We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra modern, arty and fun”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #6 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultra modern, arty and fun”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Cool, modern, nicely appointed hotel. Attentive, helpful staff. Interesting art everywhere. Very nice and new. Nespresso coffee makers in every room. Nice desk area and robes. Very comfortable bedding and great reading lights and other lighting.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty good but mine did look out over rooftops so not good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Jan J,

Thank you for your review of The Alexander. I am so proud of the team’s service to your needs. I also appreciate knowing how you enjoyed your guest room amenities and our food outlets. I wish you good health and look forward to welcoming you back to The Alexander.

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,656
    459
    193
    62
    39
See reviews for
398
645
59
959
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My stay at The Alexander was fantastic. The hotel is located very near to Eli Lilly and Company and within walking distance of the Colts and Pacers stadium/arena as well as to downtown Indianapolis. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I received a "Hello" everywhere I went. The sleeping room was very comfortable with a large bathroom and free WiFi. The hotel has ambiance, decor, and artwork throughout with an Indianapolis, Indiana theme. Each piece has a story. There is a relaxing bar area, Plat 99, off the main lobby. Plus, there are multiple restaurants in the hotel with excellent atmosphere and food. If you are looking to have a meeting, The Alexander offers very funcitional meeting space with high tech capabilities, including virtual meetings. If you are coming to Indianapolis, I highly recommend The Alexander as it is a MUST STAY.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
traveler1615,

We enjoyed reading your 5 Star Review of The Alexander on Trip Advisor. We enjoyed reading your review to our staff at our daily and weekly team meetings. You could sense the pride in every associate as we read your positive and kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed and appreciated the facilities, your guest room and the variety of art displayed through out the hotel.

We are proud of our team and it was our pleasure to serve you! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My first visit to the Alexander was amazing. The architecture, art, ambiance, staff, location and amenities were the best I have seen in Indianapolis. I have yet to book another hotel in the area with such class, sophistication, and fantastic restaurants and lounges. If you are there for lunch, you must hit either the hotel lounge or Cerulean on the first floor. Both have a great menu and the best drinks in town (mixology type spirits). I was amazed at the amount of time and effort it appeared that was spent on the finishes, technology and art decor within the hotel. Where I see most hotels try to cut corners on certain finishes, the Alexander did not. The staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the surrounding area attractions and "what to do" on a Wednesday night. I would definitely recommend the Alexander to anyone who will be staying in the Indianapolis area. Even if you are not staying overnight, you should check out the hotel and make sure to grab a bite to eat at one of the on-site restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chadglassburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dan R,

I look forward to seeing you again when traveling back to our area and thank you for your review of The Alexander. I appreciate your comments on the service you enjoyed from our team of hospitality professionals and that you enjoyed one of our uniquely different cocktails at our Plat 99 Mixology Bar. Art is in our DNA. We use it to create a unique sense of discovery and a place that inspires, intriques and stimulates our guests. We apprciate your feedback and thank you again sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I couldn't be more pleased with my recent stay at The Alexander. The hotel was clean and modern. I liked the attention to detail and the art displays. Definitely upscale. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was spacious with a great view of Lucas Oil stadium. Had a unique cocktail at Plat 99 (with the helpful suggestion of our server), then headed to Cerulean for another cocktail as well as a wide varitey of specialty appetizers. The location was well within walking distance to other downtown Indy locations, even on a cold February night. I would definitely recommend The Alexander.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
traveler1615,

It was our pleasure to read your review of your recent stay at The Alexander. Your positive comments in regards to our staff's service are excellent and please trust we will share these comments with our team. Your comments in regards to the comfort of our guest rooms, complimentary wifi and our meeting facilities is greatly appreciated. These are all features we carefully explored to ensure they would be of value to our guests while focusing on upscale hotel offerings. The goal is to be the choice of travelers when visiting the City of Indianapolis.

We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to the Circle City!

Warmest regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed at the Alexander recently for three nights. The hotel staff was excellent in every way, the room beautiful, spacious, and quiet. This is a brand new hotel, decorated exquisitely, very nice restaurant, and free WiFi, unusual for a 4-star. Rate was very competitive with much lower rated downtown hotels. The only thing missing was a store to buy incidentals but apparently that is coming.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Bruce H,

Your review of The Alexander and our staff’s ability to provide courteous and helpful service makes me very proud. We are fortunate to have assembled a dedicated team of hospitality professionals, they are the reason The Alexander has been so successful since our opening on January 21, 2013. Thank you for your feedback which I will enjoy sharing with our team. I look forward to seeing you again when your travel back to our area.

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Recent had the opportunity to stay at the Alexander Indy, it was a very newly opened hotel. it is fantastic in every respect. the staff in reception could not do enough to help me and the staff in the bar off reception was brilliant as was the tapas style food.. I recomend the Beef panini and also the pork belly slider and the scallops!
I have stayed in many places in the US and this place is one of the best I have stayed in yet. It is walking distance to the convention centre and just over the road to Lucas Stadium.
I didnt eat in the main restaurant but had breakfast there, once again the service was great as was the omlettes and maple saucages.
I have never filled in hotel questionaires or reviews on trip advisor but the quality of this place wwarraanted this!
I will be looking for more Alexander properties when I travel in the US again.
Quite surprise to read some of the other review, guess because it is so new they are still working the bugs out of it???

Room Tip: this is a fairly quiet part of town so all of the rooms would be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
rod g,

It was great to read your review on Trip Advisor and please trust I will share and celebrate this with our team. We pride ourselves on providing the highest levels or service and product quality so thank you for your positive feedback. Our Mission - To create inspiring evironments which bring people together. Our brand values with Dolce Hotels & Resorts are Nourishment, Connectivity and Community so we are excited we met and exceeded your expectations.

When your travels bring you back to the Indianapolis area please let us know as we would love to serve you again.

Warmest Regards,

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We read and were somewhat surprised at several of the reviews. Our room was quiet and we heard no voices, music, etc. And...the room and the shower was fantastic! The staff was friendly and helpful. We parked our own car and utilized the bridge into the hotel. The art work was interesting, and we liked the open concept of the lobby. The Market place for breakfast was nice, but did seem pricey.

Room Tip: 5th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatorBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
PatorBob,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear back from guests who had a wonderful experience. It is especially nice to hear that you had such a good experience with our staff. We pride ourselves on our guest service and we will share your encouraging words with our staff. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Alexander and we hope to see you again soon.

Michael VanWynsberghe
Director of Rooms
The Alexander - A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing