We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Indy”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #6 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just a few blocks (walking distance) from the center of Indianapolis, The Alexander, is the perfect choice if looking for "something a little different" in a hotel. The lobby is warm, inviting and full of interesting works of art, including the lighting in lobby bar Plat 99. My room was perfect. Very modern, with comfortable beds and furniture. The modern artwork in the room and as you exit the elevators are one more visual "pop". Market table outstanding breakfast lunch food. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Indy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudia3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

claudia3kids,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at The Alexander. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a 5 Star review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the modern feel and all of the art "pops" throughout the property. We look forward to serving you again for another stay with us or just a pop in for lunch at Market Table!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,625 - 2,631 of 2,876 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Charming, upbeat, convenient hotel with superb professional staff.
Excellent dining and meeting features - comtemporary food service with a personal interest in meeting your nutritional and hungry needs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Diane B.,

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the dining options that we have in the hotel. Our culinary team puts a high emphasis on ensuring we have many options for our guests' nutritional needs. We feature gluten free, vegan, and vegetarian options in all of our outlets.We are actually working on revamping some of our items and our In Room Dining menu, so next time, you can try even more great selections. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The people were helpful. They messed up my booking by overbooking the hotel and shunted me to another hotel for one night (wish I'd stayed there). It's close to the railway and on the rougher side of town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Robert I.,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your experience. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of being relocated to another hotel. I can assure you this is not typical of our service or booking strategies. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss. I would love to talk to you about your experience.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
michelle.dollens@dolce.com
317-624-8224

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had an unexpectedly good experience at The Alexander which I booked by chance. The food was incredible. I absolutely loved the modern rooms with state of the art amenities. Great value for the price. I highly recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Linda S.,

Thank you so much for choosing The Alexander for your visit to Indianapolis. It is so great to read that we provided great value for your experience as we know you have many choices for hotels in the downtown area. We certainly appreciate your recommendations and we hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great trendy hotel: Similar to a W hotel with the customer service of Nordstrom. Honestly did not have high expectations coming in, but this hotel blew me out of the water. Atmosphere, customer service, rooms were all first rate. Definitely should be a top choice when visiting Indianapolis!


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KarenMD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

KarenMD59,

We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you really enjoyed your experience. It is our goal to ensure that we are providing the best customer service in a clean and unique environment. It is certainly a new style and approach to hotels for Indianapolis and we could not be prouder of the feedback we have received. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This modern look and feel hotel has the clean minimalist lines and service to create a great experience at a very reasonable price. My room and bath were very clean. The bed was really great and the shower was nice and hot. TV and internet accommodations as expected. Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure in downtown Indy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dale S.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am so glad to hear that you had a great experience and thoroughly enjoyed the modern and clean hotel we have. Your recommendations for the hotel are greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you back!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a getaway weekend and happened on the property by chance. This boutique hotel exceeded out expectations in every way.
Located about 5 blocks from Lucas Field, 2 from the basketball stadium, and maybe 6 to the convention center; the location is spectacular if you are visiting for a sporting or convention event. It is on the Southeast edge of the downtown so it is not centered on the downtown but a very easy taxi ride or walk in good weather as its only a few blocks to get everywhere. The only location downfall is being near the rail corridor but we found it not to be an issue.
The staff is young and professional so there is enthusiasm in meeting your needs. The valet was curbside in cold weather, the front desk was friendly and helpful and when we were lazy the following morning a late checkout was no hassle. The staff is the true gem of this property.
As to be expected from a boutique hotel the room was very clean, well appointed, and laid out right. The shower was awesome, robes comfortable, and linens appropriately plush. The bed was a bit firmer than my liking but in the top 5% of my stays.
We will be returning here in future stays as this is our first choice hotel in the area after this stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

John K.,

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and boutique feel of the hotel. It was great to read how you enjoyed the service and the great staff that we have working for us. We certainly hope to see you back again for your next visit to Indianapolis,

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,521 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#5 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,389 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#11 of 186 in Indianapolis
357 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: £102 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing