We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun girls weekend in Indy”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #5 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brownsburg, Indiana
2 reviews
“Fun girls weekend in Indy”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Alexander is fabulous! The contemporary style and amazing artwork makes it my favorite hotel / restaurant / bar in Indy. We paid a small amount to get upgraded and stayed in a wonderful 2 bedroom condo where we had a full kitchen, balcony, and plenty of room for a fun girls weekend following a concert downtown. Platt 99s' atmosphere is inviting, relaxing and beautiful from the moment you enter. The view of the city from daytime to nighttime was amazing while having wonderful cocktails and appetizers. We look forward to spending another weekend at The Alexander!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    508
    208
    66
    41
See reviews for
440
683
70
1,018
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

The theme of the Alexander is original art and it surely wins there. You can spend a couple hours exploring the various works throughout the hotel. Stop in for a drink at the hotel bar, Plat 99, where the light fixtures are art themselves.
Hotel close to Lucas Oil Stadium and up and coming Fountain Square neighborhood
Hotel is mod decor...glass, stainless....minimalist in a word. I enjoyed and found the staff cordial and generally helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njpirate62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The beauty of T/A is that we all share our experiences and make choices based on what we read....so here we go. Stayed at The Alexander last weekend for one night getaway. The hotel is modern,clean and walking distance-few minutes to the major downtown shops,restaurants,City Center mall. From the moment we arrived our stay was fantastic. We arrived several hours before stated check in. The valet,front desk and bar staff were all very friendly and eager to answer questions re: the city. I didn't realize I booked two queen beds and at my request was changed to king. Not a large room but very clean with room darkening shades,nice reading lights by bed and walk-in shower with adjustable rain head. Reasonably priced local snack foods and loved the empty refrigerator that we used for water, juices,sodas we picked up downtown.The bed and pillows were super comfortable. The bar is very nice an open and popular with guests and locals. Finally, about an hour into our drive home realized we left some clothes in a drawer. Called the hotel and within 3 days our clothes arrived via FedEX ...that's service !! Indy has at least four other 4 star hotels in same area, but with this experience we'll return to the Alexander.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bourboncountryUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Beautiful facility. Design over function. Incompetent service.

Small design elements foster a less than comfortable stay. Hard wood floors amplify foot falls in other rooms, lack of a shower door, phone systems that fail with power surges, odd and inadequate lighting all force you to notice the design elements rather than be comfortable. Form interferes with function.

They failed to clean the ice bucket. The phones knocked out by a power cycle meant going to the front desk where assurances the room would be properly services were made and promptly not followed up upon. The next day management deflected the lack of their failure to simply provide a clean ice bucket with the excuse that they left a message for it to be done and if it wasn't it was the staff fault not theirs as the manager who didn't follow up. This lack of attention to detail was evident all around the facility, from referring guest to empty complimentary of coffee in the morning, to absent or distracted front desk staff and assuring guest of a call from a manger in the morning who was not scheduled to work.

Management failed to lead and the staff followed with disorganization.

This is a beautiful facility that is pretentious and incompetent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BRDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triangle, NC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I only stayed at The Alexander one night and can’t wait to go back! Everything about this hotel was special. The art work alone is worth a trip to the lobby. The rooms are cozy, modern and imaginative! The light fixtures in the bar/lounge were beautiful just to sit and watch, especially as they caught the sun light. The honoring of the past blended with new is carried off to a T in the art work, naming of rooms, etc.. The staff members are just terrific, knowledgeable, helpful and down to earth. The only negative was the coffee, which one needs to be wide awake and 5 cups of coffee to operate. But no worries, the restaurant quickly cured that problem. Who ever put this hotel together is a genius!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCcatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lafayette,in
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our recent stay could not have been nicer. Staff was prompt and helpful. Rooms very nice, clean, great size. When I mentioned it was my birthday a brownie and fruit was in our room when we returned. The resturant was fabulous, 4 meals and 4 appetizers all wonderful. At $4.00 for the appetizer is very resonable. As was the meal cost. Nice wine selection. The bar is wonderful. Outside area is very comfortable and great service

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porscheLafayette_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was like no ordinary hotel. Everyone should experience a stay here. The overall experience was great. The rooms were fantastic and the food was great. It is an extremely clean hotel throughout and well furnished. The room was equipped with all the needed gadgets to put my computer and tablet to good use. The HDMI connection was a perfect touch for a tech type like me. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Don't miss out on the awesome digital art just outside the 4th floor elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,320 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,421 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
338 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,662 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing