at Pyrami...
#116 of 185 in Indianapolis
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Indianapolis North - College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Indianapolis North - College Park

Address: 9520 Valparaiso Ct, Indianapolis, IN 46268-1130
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Indianapolis
#36 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £55 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Indianapolis North - College Park 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100% Smoke-Free Inn Indianapolis North - College Park is just minutes from the cities of Carmel and Zionsville, IN and 13 miles from Downtown Indianapolis. The beautiful north side of Indianapolis is located a short distance from several well-known malls; the Fashion Mall at Keystone at the Crossing, Castleton Square Mall and the Circle Center Mall in downtown Indianapolis. We are a short distance from the “racing capital of the world” with the worlds famous Indianapolis Motor Speedway, home of the Indianapolis 500, the Brickyard 400 and the Red Bull GP race. We are also located a few miles to the Lucas Oil Raceway Park that hosts the Grand National NHRA. For Indianapolis Colts fans, we are 13 miles from Lucas Oil Stadium as well as Bankers Fieldhouse home of the Indiana Pacers. There are many attractions and sporting events in the city of Indianapolis and the property is just a stone’s throw away. The Indiana State Fairgrounds hosts a variety of events throughout the year, including Home Shows, Conventions and the annual State Fair. We are also a 10-15 minute drive to the Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis. How about catching a dinner show? The Beef and Boards Dinner Theater is just a mile down the road. For family fun time, we are located 19 miles from Conner Prairie, 8.9 miles from the World’s Best Children’s Museum and 17.6 miles from the Indianapolis Zoo and White River State Park. The property is located 9 miles from Butler University and just 3 miles from Saint Vincent Hospital. This 100% Smoke-Free Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi and free HDTV! Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Indianapolis North - College Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis North - College Park Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing