We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place rocks! It's a must if you're in Indianapolis.”

The Libertine Liquor Bar
Ranked #258 of 2,380 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pennsylvania Street
Transit: Public Transportation stops are conveniently located directly in front of our building on Washington Street.
Description: Http://www.libertineindy.com/
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This place rocks! It's a must if you're in Indianapolis.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

What a great bar, knowledgeable staff and amazing drinks. It's so different than any other bar I've visited. We ate a couple of fantastic appetizers, but went for the drinks. It will not disappoint.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahc9130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Can't comment on the food, but the bar was outstanding. Service was A+. Variety of liquors with some new brands was excellent. Just happened to stop in and went back twice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WFLAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“So good we came back the next night.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife, our adult son, and I had had a good dinner and we wanted a nightcap. My son had heard of Libertine, so we went. I am a lover of cocktail classics, so I started with just a Scotch neat as did my son. My wife however, took the plunge and the bartender suggested an off-menu cocktail that they created that day because one of them spent all day picking fresh mulberries. Wow! It was good. After that, we went for the unique cocktails both on and off the menu. The bar has a great atmosphere. We loved it so much we came back the next night after dinner as well. The bartenders are knowledgeable and sociable. We had a great time learning about their creations. They use all quality spirits and fresh ingredients. All lemon or lime juices are fresh squeezed. Herbs are fresh. The whole process is fun. Drinks are all about $11. A good deal really.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMZR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Cocktails & Food; Friendly, Upscale Vibe”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Was really impressed with my experience at Libertine Liquor Bar; definitely the total package. The space is tasteful, modern and upscale - the dim lighting helps create an intimate vibe and the noise level energetic but not overbearing. The staff we encountered were wonderful; friendly, efficient and helpful. The craft cocktails are thoughtful and creative with a vast, well laid out menu; they were on par with Chicago's top cocktail bars. The only oddity was it appeared all cocktails were shaken - even one's that were nearly pure booze, perhaps to put on a show. I particularly loved the rye based cocktail with Fernet Branca, coffee and Angostura bitters.The food is daring, modern and well executed; I strongly recommend the Deviled Eggs - such a cool presentation and phenomenal taste. Quality ingredients are utilized both for the cocktails (i.e. all house made mixers) and the cuisine. We chose to sit at the long bar and greatly enjoyed being able to watch and interact with the bartenders. Puck was our primary server and I loved all three of his cocktails (the name of the bartender who created each cocktail is listed on the menu; the first one of Puck's I tried was so wonderful I opted to keep choosing his creations). While Libertine is not inexpensive, it is well worth it considering the ambiance and quality. Definitely a place we look forward to returning to next time we are in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabcomdr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing concept”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

A group of my friend decided to start our evening with this as our first stop. The Mixologists were wonderful with their drink suggestion and masterful creation of beverages. Mike. our mixologist, made creative drink suggestion and was a pleasure.

Roasted bone marrow and brandy shots!! Fun fun fun

Helpful?
Thank IndyGuyontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Libertine Liquor Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Libertine Liquor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing