We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Art Gallery With Hotel Rooms”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #5 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Talk about a surprise in downtown Indy! I checked into this hotel today for a business meeting tomorrow and was blown away at how cool it really is. The website is great, but it does not give you the full sense of what this hotel is really all about. Great service at the front desk, great service in Plat 99 the lobby bar... great service all around. I live in NYC and am used to hotels that work hard to re-imagine who they are.... this hotel has done it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 3rd floor, but I bet a higher floor would provide a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCWebDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

NYCWebDude,

Thank you so much for visiting us for your business meeting in Indianapolis! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I was so glad to read that you found the hotel to be even more impressive once actually here! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,771 - 2,777 of 2,977 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at The Alexander. Beautiful rooms, artwork was great and the service was top notch. The bar was very unique and had a great selection of cocktails. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Craig F,

Thank you so much for your great 5 star review of The Alexander. I am glad to hear that your stay was "top notch". We certainly pride ourselves on service and being unique in regards to the ambiance and food and beverage options. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the bar and our staff. Thank again, come back and see us!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Alexander was pretty unique from the moment you check in. Interesting lobby, and very modern rooms - liked the use of key card to turn on lights. Comfortable rooms, although shower pressure lower than I would have liked. Room prices vary greatly by night, but we stayed on weekend when there was no Colts game, so thought was very good value. Location is good, although it was cold and snowy the night we were there and it was a little bit too far from downtown restaraunts to walk, but on a nice day, it wouldn't be a bad walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

David O,

Thank you so much for coming to visit us! I greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. The Alexander was designed with the purpose to be a unique and inspiring hotel for our guests. I'm glad that you enjoyed the energy efficient lighting system we have and the modern design of the rooms. I do apologize for the issue with the water pressure. Please feel free to contact me directly so we can ensure we get this fixed for the future. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you back!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
317-624-8224

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Alexander was the absolutely beautiful and relaxing hotel. What a gem that Indianapolis has! We enjoyed our 3-nights stay thoroughly. First, I must commend to the Guest Service/front desk staff, who greeted us with big smiles every time we pass by. They are very courteous, helpful, and friendly who started our stay at the Alexander pleasantly and showed no change of that during our stay. Second, the art exhibits and furnishings in the hotel lobby, at the restaurant, our room, and throughout hotels (even in the parking garage) were worth taking time to admire (which we did). The lobby is spacious and furnished with comfortable sofas and chairs with a fireplace. Amazing works of a few artists are gorgeously displayed while you can sit and relax there. Flipping pages of the magazines in one of sofas/chairs was also an option to relax. I spent a couple hours reading sitting on a large comfortable chair situated in a sunny hallway with a cup of Tea Forte in my hand (courtesy of the hotel). My daughter and I were in Indianapolis attending an event at the IUPUI Natatorium. We were looking to stay in a hotel closer to the IUPUI campus and we happened to find the Alexander. The price of other hotels near IUPUI and in downtown was more than I was willing to spend. The location of the Alexander was perfect to avoid staying in the hotels with others in the same venue and steering away from a large crowd in the other venue at the Convention Center in downtown. We were also able to avoid waiting in a line for our meals by going to the Market Table in the hotel. Not only we were seated right away but we had a scrumptious buffet-style brunch in relaxed and quiet atmosphere without waiting! Staff at the restaurant was very attentive, courteous, and knowledgeable. We were impressed with variety of items available there not to mention their taste. My daughter’s request for breakfast items (omelet bar and brioche French toast made upon request) was welcomed as we walked into the restaurant around 12:30pm. Importantly, price of the brunch was very reasonable comparing to those at other hotels in major cities. We tend to encounter similar noise problems in hallways, neighboring rooms, slamming doors, elevator chimes, or vacuuming from housekeeping even in so-called upper scale hotels. Yet, the Alexander provided us very comfortable stay assuring quiet nap during afternoon and sleep at night. Our room furnishing was simple and modern but functional in a spacious room with 2 queen-size beds. Comfortable and clean bedding assured us sound sleep in addition to superior sound proofing as mentioned above. Although entire one side of our room was a huge window showcasing panoramic city-view from the 6th floor, the double roller shades completely shut out sunlight assuring our beauty rest during day and early morning. Housekeeping staff was very accommodating to our needs not to disrupt my daughter's nap in the afternoon. Room service was excellent using local items/ingredients as with the brunch. The food was delivered correctly and on timely manner. The staff was again very courteous. As for parking, valet parking and self-parking were available. Since we are in and out a multiple times a day, we chose to use self-parking. There was a bridge to an adjacent parking garage from a hotel. It was an easy access in and out of the garage with a room key. The stay in another hotel would have been one more monotonous cookie-cutter stay for us while we were driving back and forth a few times a day and while we were canned in a boring hotel room' It was not the case at the Alexander. The Alexander surpassed our expectations and pleasantly surprised us in every aspect of our stay. We definitely recommend this hotel. We can’t wait for another opportunity to visit Indy and stay at the Alexander.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HToyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

HToyama,

Wow! I can't thank you enough for your great review and comments about the hotel. Your detailed account of your 3 night stay is so appreciated and will be shared with our entire staff! I'm so glad that you were able to find time to really delve into all of the artwork and also spend some time relaxing in our public areas with your tea. On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to we thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

It was very nice stay. I stayed DELUXE CALIFORNIA KING which was clean, wide and comfortable. I liked the bed, mattress and soft pillows.Breakafast at the Market dining was really nice; there are so many varity of items to choose in a buffet style and every food was delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tomoko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Tomoko A,

Thank you for staying with us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the room and the California King style beds we have. I hope the breakfast left you feeling nourished and ready for your day. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here New Year's Eve after a Pacers game at the nearby Banker's Life Field House. When we checked in, the staff didn't bother to remind us that our package included parking and breakfast, or that they changed our accommodation to a higher priced room (even though I had called earlier in the day and was told that we were not getting the upgrade). The rooms are very nice and the hotel is absolutely stunning. But there was a wedding reception going on that basically blocked our access to the wing of the hotel where we were staying , which was awkward to say the least as we traipsed through. We checked out by calling the front desk - and asked for the bill to be emailed, which never happened. When looking through my credit card charges, I saw that I was overcharged almost $100 from the quoted rate. I called and found out about all the extra charges and what the package should have included. After two tries, I got them to remove the redundant parking charges and restore the originally quoted rate, but I will never see those breakfasts. It's great to be chic and trendy, but if you can't administer a one night hotel package with parking and breakfast included, it's time to do some serious training.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite with kitchenette is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinVinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

CinVinman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with The Alexander hotel. I can assure you, what you experienced with the room package and billing issues is not typical of our service. I would love to speak with you further about it when you have a moment. Please feel free to contact me at 317-624-8224 or via email at michelle.dollens@dolce.com.

On behalf of the entire staff, we do hope that you try us again so we can show you the type of service that we strive for with Dolce Hotels.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was my second stay here. When I first stayed here the hotel was brand new. The art is amazing. I found myself walking around just looking at the artwork and installations. My room this time was wonderful, some nice rugs were added compared to my first visit. Very reliable free internet access. Staff was very nice. The bar is excellent.
I recommend to have your bill printed at the end and not have it sent to your e-mail. I had an issue with the bill both times that then had to be resolved from afar. But that small glitch does not diminish my overall experience staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

girbit,

Thank you so much for coming back to stay with us again. It is always great to hear that our guests are noticing and appreciate the changes that we have made in our first year. The carpet runners in the room not only provide a bright, inviting walkway, but also dampen the sound from above which I see you noted in your first review. I sincerely apologize that you have had issues with your bill. I would be happy to speak with you about that so we can be sure this does not happen again in the future. I understand how important it is to have a clean bill for reimbursement purposes. Please feel free to contact me at 317-624-8228 or via email at michelle.dollens@dolce.com.

Look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#4 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,591 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,589 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 188 in Indianapolis
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#11 of 188 in Indianapolis
368 reviews
Indianapolis Marriott East
#1 of 188 in Indianapolis
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: £129 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing