We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #6 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Alexander is a great new option to stay in downtown Indy. I love the modern look all through out the hotel. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Loved that they had a Keurig in the room! We also took advantage of their Indiana resident discount which made the hotel extremely reasonable for the amenities it offers! We visited Plat 99 and ordered room service. Both were very convenient but a little pricey. I would definitely recommend it and stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,785 - 2,791 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I want to thank all of the staff and management for a fantastic bachelor party weekend. Being the best man, my job was to make plans for everything and this hotel gave us that opportunity. I will comment on the 2 things: the staff and the suite.

1: Staff
I arrived a bit under dressed in basketball shorts and a t-shirt as I had just came from work (I run athletics for a Youth Center) and was treated no differently. Kari had helped me set up my reservation and was able to show me to my room, make sure we had everything we needed from dishes to bedding to menus of restaurants. She made little details that had a lasting impression. When we needed extra towels, she not only got them, but they were nicely placed in a wicker basket. When she knew it was a bachelor party, we got complimentary snacks and locally brewed beer. I do not know of any hotel that encourages bachelor parties, but Kari and Mike made us feel like VIP guests. When it came to making sure all 6 guys had their variety, Kari had a Keurig brought to our room to accommodate everyone’s morning needs.

Not being from Indy, we were all a bit at a loss as to what to do or where to go. Kari had a stack of info for us including menus, maps, brew tours, and late night food options. This was truly a blessing as we didn’t know where to go. We were all impressed with the staff at the Alexander.

2: Suite
I have stayed at the W Lakeshore (Chicago), The Drake (Chicago), Lowes Vanderbilt (Nashville, TN) and the Riu (Ocho Rios, Jamaica) and this place can be compared to the best. The suite was clean, the features (lamps, reading light (SO COOL), bathrooms, the wraparound balcony, bar stools, comfy couch) were amazing, and the furnishing were great (pots, pans, wine opener, bottle opener, full size fridge, dishwasher, cooktop). This 2 bedroom 2 bath option is better than any extended stay hotel I have ever been in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our weekend plans included taking in an Indians game and then staying downtown Indianapolis afterwards. We checked in at 3pm and had drinks at Plat99. Try the 12 Mile Limit Fizz and the Deshler. The drinks were fantastic, and the service was better. While hanging out, we got to see a wedding in the courtyard that was below Plat99. Plat99 is on the second floor of The Alexander. The weather was great. The artwork added a special touch. While everyone in the group lives in Indy, we all agreed that we felt like we were at a destination away from home. This helped us all relax. It was like we had a weekend getway adventure without all the headaches of travel. You can't beat that! Thanks to all at The Alexander who helped make the weekend a fun time.

Room Tip: If you have a preference for room choice, I'd just ask the staff. They were helpful, and I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I was supposed to stay at another property but due to a user error my room was not booked. The hotel suggested I stay at the Alexander. At first I was hesitant because it seemed far from the sights of downtown. However, it is deceiving on a map and I enjoyed my nice shirt walks. Beautiful hotel that reminded me of modern European hotels. Big rooms and great staff. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevels2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I love the Alexander! It is very "hip and modern". A great place for a "girls weekend away"! The staff are very friendly and do whatever they can to make your stay the best. The Plat 99 bar is awesome. Very close to Lucas Oil Stadium and Bankers Life Fieldhouse. The rooms are beautiful. Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Alexander is fabulous! The contemporary style and amazing artwork makes it my favorite hotel / restaurant / bar in Indy. We paid a small amount to get upgraded and stayed in a wonderful 2 bedroom condo where we had a full kitchen, balcony, and plenty of room for a fun girls weekend following a concert downtown. Platt 99s' atmosphere is inviting, relaxing and beautiful from the moment you enter. The view of the city from daytime to nighttime was amazing while having wonderful cocktails and appetizers. We look forward to spending another weekend at The Alexander!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

The theme of the Alexander is original art and it surely wins there. You can spend a couple hours exploring the various works throughout the hotel. Stop in for a drink at the hotel bar, Plat 99, where the light fixtures are art themselves.
Hotel close to Lucas Oil Stadium and up and coming Fountain Square neighborhood
Hotel is mod decor...glass, stainless....minimalist in a word. I enjoyed and found the staff cordial and generally helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njpirate62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,525 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#5 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,409 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#11 of 186 in Indianapolis
358 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: £101 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing