We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alexander
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I may never stay at the Omni again........the Alexander is a fantastic hotel, the lobby itself is a work of art, colorful and fun to see when you arrive. The rooms are perfect, spacious with comfy beds, and big windows, even the "do not disturb" sign is fun. Used room service before the Indy Mini, and they were right on time and the food was great. I plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Melissa T.,

It was great to have you as a guest of The Alexander. Congratulations on completing the Mini Marathon. We certainly appreciate your great comments and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,529 - 2,535 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This place was a supreme disappointment. I booked a stay here in a suite last July for a friend's birthday. During our stay, there were many technical issues. The phones in the room were continuously out-of-service, and I had to keep contacting the front desk from my cell phone. Apparently a cheaply built place as well - the construction was literally falling apart! Knobs were falling off in the bathroom, and again we had to contact maintenance to fix it. It's not like they've been around for long, so those kinds of issues are inexcusable for the overpriced room rates. Also, keep a close eye on your card transactions when dealing with these people. My card was charged, apparently refunded, and then recharged for the entire stay 6 months LATER exactly right before the cut-off date for when hotels can not charge you so long after your stay, since the records get murky - this was highly inconvenient and honestly a little suspicious. Their accounting team and staff are obviously not suited to be employed at a luxury hotel. Very mediocre and disappointing, all around. I do acknowledge, however, that it has been some time since then so maybe they've turned things around but this establishment has left a very sour taste in my mouth.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Christine Y.,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us in 2013. I do sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had with the room maintenance and billing issue. In the last year, we have certainly made improvements in our product and some of our processes. I can assure you your experience is not typical of The Alexander’s service and we do hope that you choose to give us another opportunity in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss your stay further.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel
317-624-8224

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Very cool hotel a short walk from the downtown/city center. Very nice bar with talented mixologists and I only ate breakfast at the hotel but it was great. Everyone I interacted with at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Also, Dave Matthews was playing a show in town and was staying at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank wamzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

wamzie,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had fun at the concert. We hope to have you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great, contemporary hotel. The staff was excellent, the rooms were comfortable, everything was top notch, but the standout at this hotel is the facility itself. Very cool, modern atmosphere with great attention to detail. I was in town for a wedding and one of the highlights of the trip was spending an afternoon in the hotel bar. Not something I think I've ever said. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

James Z.,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Its great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and our mixology lounge, Plat 99. We certainly hope you choose us again when traveling to Indianapolis.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Alexander is a convenient modern hotel in downtown Indianapolis, positioned in walking distance to most attractions of said city. It has a modern feel to it, the room are clean and well equipped, the bathroom as well. The staff is young and professional, they have ample of room for conferences but it doesn't interfere with other customers. Breakfast is buffet style and okay.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Indianapolis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Tilbo,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your feedback about your experience. We are happy to provide great customer service and we appreciate your recommendations. I have passed along your feedback about the restaurant to our restaurant manager. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stay here on business. The staff in every area is always very professional, friendly and very attentive to our needs. Madeline in the bar is awesome and Amy in the restaurant is very helpful. They GET IT. The customers are here to work or relax and they feel like part of your extended family here to help you feel comfortable. Way to go!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Steven W.,

It is our pleasure to have you as a return guest, and we are glad to be a "home away from home" when you travel for business. Thank you so much for highlighting Amy and Madeline. I will pass along your comments to them, and we will be sure to welcome you back again on your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

5 stars! Food, service, decor, art, ambiance, customer service, price and the hotel is on the Cultural Trail! You CANNOT go wrong.

This is my second visit to this hotel and both times were great. I will definitely be back and will continue to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Guest Relations Manager at The Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Jennifer A.,

Wow, can't beat that quick description! Thank you so much for your loyalty and for continuing to recommend the hotel. We certainly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Michelle Dollens
Guest Services Manager
The Alexander, A Dolce Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,497 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,498 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#4 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 185 in Indianapolis
356 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 333 S Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-3747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: £101 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander, managed by Dolce Hotels, blends design with function in this unique urban hotel. One aspect that sets The Alexander apart from other hotels is its Art Program, curated by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, including 12 artworks created for the hotel by individual artists and a total of 40 works of art displayed in the hotel’s public spaces.Located in the vibrant CityWay neighborhood in downtown Indianapolis, The Alexander is within walking distance of corporations such as Eli Lilly, Rolls Royce, WellPoint and Indiana Farm Bureau. Catch a Colts game at Lucas Oil Stadium, a Pacer’s game or concert at Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, attend a conference at the Indianapolis Convention Center, visit the zoo at White River State Park or head to Monument Circle for a performance by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing