We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An anniversary made perfect by The Alexander” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Alexander
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An anniversary made perfect by The Alexander”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I got married on Leap day, 2012, so we dont know exactly when to celebrate our anniversary. This year we decided to take a little staycation night in downtown Indy to overlap Feb. 28-Mar. 1. We've been wanting to check out The Alexander for some time, and this was the perfect opportunity. Having called ahead to let them know we were celebrating a special night, I was cheerfully told, "Great, I'll make a note of it, and we'll take care of it for you". Not knowing what that meant exactly, we just went downtown and settled in.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt special. From the valet gentlemen to the front desk staff to the Plat 99 waitress, we were congratulated on our anniversary and warmly treated. The front desk upgraded our stateroom to a corner room overlooking Lucas Oil, and shortly after we got to it and unpacked, came a knock at the door. Two very pleasant staff members came in with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, and a handwritten note welcoming us and wishing us a happy anniversary. What an impression that left!

The room itself was whimsical, with unique chairs (a highlight for us when we travel), spacious bathroom and shower, floor to ceiling windows with electric shades, interesting lighting units, and a bathrobe for each of us in the wardrobe. The bed was comfortable, and we fully appreciated out stay.

The hotel itself is beautiful, with both specially commissioned art and purchased art decorating everything from the entrances, to the common areas, and even the parking garage (which we drove through after we left since we used the valet service). Plat 99 was a fun place to meet friends for drinks and a killer grilled cheese sandwich. Market Table was a full weekend brunch, complete with a bloody mary bar, build your own mac n cheese, a carving station, and even a gelato bar! We did not try Cerulean, but will in the future.

All in all, it was a fantastic weekend in downtown in Indy, highlighted by the hospitality at The Alexander. Thank you for making our 2nd (1/2?) anniversary special!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Aaron A.,

Wow! Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander to celebrate your special 2 1/2 year Anniversary! I'm so glad to hear that we helped to make the occasion extra special and memorable for you and your wife. The views in the upgraded suites are fantastic! It is new fresh look over the downtown area from this side of town. It was great to read that you had such an in depth understanding of where our art comes from. We appreciate you taking the time to learn all about it and also to stop by Plat 99 for that Grilled Cheese. It is my favorite as well! Thank you again, and we hope to see you back for another "staycation" at The Alexander.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    405
    176
    57
    37
See reviews for
362
595
51
850
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

When I was informed that I would have to spend 10 days in a hotel by my company I was concerned. To make it tougher it was a hotel I never heard of. WOW!! I've stayed at Westin's and some of the best chains out there and the Alexander put them ALL to shame. I was impressed from check-in to the time we left. The entire staff especially Jessica & Shanda were always helpful. They were understanding when a pen exploded in my pants and got on the bed, I was very impressed that they got it out and didn't charge me. The food was great in the market table. The chefs and servers really cared about each guest. After 3 days they knew exactly what I had with my meal. I am looking forward to returning in June for the next 10 day training. I honestly like to thank everyone for making the time away from my wife and son feel like "Home".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murdocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Public Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Murdocc,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and staff that assisted you during you 10 day visit to Indianapolis. I am so happy to hear that we truly made you feel like you had a "home away from home". It is our intent to make our guests feel comfortable and refreshed during their visit, and I am sure that we will provide that for you again when you return. We look forward to seeing you in June and having your order ready in Market Table. I'm sure we will also have better weather for you as well!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very nice stay. Rooms are very spacious, modern and well equipped. The alarm clock was an iphone docking station which was great to charge your phone and listen to music. Nespresso machine in the room too. Breakfast served downstairs had a great selection.
There is no pool. Accidentally ticked box and I can't seem to untick.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sligo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Sligo111,

Thank you for choosing The Alexander for your visit to Indy. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the modern touches we put in the rooms. We did plan on having an outdoor pool in the beginning stages of opening however, this did not work out with the design of the area. There is still a potential YMCA that will be developing across the street from us that our guests will have access to in some capacity. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I travel all over the world and stay in some pretty fancy hotels.
The Alexander meets the standards of a 5 star hotel.
The rooms are really classy. The beds are wonderful (5 star plus).
The service is wonderful.
The hotel is really beautiful. Clean lines, elegant design, modern, but warm.
Food is superb. Really great local cheeses and beers.
The Alexander would be a first class hotel in NY City, Washington DC, or San Francisco.

Room Tip: No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Victoria S.,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing a great 5 star review on Trip Advisor. It is great feedback like this that really keeps our staff excited about the service and product that we provide. Dolce Hotels is continuing to expand so you may end up seeing another similar hotel in one of those cities! Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
303 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Alexander is new, LEAD friendly and very roomy. The walk-in shower is a special treat as are the toiletries provided. The beds are comfortable and there are a variety of pillows to suit everyone's discriminating feel. Walking distance to Lilly and sports venues, this is a great option

Room Tip: Long hallways may make it tough for people who have trouble walking. Ask, if you have any issues, fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
DRWMETMAN,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Alexander. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Yes, we are Silver LEAD certified and partnered with the Indianapolis Museum of Art so "Art Abounds" is a great discription for us. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, IN
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were in town for an event at The Children's Museum (which rocked!!!) and I have nothing bad to say about my stay at The Alexander at all. Everyone, from the valet to the desk personnel, was so friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their job and helping the hotel's guests. The room was gorgeous and exactly the clean, modern style I love. The bed was amazingly comfortable. We heard nothing from either the hallway or our neighbors, which was a blessing. We also appreciated the way the lights were set up to automatically turn off when we pulled our key card out and left the room. It's great to visit a hotel that is environmentally sound as well as comfortable and full of beautiful and eye-catching artwork. It was as if I'd designed the hotel myself :D

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrayonMavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
CrayonMavens,

Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander for your visit to the city. Glad to hear that you had fun at The Children's Museum. It really is a great place for all ages! It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the design of the hotel and the quiet, comfortable room that you had. We hope to have you back again for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was in town for the NFL Combine. Most of the coaches and scout stay at the JW Marriott, Omni, and Marriott. The Alexander, however, was the least expensive and certainly the perfect place. It's a new hotel. Very modern, walk-in showers, a lively bar, and great rooms. I can't think of a hotel that I enjoyed staying at more than this one. Put it this way...I don't ever write reviews or finish surveys, but I felt like I owed something to The Alexander for making my stay such a pleasure. I highly recommend this hotel. It's cool and a neat experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Peter R.,

Thank you for breaking out of your norm and writing a raving 5 star review on Trip Advisor!! It was so great to read that you felt so strongly about the hotel. We certainly appreciate your business and thank you for choosing to stay away from the rest of the group. We would love to host the whole group next time around as well. Feel free to give us a call to talk about options for next year with the NFL Combine. Hope to see you back again!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#25 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing