We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place/price for convention” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Alexander
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place/price for convention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Overall great experience! Lovely, brand new property & great room (bed is a little hard though). Fantastic gym - someone wrote small, but I disagree. A lot of equipment & not one of those dingy little holes-in-the-wall. Delicious food/drinks at both Market Table breakfast buffet & Plat 99! Bellmen, servers, staff around hotel very helpful & cordial. Slightly off the main drag of downtown Indy, but no more than a ten minute walk. Just be a little careful at night or take a taxi. VERY convenient to convention center (during daylight felt very safe & can enter far end of convention center so barely a 7 minute walk outside). Free excellent wifi included. Walls are sort of thin, so a room near an elevator might have been annoying (did not personally have any troubles though).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BABbling_Beth1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
BABbling_Beth1111,

Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander for your business trip to Indianapolis. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the fitness center and our restaurants. We are a quick 5 block walk to the entrance of the Convention Center and only about a $5.00 cab ride to most places in the downtown area if you choose not to walk or there is bad weather. I do apologize that the bed was a little hard for you. We can always provide an extra insert to make it more comfortable in the future. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    404
    176
    57
    37
See reviews for
362
595
51
849
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a hotel! The Alexander is a gorgeous hotel. The art, the rooms, the food and drinks - all are amazing. And even better is the people. The staff is so friendly and helpful and truly want you to be happy during your stay. I enjoyed every minute of my stay. Great vibe and great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajeet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
aka217,

What a review! Thank you for your kind words about the hotel accommodations and the staff. We are here to make sure that our guests have a positive and memorable experience, and I am certainly glad to hear that we succeeded during you visit with us. Come back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Alexander is a beautiful hotel and it is obvious that, in planning the design of the hotel, the ownership wanted to create a unique hotel with the best in amenities. This hotel is great for business or leisure travel. The guestrooms are spacious and comfortable with the latest in technology advances. I can’t wait to return with my family and enjoy downtown Indianapolis. The hotel is conveniently located and within walking distance to anything you want to do in downtown. Every staff member I came into contact with was very pleasant and seemed inspired to help make my stay comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Tim S.,

I was truly excited to read your 5 star review on Trip Advisor! I can assure you through the design of the hotel, that we were going for a unique and inspiring environment for our guests and associates. I am glad that you also enjoyed the updated technology in our guest rooms. We offer a built in data-port on the desk in the room and we have key activated lighting systems that help to safe energy. On behalf of all of the associates at The Alexander, we look forward to you bringing your family back to enjoy Indianapolis and the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had the chance to come to my best friends wedding, the hotel was amazing but what set the hotel apart from all others was the staff that worked this wedding. The banquet staff was amazing and as for the bartenders Mac & Justin they kept the party alive. After our outdoor party got rained out the banquet caption Anna was on point. They made the night eventful, memorable, and simply amazing. Highly recomended for weddings and any other cherishable event.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxMckinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
MaxMcKinny,

Thank you for sharing your experience with The Alexander hotel. I am glad to hear that you had such a great time at the wedding you attended. We are honored to help create a lasting impression for the bride and groom and their guests. Thank you also for highlighting our staff members Mac, Justin, and Anna for their exceptional service. We certainly look forward to seeing you again and hopefully the bride and groom for another special occasion.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Where to next?
Level Contributor
409 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed here for one night during a business trip to Indianapolis, and decided to try it because I was going to be having dinner in the Cerulean restaurant downstairs anyway.
The hotel seems brand new and is therefore fresh, light and modern. The service was courteous, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. It has a small but very nice gym. My only complaint is that the hotel lacked... character. Perhaps character is difficult to achieve in a brand new hotel? I would certainly stay here again, though. And, finally, a really nice touch was that the valet already had my car out the front when I checked out; he had taken note of my flight time when I checked in. Thanks!

Room Tip: As in any hotel, be careful not to end up immediately next to, above or below the 24 hour gym, or yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Back_to_Sandringham,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate The Alexander about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff and fresh, modern environment. As the new hotel in downtown, we do certainly appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. Hope to see you on your next business or leisure trip to Indy!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This has to be the most unique hotel I've stayed in thus far! From the moment I entered I was captivated by the beautiful art...the amazing iridescent wall, the front desks & the elevator wall! You must watch the history of the hotel on the in your room...it will only intrigue you more. I really wish I could have stayed more than just one night so I could have explored, viewed and appreciated all the art is has to offer. One of my favorite treats was the cold fruit infused water in the front lobby! This hotel is a gem and I would love to return for a longer stay to truly enjoy it. The front desk staff were very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sciandrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Sciandrep,

Thank you so much for your raving comments about the hotel. The artwork is truly amazing. The piece you are speaking of is called Standing Wave, by Allison Shotz. It really does "captivate" you when you walk in the front doors of the hotel. I personally enjoy how it changes colors throughout the day. The video on the televisions really gives you an in depth look into the artists and what The Alexander hopes to create for our guests. Thanks again, and we look forward to having you back!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. The rooms, the service, especially the art, etc. The staff couldn't have been nicer. My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and I can't wait to go back. Everything was incredibly modern. Which we loved. I can't find one negative thing to say about this hotel. Even the parking garage had really amazing art to look at.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mocha7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Mocha7119,

It was so great to read your 5 star review on Trip Advisor! Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us here at The Alexander. I am glad to see that we helped make it a memorable experience for you. Hope to see you again next year!

Happy Anniversary,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#25 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing