We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I spent 9 nights in the Hilton Garden Inn on Market St and can truly say it was a home away from home.

Unlike the other two HGI properties i have stayed in, this was not a new construction. The hotel is within the walls of an old bank building. It is a very elegant decor which incorporates many of the elements of the old bank. They have posted photos of the old bank and interesting bits of information about its former life.

My room (king bed) was very spacious and the housekeeping staff kept it spotless the entire time. The A/C took some getting used to - the thermostat did not seem to be completely accurate but after the first day i figured out how to adjust it to my liking.

The desk staff was plesant and professional. But i have to say that a couple of times their directions to various attractions were inaccurate or out of date. But i felt that they were far and above the calibre of most i have encountered in my travels.

Their event coordinator, Lindsey, was endlessly patient and proactive with the organizers of our group's visit and really made us feel like she was concerned about our arrangements and enjoyment.

The hotel sits practically on the Circle and is an easy walk to dozens of restaurants of all price and variety. There was never a problem finding somewhere to dine. Within the circle is the "Chocolate Cafe" - candy store and ice cream parlor. Definitely a "must do"! Also, stop at the "Tea Pots & Treasures" store directly across from the hotel for a bit of calm and sanity.

Nothing to do with the hotel - but it was very aggrivating to me that the majestic Monument in the center of the Circle was not open after 5:00 at night and actually CLOSED on Mondays and Tuesdays! In the middle of vacation season? Give me a break! Very very very poor planning on the part of the City or whoever regulates that attraction. Still - be sure to take a long time to walk around it and read the various inscriptions. It is truly amazing. Just sorry that i was unable to take the trip to the top and purchase souvineres because of the screwy hours of operation.

But back to the Hilton Garden Inn- two thumbs WAY UP for the hotel and the amenities!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

992 - 998 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2010

Lovely room, quiet, great location just off the Circle. I enjoyed the stark architecture, but my husband felt the hotel lacked personality & would have preferred more greenery for a "Garden Inn". Also, there is another Hilton 3 blocks away on Market, so be sure that you are at the right Hilton before going into the parking garage! Front desk & parking staff friendly & competent. I had no complaints except $22 for parking (valet) seemed high. This is a great location for nightlife & shopping and of course for touring the Soldiers & Sailors Monument in the Circle.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southwestgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I was very pleased with my 4-night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown in Indianapolis. We had a comfortable room on the 11th floor, with the largest bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel. No complaints at all except that the water pressure in the shower was a little low. We had the hot breakfast buffet in the hotel each morning. The food was okay, nothing special, and the selection was somewhat limited, but since the $8.95 breakfast was included in our rate, it was fine. The hotel's location is fantastic, within walking distance of most of the downtown tourist attractions, and close to several major bus lines. The business center has 2 computers and a printer available for guests. There's a good-sized indoor pool in the basement, clean and well maintained. All in all, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewportJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

This hotel is in a great location approximately a half block from monument circle in downtown Indianapolis. The front desk staff was very friendly. You can tell it was formerly a bank because when you walk in it looks exactly like an old bank. The rooms are nice, beds are comfortable and bathrooms are clean and also very nice. The only complaint I have was the central air/heating made loud noises when it kicked on and off. It sounded like a flap was being banged up against the duct. It is pretty startling, but wasn't enough to wake us during the night. Overall it is a great hotel (among many) in downtown Indy. The parking is a bit inconvenient, but its right across the street and only $9/day for self park.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abofreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown to attend a Pacers game and it was excellent. It was an especially busy weekend in Indianapolis with the Colts, Pacers and a National Cheerleading convention going on in town. The hotel was within walking distance to all the venues, plus restaurants and bars. The hotel handled everything perfectly. The crowd was mixed from families attending the cheerleading conference to groups of sports fans, never once was the staff out of step and above all never once seem overwhelmed. They were able to cater to all the different groups, so no one ever felt out of place. The staff was friendly, check-in was perfect with all our requests and needs meet, the breakfast was good, there was a pantry area to buy forgotten items and snacks for the rooms, and the indoor pool, although small, was a welcome treat. The hotel was converted from a bank so had a unique charm. There is a nice meeting place in the lobby with fireplace where people and families gathered (they even set-up a TV for all the weekend football games) and a nice bar with a friendly atmosphere. I would highly recommend this place for all…from families to sports fans.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeGee1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I've stayed at several Hilton Garden Inns, and just returned from a stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis downtown. It was outstanding....a cut above the "usual" Garden Inn (which I like). The hotel is in a beautiful historic building....a converted bank building. The lobby is pretty, and the conversion of the bank into a hotel was done sympathetically. The rooms are very nice: flat screen TVs, dependable internet, a chair and ottoman in which to unwind, etc. The beds have recently been upgraded---I did not understand them to be sleep number beds, but whatever they were, I slept very soundly both nights of my stay. Good business center, too. Most importantly, the staff were, without exception, pleasant, friendly, and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Service was very nice at front desk and at breakfast in American Grill. Breakfast buffett was somewhat limited, but food was good. Not an overly busy place, which we liked. Said they upgraded to sleep number beds, but not sure the bed was working correctly - a bit hard at first, but not overly so. Location is nice, right off the circle, close to restaurants, circle centre and etc. Overall, we were satisfied with the quite, cozy feel of the place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKincentralIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#16 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,403 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,461 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#8 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,283 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,735 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 10 E Market St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#19 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: £106 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown, an Indianapolis, Indiana hotel close to restaurants, museums and shopping. Relax in a spacious guest room or suite at this hotel in downtown Indianapolis, Indiana. Each guest room features a work desk, microwave, refrigerator, complimentary internet access and a 32-inch HDTV. Suites feature additional living areas with sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing