We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should avoid raw fish dishes”

Formosa Seafood Buffet
Ranked #1,582 of 2,346 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Should avoid raw fish dishes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I got this place's information from my boyfriend. I chose it because It opens until 10:30 pm, its name implies it might be owned by my country's people and I did not get to Indianapolis until 9 pm. The interior and service were both great. Though there were some Asian delicacies, most of the food were average, except for crab legs. The quality of crab legs was good (of course, it costs $17 bucks, including taxes) and they were refilled often. The remaining dishes became stale and old after 9pm. Sushi looked suspect, but I still gave it a try. That was a big mistake, since my stomach was very upset next morning. I would not go back if not needed. Too pricy for me.

Helpful?
3 Thank yipaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    10
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indy
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great atmosphere. Some nights great live music. Try to get there early and food is fresher.o thought the price was reasonable. The owner and his family are great too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PENNEYCop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went there last night. For the two of us and a tip was almost $40. The crab legs were the worst I had ever had. Very dry to say the least. If you want seafood go to a seafood restaurant. The restaurant itself was nice. It's just a high priced Chinese restaurant and not a seafood buffet. I won't go there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank B_rad196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This seafood buffet is located near Castleton Shopping Mall and several other Oriental grocery stores. The decor is very oriental and rich with paintings telling ancient Chinese stories. Very spacious and plenty of tables and seats. Seafood sections are varied and fresh especially over the weekends. Japanese Section is OK. Look for special Chinese dishes along the wall. Plenty of ice cream flavors to select from. Great value for meeting or entertaining friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
208 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great selections medium quality, very reasonable price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Not many places where you can go for lunch these days for under $8 with a full meal and a drink. Very convenient location, easy parking, acceptable décor and friendly staff. The quality is pretty good for a Chinese/Oriental Buffet and if you leave hungry you weren't paying attention.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Formosa Seafood Buffet also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Formosa Seafood Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing