We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swellegant!”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #7 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Swellegant!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The aesthetics of this hotel proved to be all that the reviews promised...modern, eclectic, hip, elegant. The service, which many reviewers commented was excellent and outstanding, was simply adequate during our recent brief visit.
The rates are comparable to most of the other downtown hotels but this hotel is so different and refreshing. The rooms were very clean, spacious, relaxing. Furnishings and fixtures are modern and attractive. The mattress was not as comfortable as some I have experienced in our travels but would be right on for someone who likes a firmer bed. We didn't check out the restaurant or room service but they had interesting choices, although the food was overpriced as per usual with room service menus. We did stop in Plat 99 for a drink in the afternoon; service was good and the decor and views of downtown are amazing but weren't impressed with a visit later in the evening.
Overall, we were very impressed with this hotel. Liked the location...in an area of downtown that is convenient to get to everything but not right in the thick of the touristy blocks. Indianapolis is quite ghetto but this hotel was nothing but classy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraWeekly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
ClaraWeekly,

Thank you for visiting us here at The Alexander. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and modern design. I would be happy to speak with you further about your comments in regards to service and Plat 99 experience. I can assure you this is not typical of our staff and would love to get more details so we can improve for the future. Please feel free to contact me with info below.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,806
    523
    224
    68
    43
See reviews for
454
702
73
1,056
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granger
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Location is great, walking distance to Lucas Oil and Bankers Life.. Hotel was very modern and upscale and personel were very friendly. We had a two bedroom suite. Sofa in Living room had a memory foam matress. We didn't use it but it would have been a huge improvement over the ones with metal bars hitting you in the back.

The oly down side was the breakfast buffet was pricey at $16.00.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Tom B.,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the two bedroom suite that you booked. Those rooms are great for families or extended living. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Love, love this place! Modern, beautiful, great art including the most amazing mural piece of Madame C.J. Walker, first African American female millionaire. Must see to believe it. So much to see, creative and quality food.. This place is a high caliber travel experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jjonesschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
jjonesschenck,

We appreciate you choosing The Alexander for your visit to Indianapolis. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the artwork and modern design of the hotel. The Madame C.J. Walker piece is one of my favorites as well. It is was made with 3,840 unbreakable combs! A must see if you are in the area. Thank you so much for staying with us and we certainly hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My stay was outstanding from the welcome at the door to goodbye at Checkout. Lovely accommodations and the Market restaurant varies their buffet lunch and breakfast each day for just a treat to anticipate. The decor is very contemporary with beautiful art and funky furniture in public areas. I was there for a conference and the break treats were just so fun to look forward to each day. Hoping to stay here again on my next trip to Indianpolis!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Jan A.,

Thank you so much for your raving 5 star review on TripAdvisor! Love seeing things that start with a "Wow". It was so great to read that you were welcomed from the moment you walked in the door until the engaging goodbye at the end of your stay. Thanks you also for visiting Market Table. We do offer a variety of selections and the brunch on Sundays is fantastic! We certainly look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Indy.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice hotel within site distance of Lukas Oil Field. We were there for the sweet 16 weekend. In fact the Tennessee team stayed there with us. Hotel was nice, rooms big, service and restaurants and bar in lobby were excellent. The only complaint I had was the dust on the rack under the bathroom sink had not been dusted for long enough I was able to draw a smiley face in it. Hope someone sees it and decides to wipe them clean. Didn't seem the cleaner cared since they had to stock towels on that self everyday.
All in all nice hotel with good parking close to all downtown attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no1subman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
no1subman,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for your trip to the Sweet 16! What a fun time to be in downtown Indy. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. I do apologize for the error in our cleaning service, and I can assure you this is not typical of our housekeeping staff. I have informed the Housekeeping Manager to ensure this is a focus of ours going forward. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, feel free to contact me directly for your next booking.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We live in Indianapolis and love the Alexander... Visited Plat 99 and Cerulean and decided to come into Indy for a Staycation... The artwork is so awesome, cool energy and vibe and staff is awesome. The rooms are perfect and a very well thought out hotel, all the way down to the fragrance pumped into the lobby! Love the twist on all things local in this hotel!! Well done!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Breena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Breena Y.,

Well hello fellow Indy local! Thank you for choosing The Alexander for your "staycation". It is always fun to enjoy a new location in your own city. It was great to read that you enjoyed the vibe and energy of the hotel. We do have a lot of local flare in our hotel, from the names of our meeting rooms, to the local snacks and products that we use throughout the property. Thank you for recognizing and appreciating what we are striving for. Whether you are enjoying a cocktail in Plat 99 or dinner at Cerulean, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was recently traveling to Indianapolis for a social event. While hotel searching, learned the city was very busy with a basketball tournament and The Alexander was the one of the very few hotels available. Since I had never heard about this hotel company I was skeptical about booking, especially when all they had available was in their extended stay tower.

I must say that not only I was impressed with my check-in and check-out experience but the rooms in the extended stay tower were actually very nice, brand new and very clean. From an aesthetic perspective, the room was very nice as well. The kitchenette even though not use, I can see this being of great value for someone staying longer than I did. My only critique of the room is the bathroom. Very nice Gilchrist & Soames amenities but the bathrooms felt like I was in an apartment complex and didn't really match the look and feel of the rest of the room.

The staff overall did a great job, especially at the front desk upon arrival. The valet/bell team was not consistent in my view. They should be more active opening doors for guests and engaging in conversation as much as they can while guests are in the area. Most of the weekend, I utilized Uber to move around the city and besides on arrival, I recall being acknowledge by this team maybe an additional time out of a 4 day/3 night stay.

I definitely recommend this hotel if traveling to Indianapolis and want to stay in a non-traditional hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romazzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
romazzino,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Alexander. Looks like we were the lucky ones that the city was busy during your social event, as we were able to catch your eye when searching for a hotel. We appreciate your comments about the overall service of the front desk staff and the in-room aesthetics. I do apologize for the inconsistent service with valet and we will be sure to improve going forward. Hope to catch your eye again when traveling to Indianapolis in the future!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,441 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,360 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 182 in Indianapolis
341 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Property: The Alexander
Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing